

## **Arkansas Department of Education**

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Johnny Key, Secretary

Dr. Ivy Pfeffer, Deputy Commissioner

March 16, 2021

CONTACT: Kimberly Mundell PHONE: (501) 683-4788

kimberly.mundell@ade,arkansas.gov

## Five Teachers Named 2021 Computer Science Educator of the Year Finalists

**LITTLE ROCK** — The Arkansas Department of Education is pleased to announce the five educators selected as finalists for the 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year award.

"The ADE Office of Computer Science received many quality applications," Anthony Owen, the state director of Computer Science Education, said. "This year's applications were some of the most competitive we have seen in the three years of this award. Unfortunately, our team could only select five, and we selected the educators who best demonstrated both a long-term and ongoing commitment to, passion for, and impact on computer science education in Arkansas and the nation. These educators have earned and deserve this recognition."

The 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year Finalists are as follows.

- · Carl Frank Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts
- Ashley Kincannon Lake Hamilton Junior High School (Lake Hamilton School District)
- Kimberly Raup Conway High School (Conway School District)
- Stacy Reynolds McGehee High School (McGehee School District)
- Lauren Taylor Dardanelle High School (Dardanelle School District)

Each finalist will receive a \$2,500 award from the ADE Office of Computer Science. A panel of representatives from the ADE Computer Science Unit, the 2020 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year, external industry leaders, and other education experts will review the finalists' applications and select the 2021 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year based on a rubric scoring system. The winner, who will be announced at a later date, will receive an additional \$12,500 award.

To learn more about the ADE Office of Computer Science Education, go to https://bit.ly/30Ngi56.

Follow us on Twitter @ArkansasEd.

<u>Like us on Facebook at Arkansas Department of Education</u>.

<u>Follow us on Instagram at arkansas\_ed</u>.

## dese.ade.arkansas.gov

Four Capitol Mall • Little Rock, AR 72201 • 501-682-4475

## Share this email:









Manage your preferences | Opt out using TrueRemove®

Got this as a forward? Sign up to receive our future emails.

View this email online.

Four Capitol Mall Little Rock, AR | 72201 US

This email was sent to kimberly.mundell@arkansas.gov.

To continue receiving our emails, add us to your address book.

