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A-3 - SANDERS HEARING

EXHIBIT ONE (1)

SHARON HILL COURT REPORTING
(501) 680-0888




WAIVER HEARING FOR COURTNEY L. SANDERS

Licensure Action Case No.: LA 18-025
EXHIBIT LIST

EXHIBITS DESCRIPTION OF DOCUMENTS

ADE -1 [ Application for Arkansas teaching license, dated 5/7/2018
ADE -2 Verdict, filed 8/29/1995

ADE -3 | Notice of Disqualifying Offense, dated 8/15/2018

ADE -4 | Request for Waiver Hearing, dated 9/11/2018

ADE _ 5 Felony Information and Affidavit for Warrant of Arrest, filed

3/8/1995
ADE -6 Sentencing Order, filed 8/29/1995
ADE -7 | Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-17-410 (2017)
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MAIL TO: APPLICATION FOR EDUCATOR'S LICENSE Telephone No: (501) 6824341
IDUCATOR LICENSURE :
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION anx N?. (501) ;82-:‘33‘8.
ROOMS 106B & 1078 Web Page: www.arkans org
FOUR CATITOL 1 ALL NOTICE
LITTLE ROCK, A} 122011071 Incomplete spplications will be returned

without action, with omissions checkad.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Educator Licensure

F A__CR PLEASE PRINT IN INK OR TYPE
Central Registry Check:

All coursework must be documented by providing
D Being Forwarded To DHS D On File original college transcripts:

Non Criminal Background Check:
Being Forwarded = " Being On r
O 7o AR. State Police O oarue Enclosed (] 55 et Fite | L Enclosed §¥ Pay Online

pue D1\ oucorninn:_ - TR

Name éO\,‘ r\'V\Q\/ L-"\K.{)\/ (g‘lﬂdﬁfj

First Middle 7 Last Maiden

Covrthty  Sanders  momerone R

Work Phone:

: Fax: .
’ )
Years of Licensed Teaching Experience

Applicable Fees:

Mail License To:

City State Zip
PROCESSING FEE Have you ever held an Arkgnsas teaching license?
FOR STATISTICAL PURPOSES CHECK ONE Yes \r;
ONLY: “fIF APPLICABLE) )
E/h 5 Have you ever had a licensgrevoked in any state?
Gender: Male 0O Female / Yes £
T T $75 -5 YEAR STANDARD Have you ever had a “true finding” with the Arkansas
EHni eve us Department of Human Services Child Maltrzatment Central

( ) Hispanic / Latino () $75-5YEAR RENEWAL Registry?
turﬁnn- Hispanic/ Latino () $50-DUPLICATE Yes \Lu
e ———— If yes, what was the finding? o

Race: Check one or more () S7T5-5YEAR .

N ian O TECHNICAL PERMIT Have you ever pled guilty or pled nolo contendere (no
) i';m;';m:‘.h:fim" ; contest) or been found guilEL)::fa crime?
askan Native ,

Asi Pacifi PLEASE NOTE: Yes o

{ '} Asian or Pacific NO PERSONAL CHECKS If yes, was the crime a
slander i A
s ACCEPTED: Felony or " Misdemeanor
Black or African

Educators can pay on-line by credit

American card orelectronic check at W h:u‘ wajr,lhc date and crime for which you were
( ) White https://www.ark.org/teachers/ convicled:
( ) Native Hawaiian or licensure. Money orders or cashier | [s your license currently under disciplinary review in
Other Pacific Islander checks may also be accepted. another state or country?
Yes No
Other . ! )
) > If licensed cutside the state of Arkansas, has your license
. - 4 . been in good standing for the previous two years?
US. Citizen §)/Yes ONeo Wes No

Please be aware that the Arkansas Department of Education has access to and must consider any background check reflecting a
conviction (pleading guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) or being found guilty by a jury or judge) for any offense listed in Ark.
Code Ann. § 6-17-410 as well as any felony involving physical or sexual injury, mistreatment, or abuse against another, including
records that have been expunged, sealed or subject to a pardon. For any questions about this, please call the ADE legal office @
(501) 682-4227.

Please indicate the application type.

O Provisional O Non-Traditional (APPEL) 0 Converting Initial to Standard Q Duplicate
0O Standard 0 Non-Traditional MAT/ MED'MTLL. O Converting Provisional to Standard 0O Name Change
0O Renewal 0 Teach for America O Career &Technical Permit 0 Correction
0O Lfetime License 0 Teacher Corps 0 Adding Degree O Change of Address Only
!%Zcipmcity O Professional Teaching Permit O Adding Area
O Reciprocity- ( out of O Provisional Professional Teaching License
Country)

Please indicate "y degree level of your license,

Q) Less than Bachelor's O Bachelor's M.&I.’utcr‘s 0 Specialist QO Doctorate RE Cen
To be completed by applicant only when adding an additional licensure arca by testing,

Licensure Area(s) Grade Level

health and fhyaal Education (P-1\2)

e
“UUCAT

Signature of Applicant: C\:\:W') _g c\’v\f[/""—/
T

ADBEEXhibit 1
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VERDICT

We, the Jury, find Courntev Iayxoy Sandexg guilty of

Saxual Abu irs eqgres.

