Minutes Charter Authorizing Panel May 18, 2016

The Charter Authorizing Panel met on Wednesday, May 18, 2016, in the auditorium of the Department of Education building. Deborah Coffman, Chair, called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Present: Deborah Coffman, Chair; Dr. Mark Gotcher, Vice Chair; Annette Barnes; Bobby Lester; Jennifer Liwo; Ivy Pfeffer; Greg Rogers; Dr. Eric Saunders

Absent: Stacy Smith

The transcription of this meeting may be accessed on the Arkansas Department of Education website at the following:

http://www.arkansased.gov/about-ade/charter-authorizing-panel/minutes/archive/2016

Reports

Report-1 Chair's Report

Ms. Coffman welcomed the members of the Panel and the audience. She introduced the Panel members and then recognized state legislators in attendance.

Ms. Coffman provided the audience with instructions pertinent to the proceedings.

Consent Agenda

It was moved by Ms. Barnes, seconded by Dr. Saunders, and carried unanimously to approve the consent agenda.

Items included in the Consent Agenda: Minutes – April 20, 2016.

Action Agenda

Staff Attorney Jennifer Davis provided the Panel with directions for the proceedings. She also explained the public voting procedures to the Panel and the audience.

A-1 Request for Open-Enrollment Public Charter School Amendment: Arkansas Connections Academy

School leader, Edwin Strickland introduced Bryce Adams who presented the Panel with Arkansas Connections Academy request for the amendment to the current charter.

A question and answer period followed.

It was moved by Dr. Saunders, seconded by Dr. Gotcher, and carried unanimously to approve the amendment of Arkansas Connections Academy.

A-2 Request for Open-Enrollment Public Charter School Amendment: Haas Hall Academy, Fayetteville and Bentonville Charters

Superintendent Dr. Martin Schoppmeyer and Heather Holloway presented the Panel with Haas Hall request for the amendment to the current charter.

A question and answer period followed.

It was moved by Ms. Barnes, seconded by Dr. Gotcher, and carried to deny the expansion of student enrollment campus 6 to 1.

It was moved by Ms. Barnes, seconded by Dr. Saunders to approve sibling preference and carried 5 to 2.

It was moved by Dr. Gotcher, seconded by Ms. Liwo and carried unanimously to deny the license for the Springdale campus.

A-3 Request for Open-Enrollment Public Charter School Amendments: Little Rock Preparatory Academy

Ms. Tina Long, Superintendent, presented the Panel with Little Rock Preparatory Academy's request for amendment to the current charter.

A question and answer period followed.

It was moved by Dr. Saunders, seconded by Dr. Gotcher, and carried by a five-to-two vote to approve the amendment to the charter.

A-4 Request for District Conversion Charter School Amendments: Mountain Home High School Career Academies

Superintendent Long presented the Panel with Mountain Home's request for amendment to the charter.

A question and answer period followed.

It was moved by Ms. Pfeffer, seconded by Dr. Gotcher, and carried unanimously to approve the amendment of the charter.

A-5 Request for District Conversion Charter School Amendments: Springdale School of Innovation

Associate Superintendent, Dr. Megan Witonski, presented the Panel with Springdale School of Innovation's request for amendment to the charter.

A question and answer period followed.

It was moved by Dr. Saunders, seconded by Ms. Barnes, and carried unanimously to approve the amendment of the charter.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 12:46 p.m.

Minutes recorded by Kelly McLaughlin

Charter Authorizing Panel Chair Deborah Coffman,