Child find is a component of the 2004 Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) that requires states to locate, identify, and evaluate all children with disabilities, from birth to 21, located within its jurisdiction who are in need of early intervention or special education services. Child find is an ongoing cooperative effort that involves state and local education agencies (LEAs), parents, the community, professionals, related organizations, and private schools. IDEA requires all states to have a “comprehensive child find system” to assure that all children who are in need of early intervention or special education services are located, identified, and referred. In Arkansas, the lead agency for Part C of IDEA Early Intervention Program (children birth to 3 years) is the Arkansas Department of Human Services. The lead agency for Part B/619 (children ages 3-21 years), is the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.
Child find applies to children who are:
|Parent Resources||LEA Resources|
Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.Learn More
Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.Learn More