G (ot

FILED

g %9 55
CROUTL & CHANCERY CLERK

LAFAYETTE COUNTY ARK
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| Arkansas Department of Educatloh

Transforming Arkansas to lead the nation in student-focis ed eclucertion

aesco N

-08/15/2018

PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL

Courtney Laroy Sanders

VIA FIRST CLASS AND CERTIFIED MAIL |
| RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED No. [ ENEE: + 10

Re: Criminal Background Check
Dear Ms. Sanders:

y The Arkansas Department of Education has reviewed your background checks requiied under
o] Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410 and § 6-17-411 as a condition of your licensure or employment with -
- .. an educational entity.

Your background check revealed the disqualifyiqg offense identified below.

Date: ~ 03/03/1995 7
Offense: FEL-C SEXUAL ABUSE - 1°T DEGREE
Agency: STAMPS POLICE '

Therefore, the Department will recommend that the State Board of Education dénx your
eligibility for licensure and employment in a local education agency or school district. -

- You have the right to challenge or complete the accuracy of the information in the record.
i You must contact this office within fourteen (14) days of the date of this letter if you intend to
A . challenge a record, or wish to provide this office with additional information about the

i disposition of the disqualifying offense(s). '

- Failure to contact us or provide this information within fourteen (14) days of the daté of this
letter may result in denial of your llcensure and disqualify you for emplovment in an educational

i
i«

g entity. -
| .

~ You are entitled to a hearing in front of the State Board of Education regar'dmg denial of
4 your license. Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(f) authorizes the State Board to grant waivers of the
K g licensure eligibility provisions of § 6-17-410(c) upon request of an affected applicant for
licensure. To request a hearing for a waiver of the disqualifying offense, you must submit your .

ADE Exhibit 3
10f7



: tten request to this office, by mail or by email, within thu;tx (30) dax of the date of thls
letter.

. State Board of Education meetings occur once a month and are available to the public through
live video-streaming, A request to be placed on the agenda must be received not less than three
weeks before the meeting date. The Board meets in the Auditorium of the Arkansas Depamnept
of Education —Arch Ford Education Building, Four Capitol Mall, Little Rock. Meeting dates

‘may be found at: http://www. arkansased org/events/event categones/state—board-of-educauo

" The circumstances that the State Board may conmder mcludes, but is not hmlted to:
» The age at which the crime or incident was committed
The circumstances sun'oundmg the crime or incident
The length of time since the crime or incident
Subsequent work history
. Employment references
Character references ' :
Other evidence demonstrating that the apphcant does not pose a threat to the health or
safety of school children or school personnel.

. Ifyou request a hearing, you will be asked to provide to this office a written statement and any

supporting documents that at a minimum address those considerations; including the names and

“phone numbers of persons who may verify information contained in your statement or
documentation.

. You may obtain information concerning the disqualifying offénse or schedule a hearing to
request a waiver from the State Board of Education by contacting Simoné Blagg, Arkansas
: Depa.rtment of Education, Four Capitol Mall, Little Rock, AR 72201, (501) 682-5729 or by

email at: Simone. Blagg@arkansas.gov.

‘Sincerely,
/s/ Simoné Blagg

Simoné Blagg, Attorney ¢
~ Educator Effectivenes.s & Licensure

Enclosures: 'How to Obtain Further Information or Correct a Record
Noncriminal Justice Applicant’s Privacy Rights
8 CFR § 16.34
Requesting a Waiver

cc: Cheryl Reinhart, Director of Educator Licensure

~ ADE Exhibit 3
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HOW TO‘OBTAIN FURTHER INFOﬁMATIdN OR CORRECT A RECORD '

Ark Code Ann. § 6-17-410 S
‘Provides that the Department of Education shall not issue a first-time llcense nor renew. -
- an existing license and shall revoke any existing license not up for renewal of any
person who has a true report in the Child Maltreatment Central Registry or has pled
-guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found guilty of any.of [certain listed] offenses, -
including offenses which havé been expuriged or pardoned. -

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-411

Requnres a background check for initial employment with an entlty that i is identified by -
the Department of Education as a local education agency, except that for a public
- school operated by a school district the school district is the educ_at:qnal entity

To challenge a record with tﬁe Federal To.challenge a i'ecord with the

- . Bureau of Investigation contact: Arkansas State Police’ conmct.
. FBI CJIS Division | " .. Arkansas State Police -
Attention; Criminal History Analysns Team 1 Identification Bureau
1000 Custer Holiow Road 1 State Police Plaza Drive

* Clarksburg, WV 26306 Little Rock, AR 72209

(or.go to www.fbi.gov, and enter in the search
box Challenge of a Criminal History Summary)

: For Child Maltreatment Central Registry name removal or other DHS mformatlon,.'
contact the Department of Human Services, Child Maltreatment Central Registry:

Dennis Robins Forms-and instructions are available on the DHS
Manager, Central Registry =~ website: ‘
" . -501-682-0405 ' _http: Ilhumanserv:ces arkansas. gov/dcfslPagesIdefa e

" .. dennis.robins@arkansas.qov  ult.aspx-
B - CLICK ON DCFS FORMS in the left side menuto
find these forms: - - :

- CFS-0328-A Request for Name Removal From the B
Central Registry ~ -
CFS-0328-A Instructions

ADE Exhibit 3
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NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based ¢riminal history record check

for a noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for a job or license, an immigration or
naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoptlon), you have certain nghts ‘which are
discussed below. .

