Johnny Key

Commissioner of Education

Read Bio  
A Division of the Arkansas Department of Education

Professional Learning Communities in Arkansas

Improving student learning and increasing student achievement in today's classrooms are key components to providing all Arkansans with futures filled with promise, purpose and prosperity. The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) is transforming Arkansas to lead the nation in student-focused education so that every Arkansas student graduates prepared for college, career, and community engagement.

In partnership with Solution Tree, a leading provider in education professional development, ADE is committed to developing and expanding the Professional Learning Communities (PLC) at Work process into Arkansas schools. When the PLC at Work process is implemented with fidelity, schools experience dramatic improvement in learning results by both students and adults. Selected Arkansas schools will serve as working laboratories for the PLC at Work process, conducting action research and sharing best practices with other schools throughout the state.

Arkansas Project

The PLC effort is currently comprised of three cohorts: Cohort 1 schools began implementing PLCs in the 2017-18 school year; Cohort 2 schools began implementation during the 2018-19 school year; and Cohort 3 schools will begin implementation during the 2019-20 school year. These school sites were selected through a rigorous application and evaluation process, and are representative of all five regions of the state. 

Each Arkansas PLC site will be matched with a certified PLC at Work associate from Solution Tree and receive intensive on-site support as they implement, deepen, and sustain the PLC at Work process. Each school will create action plans that focus on increasing student achievement through aligned curriculum, formative assessment practices, and proven instructional strategies.

Cohort 2-Year 1 short film
Enter the password: Cohort1_Year2!!! to learn about  Cohort 1 - Year 2 in Arkansas.

Enter the password: Cohort2_Year1!!! to learn about Cohort 2 - Year 1  in Arkansas

Professional Learning Communities

Cohort 3 (2019)
Buffalo Island Central School District
Camden Fairview Intermediate in the Camden Fairview School District
Darby Junior High in the Fort Smith School District
Eureka Springs Elementary in the Eureka Springs School District
Harrisburg Middle School in the Harrisburg School District
Lake Hamilton Intermediate in the Lake  Hamilton School District
Lakeside High School in the Lakeside School District
Mabelvale Elementary in the Little Rock School District
Mills University Studies High School in the Pulaski County Special School District
Park Avenue Elementary in the Stuttgart School District
Pinewood Elementary in the Jacksonville North Pulaski School District
Wonderview Elementary in the Wonderview School District


Cohort 2 (2018)
Blytheville Primary School in the Blytheville School District
East Pointe Elementary School in the Greenwood School District
Greer Lingle Middle School in the Rogers School District
Gurdon School District
Hamburg High School in the Hamburg School Districti
Howard Perrin Elementary School in the Benton School District
Murrell Taylor Elementary School in the Jacksonville North Pulaski School District
Oaklawn Visual and Performing Arts Magnet in the Hot Springs School District
Quitman School District
Rivercrest Elementary School in the Rivercrest School District


Cohort 1 (2017)
Ballman Elementary School  in the Fort Smith School District
Bragg Elementary School in the West Memphis School District
Douglas MacArthur Junior High School in the Jonesboro School District
Eastside Elementary School in the Greenbrier School District
Frank Mitchell Intermediate School in the Vilonia School District
Joe T. Robinson Middle School in the Pulaski County Special School District
Monticello Middle School in the Monticello School District
Morrilton Intermediate School in the South Conway County School District
Premier High School of Little Rock
Prescott School District
Rogers High School in the Rogers School District
Spradling Elementary School in the Fort Smith School District


For more information, please contact:

Missy Walley, Director of Special Projects
Arkansas Department  of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Four Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-4475

State Standards

Learn more about the standards that define the knowledge and skills Arkansas students should have in order to be ready for college and careers.

Learn More

Licensure & Certification

Find critical information about renewing Arkansas educator licenses, adding areas of licensure, licensing by reciprocity from other states, background checks and more.

Learn More


Learn More


Learn More