THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
DAMICCAH ROBERTSON (DARTON)
JULY 9, 2020 PLSB CASE NO. 20-111

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on July 9, 2020, the Arkansas State Board of Education (Board)
accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (Ethics Subcommittee) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Damiccah Robertson (Educator Robertson). Based upon Educator Robertson’s acceptance of the
Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
L Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Robertson a standard
teaching license on January 1, 2017, valid until December 31, 2021.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Robertson violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
¢. On March 6, 2020, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Robertson violated Standard 2: an educator maintains
competence regarding his or her professional practice, inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior, skills, knowledge, dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or
her organizational position and Standard 3: an educator honestly fulfills reporting

obligations associated with professional practices.
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d. Educator Robertson was notified on February 10, 2020, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

e. After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on May 1, 2020, the Ethics
Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violations of Standards 2 and 3 in that Educator Robertson:

e Inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and ethical
behavior
o Falsified and/or manipulated student records/data and/or created

false documents
¢ Failed to follow school district/state/federal policies

The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following actions:

a)
b)

c)

d)

g)
h)

One year Suspension of license by the State Board of Education;

Fine of $400;
ERC19048: Professional Standards Licensure Board (PLSB): The Code of Ethics

Training Video (2018) Credit Hours: 1

Title QBQ! The question Behind the question: Practicing Personal Accountability at
Work and in Lite (160p) Author: John G. Miller ISBN-10: 0399152334; ISBN-13: 978-
0399152337

Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees Success — No

Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindo ISBN-12: 9780470500163

Written reflections on how each of these trainings will impact her professionalism,
interactions with students, and student information in the future.

To be completed by: 30 days before the end of suspension. (All costs paid by Educator).
On May 1, 2020, Educator Robertson was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s initial

determination and recommendation by first class, certified mail, and secure server.
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Educator Robertson did not respond to the recommendation of the Ethics Subcommittee

which due to this, is deemed as accepted.

i) Attoday’s meeting the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.
1L Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Robertson for her
violation of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Robertson is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or
failure to pay the fine may result in more severe discipline including permanent
revocation of his license.

¢. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Robertson professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Charisse Dean, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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