* You must be provided written notification! that your fingerprints will be
used to check the criminal history records of the FBL. .
+ If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a detennmatxon
of your suitability for the job, license, or, other benefit must provide you
the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in
the record. '
« The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change,
correction, or updating of your criminal history record are set forth at Title
28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34. ' '
*» If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount -
of time to correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before the: officials
deny you the job, license, or other benefit based on mformatlon in ‘the criminal

history record. 2

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the cnmmal hlstory
record check will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it
in violation of federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or

standard established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact ¢ Councll 3

If agency policy permits, the officials may-provide you w1th a copy of ; your

* FBIcriminal history record for review and possible challenge. If agency
policy does not permitit to provide you a copy of the record, you may
obtain a copy of the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI.
Information regarding this process may be obtained at

hgp /www.fbi. gov/about-us/q 1s/backgmund-checks

If you declde to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI cmmnal hlstory
‘record, you ‘should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned :
information to the FBI. Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI:.

The FBI will then forward your challenge to the agericy.that contributed the questioned
information and request the agency to verify or correct the challenged éntry. Upon -
_receipt of an official communication from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary .
changes/ corrections to your record in accordance with the information supplied by that .
agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.)

! Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification.
"2See 28'CFR 50.12(b).
3 8ee 5U.S.C. 552a (b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 42 U.S.C. 14616, Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d). -

ADE Exhibit3
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* 28 CFR Sec: 16.34 :
Procedure to obtain change, correction or updating of identification records ]

If, after rev:ewmg his/her identification record, the subject thereof beheves that it is
.incorrect or incomplete in any respect and wishes changes, corrections or.updating of. the
alleged deficiency, he/she should make application directly to the agency which
. contributed the questioned information. The subject of a record may also direct his/ her
_ challenge as to the accuracy or completeness of any entry-on his/her record to:

FBI, Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS)
Division ATTN: SCU, Mod. D-2
1000 Custer Hollow Road

_ Clarksburg, WV 26306

- 'I'he FBI will then forward the cha]lenge to the agency whlch submitted the data requesting
that agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon the receipt of an official
communication directly from the agency which contributed the original information, the -
FBI.CJIS Division will make any changes necessary in.accordance with the mformatlon
supplied by that agency.

[Order No. 1134-86, 51 FR 16677 May 6, 1986, as amended by Order No. 2258—99 64 FR
52226, Sept. 28, 1999]

ADE Exhibit 3
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? L: DEPARTMENT
~&9 OF EDUCATION

- REQUESTING A WAIVER OF A DISQUALIFYING OFFENSE _

You have been notified that, as a result of the background check reviewed by the Arkansas .-
Department of Education, you are dlsquahﬁed for licensure and for employment with a charter
school, school district, or education service cooperative, and that you are entitled to request a waiver
of that disqualification from the State Board of Education. Below are the steps to follow to seek a
waiver. .

, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410 - .
Provides that the Department.of Educatlon shall not issue a ﬂrst-time license nor renew,
an existing license and shall revoke any existing license not up for renewal of any person . -
who has a true report in the Child Maltreatment Central Registry or has pled guilty or =
.nolo contendere to or has been found guilty of any of [certain listed] offenses, including
offenses which have been expunged or pardoned o

, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-411 * :
Requires a background check for initial employment with a charter school,
school district, or education service cooperative.

v

1 Red’uésﬁé Hea'l"ing'

To request a hearing for a waiver of the disqualifying offense, you must submit your wrltten request
to the Department by mail, fax, or email, within thirty (30) days of the date you are. notified of the.
disqualification.

You may, but are not required to be, represented by an attorney at any stage of this process. ‘

2. Provide Documentation

The Department will confirm your request for & waiver and ask-you to provide a written statement’
and any supporting documents that at a minimum address the circumstances that the Board will

- consider (see STEP 3), including the names and phone numbers of f personis who may verify -
information contained in your statement or documentation. You must also provide'a signed and -
notarized form providing authorization for the release of criminal records from courts and law

. enforcement. If your documentation is received less than six (6) weeks before the scheduled State .-

Board meeting the matter may be postponed until after all documentation is received and reviewed
by the Department.

'3 Acéept or Reject the Department’s Recommendation

After reviewing’ the documentation received from you or from other agencxes, the Department will
advnse you of its decision to:

® Recommend a waiver to the State Board, including any conditions for licensure, such as:

ADE Exhibit 3 -
6 of 7



Probation or suspension for a specific period of time;

Counseling, rehabilitation, or training;

Background check at end of probation or suspension;

No other disqualifying offenses or ethics violations during the probatlon or
suspension:period; '

0000

Recommend that the State Board not issue, not renew, or revoke the license as apphcable, or

Decline to make a recommendation.

You will bé given the opportunity to aecept or reject the recommendation.

¢ Ifyou accept the recommendation, the matter will be placed on the State Board’s consent

[ 4

4

-agenda. The consent agenda is voted on at that public meeting, and therefore, any documents

presented to the State Board are public. If the matter is submitted on the consent agenda, you

_ do not have to appear at the meeting. However, sometimes the State Board members have

questions, and you may want:to be there to respond to those questions. The State Board has-
the final decision and may accept a reccommendation on the consent agenda or reject the

- recommendation and afford the-educator the opportunity for a hearing at a later date.

If you reject the recommendation, you will proceed to a hearing.

State Board Hearing

If you request a hearmg, you should appear at the meeting and be prepared to present your case and

- answer questions from the State Board members. .If you request a hearing and do not appear, the -
State Board may decide the matter without you being present. Hearings are conducted at a public
meeting of the State Board that is videoed by live streaming and archived. All documents provided
to the State Board are public-record. You should consult the Rules Governing Background Checks
and Licensure Revocation for information-on the hearing process (Section 8). The rules aré online at

http://www.arkansased.org/ under Rules — Current.

