THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
ASHLEY RAE FISCHER
NOVEMBER 14, 2019 PLSB CASE NO. 19-163

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on November 14, 2019, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(Board) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (Ethics Subcommittee) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Ashley Rae Fischer (Educator Fischer). Based upon Educator Fischer’s acceptance of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
I Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Fischer a standard five-year
teaching license on January 1, 2018, valid until December 31, 2022.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Fischer violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
¢. On May 3, 2019, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized investigations into allegations
that Educator Burgess violated Standard 1: an educator maintains a professional
relationship with each student, both in and outside of the classroom; and Standard 2:
an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional practice,
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inclusive of skills, knowledge, dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her
organizational position.

d. Educator Fischer was notified on May 3, 2019, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

e. After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on September 5, 2019, and
the Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence
existed to substantiate violations of Standards 1 and 2 in that Educator Fischer:

Engaged in inappropriate interactions with students.
Made physical contact with a student

¢ Exhibited an inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional
and ethical behavior.

f.  The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Probation of license for one (1) year;
2. Assess a $200 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);
3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

e ERC19048: Professional Licensure Standards Board (PLSB): The Code of
Ethics Training Video (2018); Credit Hours: 1

e SPC17012 Introduction to Behavior: General Classroom Management
Systems; Credit Hours: 1

o Title: Real Talk About Classroom Management: 50 Best Practices That
Work and Show You Believe in Your Students (296p); Author: Serena
Pariser; ISBN-13: 978-1544317755; ISBN-10: 1544317751

4. Require Educator to prepare written reflection: that explains how trainings
and readings will impact student interactions and classroom management
in the future. (Due within 90 days of State Board Order); and
5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.
g. On September 9, 2019, Educator Fischer was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
reasonable belief determination and recommendation by first class and certified mail.
Educator Fischer accepted the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby
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waiving her right to any further notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have
under the Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code
Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.

h. At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

IL Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Ashley Rae Fischer for
her violation of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Fischer is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of $200 may
result in the suspension of his license until the fine is paid in full.

¢. Educator Fischer is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure to
pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Fischer’s professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Ko 2l

Diane Zook, Chair /
Arkansas State Board of Education
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