Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  
A Division of the Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy News

New Prescribed Pathway Credentials

The Arkansas Department of Education has established the pathways for teachers who must demonstrate Proficiency or Awareness in scientific reading instruction. All teachers employed in a teaching position that requires an elementary education (K-6) license or special education (K-12) license shall demonstrate proficiency in knowledge and practices of scientific reading instruction by completing both phases of a prescribed pathway. This includes any teacher employed in grades K-6 teaching English Language Arts, Math, Science or Social Studies. Other non-core academic areas in K-6 must show awareness in the Science of Reading (e.g., Art, Music, PE, Library Media, Counselor, Administrators). For more information, visit the Prescribed Pathway Credentials page.

Ten Schools Receive 2019 R.I.S.E. Arkansas School Awards

During the 2019 ADE Summit, the  Arkansas Department of Education honored 10 schoolsf or their efforts to increase reading instruction, build community partnerships, and promote a culture of reading.
The following recipients of the 2019 Outstanding R.I.S.E.Arkansas School Award were recognized today at the ADE Summit in Hot Springs.
  • Angie Grant Elementary School in the Benton School District Hermitage Elementary School in the Hermitage School District
  • Florence Mattison Elementary School in the Conway School District
  • Green Forest Elementary School in the Green Forest School District
  • Lavaca Elementary School in the Lavaca School District
  • Lincoln Elementary School in the Lincoln School District
  • Malvern Elementary School in the Malvern School District
  • Sheridan Elementary School in the Sheridan School District
  • Taylor Elementary School in the Emerson-Taylor-Bradley School District
  • Willowbrook Elementary School in the Bentonville School District
Learn more at 2019 R.I.S.E. Arkansas School Awards.

Numerous Outstanding R.I.S.E. School Awards lined up on a table

2018 Outstanding R.I.S.E. Arkansas School Award Recipients

R.I.S.E. (Reading Initiative for Student Excellence) Arkansas encourages a culture of reading by coordinating a statewide reading campaign with community partners, parents, and teachers to establish the importance of reading in homes, schools, and communities. 

In 2017, the first R.I.S.E. Academy was held for K- 2nd grade teachers. This comprehensive reading program incorporated five essential components: phonological awareness, phonics, vocabulary, fluency, and, comprehension.To promote the continued growth of the R.I.S.E Arkansas initiative, the Arkansas Department of Education is pleased to recognize the top schools that have successfully implemented these strategies for students. (View images of the award recipients).  

The ten schools selected to receive the 2018 Outstanding R.I.S.E. Arkansas School Award are: Anne Watson Elementary, Asbell Elementary, Edgewood Elementary, Drew Central Elementary, Flippin Elementary, Midland Elementary, Paris Elementary, Poyen Elementary, SC Tucker Elementary and Scranton Elementary. Learn how these schools are promoting a culture of reading and strengthening reading instruction at 2018 Outstanding R.I.S.E. Arkansas School Award Recipients.

New Courses Approved for English Language Arts

The State Board of Education unanimously approved new elective courses for English language arts December 8, 2016. The English language arts courses will be implemented in the 2017-2018 academic year. All English language arts grades 9-12 courses not on the Arkansas Department of Education website must be aligned to the new Arkansas English Language Arts Standards and submitted for course approval by May 1, 2017. Additionally, any high school courses offered for credit at grades 5-8 must also be submitted for course approval by May 1, 2017. English language arts courses previously submitted for approval will expire June 30, 2017.

All course approval requests will be submitted through the Online Course Approval System. Information about the course approval process may be accessed on the Course Approvals page of the Arkansas Department of Education Website. 

A committee of Arkansas English language arts educators revised the existing English language arts courses and developed four new offerings. The additional courses include Creative Writing (2 semesters), Critical Reading II, Debate IV, and Forensics IV. 

Districts will develop their own courses for English 9, 10, 11, and 12 based on the new Arkansas English Language Arts Standards that will be fully implemented in 2017-2018.

Questions regarding English language arts courses may be directed to or 501-683-6285.

To access the new courses, go to the English Language Arts page. To access the newsletter that strives to promote a culture of reading, go to ADE Reader.


For more information, please contact:

Kathy Mascuilli, Literacy Program Manager
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Four Capitol Mall, Room 202-B
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Phone: 501-683-2922

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More