The circumstances that the State Board may consider includes, but is not limited to:

The age-at which the crime or incident was committed

The circumstances surroundmg the crime or incident

The length of time since the crime or incident .

Subsequent work history

Employment references

Character references .
Other evidence demonstrating that the apphcant does not pose a threat to the health or safety.
of school children or school personnel. .

The State Board typically makes a decision at the time of the State Board meenng at which the
consent agenda or hearing is considered.

ADE Exhibit 3
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From: Courtney Sanders

To: imone Bl
Subject: "Schedule a Hearing for a Waiver"
Date: Tuesday, September 11, 2018 10:09:15 AM

Dear sir or mam,

I'm requesting a hearing for a waiver of a disqualifying offense. I thank you in advance for the
opportunity to clear my name and get this situation resolved. Please let me know if there is
anything I need to do in the meantime.

Thanks,

Courtney Sanders
Teacher/Assistant Coach

ADE Exhibit 4
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FELONY INFORMATION

IN THE LAFAYETTE COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT
THE STATE OF ARKANSAS
vs. . NO. CR-95-20=¢

COURTNEY LARQOY SANDERS
OURTNE LENT

Black Male Born_ G

I, BRENT HALTOM, PROSECUTING ATTORNEY WITHIN AND FOR THE EIGHTH JUDICIAL
CIRCUIT OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS, of which Lafayette‘ County is a part, in the
name and by the authority of the State of Arkansas, on oath, accuse the

defendant COURTNEY LAROY SANDERS a/ k/a COURTNEY LAROY VOLENTINE with the

- crime of violating Axk. Code of 1987 Ann. § 5-14-103 RAPE committed as

follows, to-wit:. The said defendant on or about the 1st day of March 1995,
in Lafayette County, Arkansas, did wilfully, unlawfully and feloniously,

engage in sexual intercourse or deviate sexual activity with
another person by forecible compulsion, and/or engage in sexual

intercourse or deviate sexual activity with another person who was
less than 14 vears of age, said person being *, who was
boxrn on *, and was 13 years of age at the tims, against
the peace and dignity of the State of Arkansas:

CLASS "Y" FELONY -
Punishable by imprisonment for not less than 10 years nor more than
40 years, or life.

BRENT TOM, Prosecuting Attorney

. 7

/ /" Deputy P¥dsecuting Attorney

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _£Z% day of 7Y usch 1995.

F l L g D Circuit Clerk
SEm .

w4508

T § CHA :
WETTE COUNTY “ARK ADE Exhibit 5
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- IN THE MUNICIPAL COURT OF LAFAYETTE COUNTY, ARKANSAS
AFFIDAVIT FOR WARRANT OF ARREST FOR THE FOLLOWING PERSON:

COURTREY LAROY SANDERS vorerTIv: NN & /M _X Felony
POTENTIAL DEFENDANTS NAME AGE/DOB/RACESEX

[ e Misdemeanor
ADDRESS . PHONE

Violation
Pursuant to Rule 7.1 of the Arkansas Criminal Procedure, the undersigned
affiant, being duly sworn, deposes and says that he has reason to believe that the
above-named person has commnted the offense of violating Arkansas Code:
5-14-103. Rape

On or about the_3xd day of __ March ,19 95 , committed by unlawfully
See Attachment "A"

In Lafayette County, Arkansas, against the peace and dignity of the State of Arkansas
FACTS CONSTITUTING REASONABLE CAUSE

Ou March 1, 1995 at approxiately 2 p.m. Courtmey S. Volentine raped [N in

_pants. made her turn around and bend over. Cmtmy then pentrated_

vagina with his finger then with bis penis. [l then stood up, pulled up her

pants and ram to the bathroom. Attached hereto are: Attachment A", Offense/Iuncident

Sanders Volentime,

OF TETY. AN
AU el

ayenc-c:o ta 273! Court C!erk
(Continue on Back)

I swear that the allegations contained herein are the truth, the whole truth and nothing

but the truth,
/“;Zl% p%:% 203 Thomas Street, Stamps, AR 71860

Affiant's Signature Address

Todd D. Smithy Chief 533—&951
Printed Name and Title, if any

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me on the -«-day of Y Nanth:1945.

(Seal) ‘Q@ML@»
JU E/NOTARY PUBLIC/CLERK

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES: /A 2LFS
I hereby find that this sworn Affidavit demonstrates reasonable and probable

= cause for the issuance of a Warrant of Arrest for the above-named individual for the

above stated offense, and issuance of such is hereby authorized.

3-3-1995 41T P,

. SIGNATURE AND TATLE OF JUDGE A DE Exhibit 5
20f13



ATTACHMENT "A"

- 5-14-103. Rape.

(a) A person ecommits rape if he engages in sexual intercourse or deviate
sexual activity with amother person:

(1) )By forcible compulsion;

(3) ¥ho is less thau fourteem (14) years of age. It is an affirmative
defense to prosecution uuder this subdivision that the actor was not
wozre than two (2) years older than the victim.

(b) Rape is a Class Y felony. ‘
—=. DI

ADE Exhibit 5
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OLm  Stamps Police Department — M@;

Stamps, Arkansas

DATE & TIME OF REPOAT

OFFENSENNGIDENT REPORT

1€ 2 PHONE [BUSINESS)
N o oene e e leioe
6 REPORTED BYW ADDRESS JOB TITLE WILL COMPLAINANT PROSECUTE?

