Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  
A Division of the Arkansas Department of Education

Disciplinary Literacy

The Arkansas Disciplinary Literacy Standards for grades 6-12 describe knowledge and skills students need for reading and writing in content areas other than English language arts.  To support implementation of the disciplinary literacy standards, resources with teacher notes describing the types of texts that should be read and written in specific disciplines have been created for Fine Arts, History/Social Studies, and Science.

Arkansas Disciplinary Literacy Standards

Resources for Disciplinary Literacy

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More