

Arkansas Department of Education

Johnny Key, Commissioner

Transforming Arkansas to lead the nation in student-focused education

January 4, 2019

CONTACT: Kimberly Friedman PHONE: (501) 683-4788

kimberly.friedman@arkansas.gov

ADE Announces 18 Recipients of \$1,000 Sponsorships to Attend Computer Science Conference

LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Department of Education today announced the 18 Arkansas educators selected to each receive a \$1,000 sponsorship to attend the Computer Science Teachers Association Annual Conference this summer.

The sponsorships will assist educators with expanding their knowledge of computer science and give them the opportunity to network with other educators from around the world at the CSTA conference, which will be held July 7 to 10, 2019, in Phoenix.

The following educators have been selected to each receive a sponsorship:

- Jessica Ballou Bryant High School in Bryant
- · Robin Boerwinkle Norphlet Middle School in Smackover
- · Kayla Britton Cabot High School in Cabot
- · Samuel Grubb Jacksonville High School in Jacksonville
- · Chelsea Henderson Earle High School in Earle
- Erin Jordan Greene County Tech High School in Paragould
- Ashley Kincannon Lake Hamilton Junior High School in Pearcy
- Amy Locke Williams Elementary School in Farmington
- Rebecca Luebker-Moll Haas Hall Academy in Fayetteville
- Warren Maddox Vilonia High School in Vilonia
- Bridget Mills Pangburn High School in Pangburn
- Tracie Opolka Hackett High School in Hackett
- · Michele Owen Hill Farm Elementary School in Bryant
- Lisa Posey Genoa Central High School in Texarkana
- John Russell Bentonville West High School in Bentonville
- Courtney Speer Nettleton STEAM in Nettleton
- · Karma Turner Lake Hamilton Junior/Senior High School in Pearcy
- · Lynnea Wright Harmony Grove High School in Harmony Grove

The \$1,000 sponsorships were open to Arkansas K-12 public school teachers, librarians, curriculum coordinators, counselors, and other educators who have demonstrated their commitment to technology integration and computer science education at their school or district. Educators were

selected by an impartial committee of ADE employees and statewide computer science specialists who reviewed all applicants and scored them using a rubric, viewable at https://goo.gl/ECCNg7.

To receive the sponsorship, selected educators will be required to attend the CSTA conference and participate in various conference and state delegation activities. Recipients will receive the sponsorships after the conference to offset conference expenses.

To learn more about the conference, including how to register, please visit https://www.csteachers.org/page/2019conference.

For more information about the sponsorships and selection process, please see Commissioner's Memo COM-19-061 at http://adecm.arkansas.gov/ViewApprovedMemo.aspx?Id=3837.

Follow us on Twitter @ArkansasEd.

<u>Like us on Facebook at Arkansas Department of Education</u>.

Follow us on Instagram at arkansas ed.

ArkansasEd.gov

Arkansas Department of Education • Four Capitol Mall • Little Rock, AR 72201 • 501-682-4475

Share this email:









Manage your preferences | Opt out using TrueRemove®

Got this as a forward? **Sign up** to receive our future emails.

View this email online.

Four Capitol Mall Little Rock, AR | 72201 US

This email was sent to tiffany.donovan@arkansas.gov.

To continue receiving our emails, add us to your address book.