YES | b NO !}

7 QFFENSEANCIDENT (Ag REPORTED) B L T]OIN . ADDRESS . 9 TYPE PREMISES
Ria. T D s 7007 e, PHSAS Soties]

10 DAY DATE & TIME OF QFFENSE 11 AEPOAYED TO: 12 HOW REPORIED
D)5 [5G, - s
13 BODILY YES DO rWCTIM TAKEN TO 14 TRANSPQRTED RV 18 DESC, INJURIES

INJURIES NO O

16 MIO HOW DONE FORCE LSED IT AT TOOQL OA WEAPON OTHEH ACTS QR TAADEMARKS
pbors g St Z/“Z ik NYrrg Aenjhn

1'5 VIIE:‘HISLE INVOLVED? OWNER 13 YEAR COLOR MAKE MOODEL BOOY STYLE UCY NO. YEAR STATE VIN NO.
vesc N \ B
COOES: S-STOLEN PROPERTY D-DAMAGED PROPERTY L-LOST PROPERTY F-FQUND PROPEARTY
19 | CODE DESGRIFTION
P | SDLF | 9TV | (SIZ€, COLOR. MODEL, STYLE, MATERIAL, CONDITION) BERIAL NO. EST. VALUE
0 .
P
£
= W AW - 5/
v ('
-l B
- /
c
i
I
0
N
20 DISFOSITION OF PROPERTY 21 TOTAL VALUE
22 WITNESSES NAME ADDRESS AGE PHONE RES. PHONE BUS.
T,
WITNESSES NAME . ADDRESS AGE PHONE RES. PHONE BUS,
2.

23 NAME AND ADDARESS OF SUSPECT(S) [AGE, RACE, DESCRIPTION, RELATION TO COMPLAINANT QR WITNESS)

%, (-’C)ur-}ue‘/ Sendess Q/M

24 DEFAILS NOT COVERED ABOVE

/‘r".ﬁ" a‘f‘WW% a?m»-. pruikce gtolens VoteTdi, &1

/’ {/ 1 I

I—-q-n ST

_ﬂ{_&«-:;_w.e—..;faj; = A M«Wé«c\
_&)—mﬁ/f/‘\—- ’puMoLﬂa»\L* -t L Vzug— o AUt

Lz

st el L _.’__..l.-

and sty

L & -L',‘A,Jr.—‘ ( fril el A e, 2 LA ) ot P

w7
— — ¢ 72
5 INVESTIGATING OFFICER(S) / 0?9, S_L'” ’%%1 1%7("-’4 b £ 66'525 AEPORT MACE Y % . OATE ___ _.9__{_

27 CASE FILED
YES O NO O

28 THIS CASE 18 23 APPROVED BY BADGE NO. A c’%

Clgarpd by arres! © Unfounded O

ADE Exhibit 5
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residence Is

TODD

~ Present

e -~

This is Todd Smith, with the Stamps Police Department. The time is 10:09 a.m.
on March 3, 1995, white female, date of birth is|JJJJl] Her

Home phone number is
I

s giving us a sitatement conceming an incident which

happened on March 1, 1995 a¢ approximately 2:00 p.m. in the
typing room of the Stamps High School. The incident is also
conceming a black male, Courtney Sanders, as a suspect.

with me is Peter Briggs, with the Lafayette County Sheriffs Office
and | am Todd Smith with the Stamps Police Department, At

this time [Jlfwe would like for you to tell us in your own words
and be as detalled as you can and try to speak up clearly of

the incident that happened March 1st.

I, work in the office 6th period and | was going to get my books out
of my lncker and | saw in Mrs. Johnson's office. And
I was going in there to talk to her and | didn't see Couriney at the
time and when | walked in there | saw him. Any way | didn't really
think any, much about it. And ugh, | started talking to Dora and
Courtney stood up and said something like come to

Mrs. Gasaway's room, he said come somewhere and | reafly
didnt pay him any aftention, cause he walked out. And | went
and | was going to get my books and | wanted to see if he was
down there, because no body else was down there because

they had to go to a funeral. And he was standing at the door

and he kind of stepped back and wanted me to come in, so |
opened the door and ugh, | stepped and | tumed a couple of
steps and he took off his Jacket and he came up to me

and ugh and tried fo unbutton my pants and 1 told him no right
then and he, he did it again, he was saying please [JJflcome

on [lllland 1 was tetling him no | can't do this, and ugh anyway
he unbuttoned my pants and tried to pufl them down and i told

him no | can't do this'and ugh anyway, he pulled them down real
fast and tumed me around where my back side was to the front of
him. He told me to bend over and he started unbuckling his belt
and unbuttoning his pants and he stuck his finger in my vagina

and then he stuck his penis in my vagina and | was telling him no

I can't do this | am at school and I've got to get back to the office
don't do this to me and if you do, dont you get me pregnant. |
don't think | can stop you, but don't get me pregnant.

