The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) will seek a request for a waiver extension of 34 C.F.R. §200.6(c)(2), which limits the total number of students assessed in a subject area using an alternate assessment to no more than one percent (1%) of the total number of students assessed in the State. Preliminary 2019 assessment data indicate that over 1.3% of the State’s students participated in the alternate assessment. The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires that each district complete and submit a justification when it anticipates exceeding 1.0 percent of students assessed in a subject with the alternate assessment. Additionally, the State must provide support and oversight to any LEA that exceeds the 1.0 percent threshold in order to ensure that only students with the most significant cognitive disabilities participate in an alternate assessment.
Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.Learn More
Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.Learn More