ADE Exhibit 5
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He said | won?, | wont come on il come on and | said
Courntey you know | can't, but he just kept on, he wouidn' listen to
me and ugh finally | didn't care what he would do, but | had to get
out of this so ) kind of stood up and | pulled my pants back up and
buttoned them and went to the bathroom and | cleaned my setf up
and everything and | went back to the office and just sat in there
tnying to act like nothing had happened and ugh then the bell rang
and | went to my 7th period ciass and everything. And right after
my 7th period class | went back to the bathroom and there wasnt

very much bleeding or anything going on by that time and then

he didn't say anything to me Thursday , he just kind of waved at

me and then that is when my coach came in there and asked

me about it, because he said he had heard something about i

and he asked me was | raped and { told him yes sir | was. And

I went back through the whole story and | told him the whole story

and then he came in there this moming and got me and | had to

talk to my step dad and then they brought me down here. And
that is about all,

TODD B | have a couple of questions for you. The coaches name

who was that asked you,
I Coach Lynch, Chris Lynch
TODD He said that he had heard it. .

He said that he had heard it. He said that somebody, he had heard
somebody saying something about it and he hated to ask me
about it, but that it was rea) serious and he wanted to know.

TODD When Courtney did penetrate you did Courtney finish or

e ) don't think S0, cause I, he was hurling me, 50 | didnt care what
he did or if he hit me, it didn't matter | was going to get out of
there

PETER Did he hit you?

No he dig not hit me.

PETER He did not ejaculate inside of you.

ADE Exhibit 5
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PETER

| don't, no, un ugh he may have, | don't know ugh.
Are you and Courtney friends?

Were

Have you seen each other in the past? Have you ever
No, not gone out or anything we havent
Daies or anyihing like that

Nuh ugh

Just school acquaintances. Has Courtney ever made any
acquisitions toward you of wanting to go out with you
or to.

Wea had talked about it and we just decided it would be better
if we didn't and he is a Senior this year and | was just an 8th
grader and | didn't want that to happen and | kind of figured

what he wanted and | didn't want that to happen and | didn't.

When Courtney, when you first saw hlmr, and he sald meet you
somawhere, can you try to remember exactly what he said
or you said you werent sure if he said Mrs. Gasaway's

| wasn't really sure what he said, | heard him say meet me
ang ha 23aid the plate, bacause he said it real low and |
couldnt really recall what he said, but | thought that is what
it kind of sounded |ike. So | went down there because if
knew they went to a funeral to see if he was in there.

Okay, you had no idea what he wanted.

I, ungh, { had no idea.

Has he ever done that is the past, ask you to meet himn in
a class of somewhere .

No sir.

Where was everybody at yesterday?

ADE Exhibit 5
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I It was ciass time, are you talking about Wednesday
PETER Ya.
] It was during a class time and he was suppose to be in
Mrs. Gasaway's class, but she had gone to a funeral.
8o, he went to Mrs. Johnson's office and he walked out
of Mrs. Johnson's office and told me to meet him.
TODD S0, there was no one else in the classroom
| No
TODD I don't have any other questions at this time, do you think
maybe they
PETER What did he have on that day, Courtney.
- | don't even Know, | am not sure.
IA
PETER Say he had a jacket on or coat
e He had a jacket, it was  bluish color
PETER You did wash up once, you did wash up.
] Ugh, yes sir. :
PETER Bid you tell anybady in the office when you went back to the
office, you didn't say anything.
- | was scared, | didn't know what to do.
PETER You didi't say anything.
] | didn't say anything
TODD Did Courtney tell you not to tell anybody, threaten you in any
manner about falking to anyone about ihis.
,a-;\ ‘ - It was right after, | walked out and he did not say a word

to me. | didn' take to him or anything.

TODD And all the time at first, all he was saying was for you to come

ADE Exhibit 5
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PETER You didn't say anything else while he was pulling your pants
down. ;

He was just deing it and | was telling him to stop that | didn't
want to and | told him ) cant do this and he did it anyway.

PETER You said something about blood a white ago, when he
penetrate you, did it make you bleed.

Fagias A litile bit uh-huh
PETER That is all the questions 1 have.
TODRD That is all the questions | have also

Todd Smith stated this concludes the statement from [N (e
time is 10:19 a.m. on March 3rd, 1995.

Transcribed on March 3, 1995 11:00 a.m. by Alta Malone, RecorderfTreasurer
City of Stamps.

Gt 277 \atone.

Alta Malone, RecfTres

Swom before me a notary public on March 3, 1985.

U -

W\GAG IS, Qood
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- 203 Thomns Street ’ i
10nes
Stamps, Arkansas 71860 Mon-Fri (501)
533-4951

Niles & Weekends
(501)921-4252
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MIRANDA RIGHTS FORM, |/
7 %l&ﬂ !

NAME: CO'-"@—’PN*%J L#Méov Sﬁuieas Doas-'
PLACE! Cﬁ—ﬁ ﬁ;m,v-(

DATE: ?/2/7'%'-_ TIME: /2 ° /2%/777

Before asking you any guestions, I want to advise you
of your rights.

1. Do you understand that you have the right to remain
silent? V
RESPONSE y e

2. Do you understand that anything you say may be used
‘against you,in a court of law?
RESPONSE:_Je 5

3. Do you undérstand that you have the right to talk to an
attorney before any questioning and to have an attorney
present with you during questioning?

- RESPONSE: _ 2 S

4. Do you understand that, if you cannot afford to hire an
attorney, one will be appointed by the court for you
prior to any questioning, at no cost to you?
RESPONSE: ___ V€9 .

5. Do you unde/stand that if you decide to answer
gquestions now, you can decide to stop answering
questions at any time and that you can stop answering
questicns at,any time’until you talk to an attorney?
RESPONSE! /\{eﬁ

I UNDERSTAND THE RIGHTS LISTED, ABOVE,

. SIGNED:
WITNESSES: / : ;%Z
U L4

AIVER OF GHTS

P S

NO PROMISES OR THREATS HAVE BEFN USED AGAINST ME TO
INDUCE ‘ME TO WAIVE THE RIGHTS LISTED ABOVE. WITH FULL
RNOWLEDGE OF MY RICHTS, I HEREBY VOLUNTARILY, RNOWINGLY AND
INTELLIGENTLY WAIVE THEM AND AGREE TO ANSWER QUESTIONS,

Vd

WITNESSES:

ADE Exhibit 5
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i - i st 4 s 5 s bt # 4 ast s ¢ —————

This is Todd Smtih, Chief of Stamps Police Department the time Is 11:17 a.m.
the date is March 3rd, 1995 | am at the Lafayette County Sheriffs Office in the
back office. Present with me is Investigator Peter Briggs of the Lafayette County
Sheriff's Office and Courtney Roy Sanders Volentine, black male
date of birth he resides at
phone number is I \Ve're conducting an interview with Courtney
conceming an incident which happened March 1st, 1995 at approximately 2:00
p.m. at the Stamps High Schoo! in the typing room with the victim of [l

his

TODD Alright, Courtney if you would tell us in your own words everything
that happend on March 1st.
PETER Courtney, before you tell us what happenad, being advised of

your constitutional rights, do you understand your constitutional
rights that | read to you, Your miranda rights. Do | need to
read them to you again?

COURTNEY Yes
PETER Do you undesstand you have the right to remain silent.

COURTNEY Yes

PETER Do yau understand that anything you say can and mas" he used
against you in the court of law.

COURTNEY  Yes

PETER Do you understand that you have the right to talk to an attomey
before any questioning and to have an attomey present with you
during questioning.

COURTNEY Yes
PETER Do you understand that if you cannot afford to hire an attomey
- one will be appointed by the court for you prior to any
questioning at no cost to you.

COURTNEY  Yes

ADE Exhibit 5
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PETER Do you understand that if you decide to answer questions now,
you can decide to stop answering questions at any time and that
you can stop answering questions at any time until you talk to an
attomey.

COURTNEY  Ves

PETER You do understand your rights.
COURTNEY Yes

PETER OK, 80 in your own words, will you tell us what happened on
March 1st, 1995 at the high schoo!.

COURTNEY I'd fike to have an attomney.

TODD That will conclude the interview, Courtney advised he would
like to talk to an attommey. Thetime is 11:20 a.m.

Transcribed on March 3, 1995 at 3:00 p.m. by Alta Malone, Recorder/Treasurer
City of Stamps.

%Wm

Alta Malone, RecfTres

4

Sworn before me a notary public on March 3, 1995.

Notary Rublic . O&Q
\’N\\LS Q_Oﬂvwww Ly
Cl& \S, 2000
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A_— . JUDCMENT AND DISPOSITION ORDOE!
IN THE W<CUTT COURT OF__ Lafayette LCOUN 1, ARKANSAS
Eighth DISTRICT First DIVISION
On_Aug. 29 1995 the defendant personally appeared befare the Court and, having been informed by the Court of the nature

.

of the charge(s), of his/her constitutional and legal rights, of the effect of a guilty plea upon those rights, and of his/her right to makea
statement before sentencing, the Court made the following findings:
[OJDefendant voluntarly, intelligently, and knowingly entered: negotiated plea or  [] plea directly to the court

of (] guiltyor [} nolo contendere to the charge(s) herein enumerated and acknowledged factual bases for charge(s);

endant was found gulity of said charge(s) by the Court, sitting as trier of fact:
Defendant was found guilty at jury trial.

Defendant entered a plea as shown above and was sentenced by a jury.
D.EEENDAN]Z&.EULL.JAMF DATEQFBIRTH _RACE SEX__SID # ALLAS:
Courtney Laroy Sanders B M |
DEFENDANT'S ATTORNEY Criminal History Score PROSECUTING ATTORNEY/ DEPUTY AT#

Larry Dunklin Danny Rodgers

=] Defendant was representad by [X ] private counsel [ coun appointed legal counsel| ] public defender [_| himself/herself.
[[] Defendant made a voluntary, knowing and intelligent waiver of his/her right to counsel.

There being no legal cause shown by the defendant, as requested, why a judgment should not be pronounced against him/her, a
judgment is hereby entered against the defendant, fines levied and court costs assessed, as shown below:

CODE NO, QFFENSE A/5/C_QFFENSEDATE  DOCKET#_ COUNTS _ F/M _ CLASS
5-14-108 |#1 Sexual Abuse-lst 03/01/95 CR-95-20| 1 F c
#2
3
e
FINE$_7500-00 JATL TIME CREDIT DAYSOR [JNONE

COURTCOSTSS. 1 2. 9. 25

™, A judgment of restitution is hereby entered against the defendant in the amount and terms as shown below:

Amount§ [[J) Due immediatsly or [0 Installmens(specify)
Payment to be made to[_] Dept. of Community Punishment or[]]
If multiple beneficiaries, give names and show payment pn'o'pty

Defendant is hereby assigned to the Department of Community Punishment (D.C.P.) and/or placed on probation for each charge as

shown below: PERIOD OF PERIOD OF FERIOD OF
OFFENSE CONFINEMENT PROBATION S.I.S. HABITUAL OFFENDER (A.CA. 5-4501)
. , EILED
u2 ALLC 9 6 1995
Ao

3 R

i CIRCINT
"4 | .

Defendant has knowledge and understanding of the consequences of the sentence and /or placement on pmﬁat:iqn and
violatons thereof. Deferdant was informed of the right to appeal. Appeal Bondis set at'§ :

. A copy of the presentence investigation report or sentencing information, including but not limited to mmi-ng'l"'hi;z{?}y' cll_ci'ne.:\ts,‘ls_

—

atached. [] Yes [iNo TR R
lf disposition is a departure from sentencing grid. is departure sheet attached? [J Yes [J No ; AR

Conditions of Disposition/Probation are attached. [] Yes [ No VRG—— :"‘,-':‘“ N
The County Sheriff is hereby ordered to [_Jtransport the defendant to County Jail, [ take cusrody af the Defeadant.
for referral to CP.C..

(] Defendant shall report to his/her probation otficer for assignunant of a rRpPOrting datg kR C. o © - 1

Date 8/28/95 CircuitJudge(Print or type) Joe Grifiin Circuit Judge (Signature)
1 centify this is a true and correct record of this Court.

v o

RQae ______ lacknowledge receipt of judgment, Defendant (Signature)
SHERIFE'S RETURM
Date Rel.On Appeal Bond | Date Ret. To Custody |1 certify the Def. named within was dehvered to: | Date Sheriff /Deputy(Sig.)
ADE Exhibit 6
D COUﬂt'y ]3\1 1 f 1
or []Community Punishment Center o

White: Court File, Blue: D.CP. Green: AO.C.. Coldenrod: Prosecutor, Pink Defense Attorney. Yellow: Sheriff, Pink:Defendant



Arkansas Code of 1987 Annotated Official Edition
© 2018 by the State of Arkansas All rights reserved.

***Current through all laws of the 2017 Regular Session and 2017 First Extraordinary
Session, including changes and corrections by the Arkansas Code Revision
Commission.***

Title 6 Education
Subtitle 2. Elementary And Secondary Education Generally
Chapter 17 Personnel
Subchapter 4-- Licensure Generally

A.C.A.§6-17-410

A.C.A. § 6-17-410 (Lexis Advance through all laws of the 2017 Regular Session and 2017 First
Extraordinary Session, including changes and corrections by the Arkansas Code Revision

Commission)

6-17-410. Teacher licensure -- Application, renewal application, revocation, suspension,
and probation -- Definitions.

(c) The state board shall not issue a first-time license nor renew an existing license and
shall revoke any existing license not up for renewal of any person who has a true report
in the Child Maltreatment Central Registry or has pled guilty or nolo contendere to or
has been found guilty of any of the following offenses by any court in the State of
Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in another state or of any similar offense
by a federal court:

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

(2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and murder in the
second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;

(3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;

(4) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201 and battery in the
second degree as prohibited in § 5-13-202;

(5) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;

(6) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-301;

ADE Exhibit 7
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(7) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
(8) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

(9) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third degree, and fourth
degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 -- 5-14-127;

(10) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

(11) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in visual or print
media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual conduct, employing or
consenting to the use of a child in a sexual performance, or producing, directing,
or promoting a sexual performance by a child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303, 5-27-
305, 5-27-402, and 5-27-403;

(12) Distribution to minors as prohibited in § 5-64-406;

(13) Any felony in violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, § 5-64-
101 et seq.;

(14) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;

(15) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-
27-205;

(16) Pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually explicit
conduct involving a child as prohibited by § 5-27-304;

(17) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-11-103;
(18) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-106;

(19) Permitting abuse of a child as prohibited in § 5-27-221(a);

(20) Negligent homicide as prohibited by § 5-10-105(a);

(21) Assault in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-13-205;

(22) Coercion as prohibited by § 5-13-208;

(23) Public sexual indecency as prohibited by § 5-14-111;

(24) Indecent exposure as prohibited by § 5-14-112;
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(25) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the second degree as prohibited by §
5-27-206;

(26) Criminal attempt, criminal solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in
§§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed
in this subsection;

(27) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;

(28) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-
605;

(29) Felony theft as prohibited in §§ 5-36-103 -- 5-36-106 and 5-36-202;
(30) Robbery as prohibited by §§ 5-12-102 and 5-12-103;
(31) Breaking or entering as prohibited by § 5-39-202;

(32) Burglary as prohibited by § 5-39-201 and aggravated residential burglary as
prohibited by § 5-39-204;

(33) Forgery as prohibited by § 5-37-201;

(34) Video voyeurism as prohibited by § 5-16-101;

(35) Domestic battering in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-26-303;

(36) Domestic battering in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-26-304;
(37) Felony violation of an order of protection as prohibited by § 5-53-134;
(38) Prostitution as prohibited by § 5-70-102;

(39) Sexual solicitation as prohibited by § 5-70-103;

(40) Promoting prostitution in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-70-104;
(41) Promoting prostitution in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-70-105;
(42) Stalking as prohibited by § 5-71-229;

(43) Failure to notify by a mandated reporter in the first degree as prohibited by
§ 12-18-201;

ADE Exhibit 7
Page 3 of 4



(44) Any felony not listed in this subsection and involving physical or sexual
injury, mistreatment, or abuse against another;

(45) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an employee of a
correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony;

(46) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; and

(47) Failure to comply with the registration and reporting requirements of § 12-
12-904.
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