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WAIVER HEARING FOR JOHN PENNINGTON
EXHIBIT LIST

EXHIBITS DESCRIPTION OF DOCUMENTS

ADE -1 Educator’s License, valid to 12/31/2017

ADE -2 | Sentencing Order, filed 3/2/2017

ADE -3 Notice of Disqualifying Oftense, dated 7/20/2018

ADE -4 | Request for Waiver Hearing, dated 10/23/2018

ADE -5 | Notice of Hearing, dated 12/3/2018

ADE -6 | Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-17-410(2017)
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ELECTRONICALLY FILED

Pulaski Counly Circuit Courl

SENTENC'NG ORDER Larry Crane, Circuit/County Clerk
2017-Mar-02 15:08:42
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF Pulaski COUNTY, ARKANSAS, SIXTH JUDICIAL DISTREDCR-17ER8K5I10N

On 2/6/2017  the Defendant appeared before the Court, was advised of the nature of the charge(s), of Con

and legal rights, of the effect of a gullty plea upon those rights, and of the right to make a statement before sentencing.

Defendant Pennington, John Wayne DO8B 6/29/1959 SexE Male [Total Number 2
= [Last, First, MI] Female | of Counts
_ Rﬁ & Ethnicity V| White Black E Asian ] Native American
_| Pacific Islander Other Unknown Hispanic
@) Supervision Status at Time of Offense NONE
B Judge LEON JOHNSON File Stamp
-
Prosecuting Attorney/Deputy Ben Barham
Defendant's Attorney ~ LOU MARCZUK H Private Public Defender
Appointed [_] Pro Se
»l Change of Venue [ Yes No
If Yes, from:

[#/] Pursuantto A.CA. 16-93-301 et seq, or  [] this Court, without making a finding of guilt or entering
a judgement of guilt and with the consent of the Defendant defers further praceedings and places the Defendant on probation.

There being no legal cause shown by the Defendant, as requested, why Judgement should not be pronounced, a Judgement:

[[] is hereby entered against the Defendant on each charge enumerated, fines levied, and court costs assessed. Defendant was advised of the
conditions of the sentence and/or placement on probation and understands the consequences of violating those conditions, The Court retains
Jurisdiction during the period of probatlon/suspension and may change or set aslde the conditions of prabation/suspension for violatians or
failure to satisfv Denartment of Communitv Correction (D.C.C.) rules and regulations.

o
Lo
i)
QE).
)
g

(O of conviction Is hereby entered against the Defendant on each charge enumerated, fines levied, and court costs assessed, The Defendantls
sentenced to the Arkansas Department of Correction (A.D.C.) for the term specified on each offense shown below,

Defendant made a voluntary, knowing and intelligent walver of right to counsel., [ Yes No

ACA. #/Name of Offense  5-64-419(b)(1)(A) - PCS SCH. | OR || METH/COCAINE Caseff 2017-0284

AC.A. 1 Orlg. Charge I_ | Offensewas [_INolle Prossed  [-]Dismissed Cacquitted

Offense Date 9/20/2016 | Appeal from District Court ] Yes No | Probation/sIS Revocation ~ [] Yes [ No

Criminal History Seriousness 3 Fel ial Offense Classification
S o |perie Offenseis (4 Felony [ Misd. [J violation Gy Da Ll Ce B Cu

Presumptive Sentence () prison Sentence of 0 months Community Corrections Center Alternative Sanction

Number of Counts B Defendant OJ Attempted [ Solicited ~ [J Conspired to Commit the Offense

Defendant Sentence If probation or §IS accompanied by period of confinement, state time: days mths
- (J Aoc [ sud Trans [ cnty Jail
Imposed 0 months
Probation " 36 months Enhancement(s) is to run [ concurrent  [] Consecutive

SIS 0 months Defendant was sentenced as a habitual offender, pursuant to A.C.A. 5-4-501, subsection
Other (O uife [J twop (] peath O@ Owp O O

Victim Information ﬂ N/A Age Sex |[.| Male Race & Ethnicity White [] Black [ Asian Native American
[Multiple Victims Yes[¥] No) Female | ] Pacific Islander Other Unknown Hispanic

Defendant voluntarily, intelligently and Defendant 16-93-301 et seq.
knowingly entered a was sentenced pursuant to (] other

negotiated plea of guilty [J entered a plea and was sentenced by a jury.

L] nolo contendere [ was found guilty by the court & sentenced by O court [ jury

[ plea directly to the court of B guilty (2] was found guilty at a Jury trial & sentenced by 0 court [ jury

nolo cantendere ] was found guilty of lesser offense by 0 court [ jury

Sentence is a Departure Sentence Departure L] burational [ Dispositional [J Both
[ ves No [ n/a If Durational, state how many months above/below the Presumptive Sentence 0

Sentence was enhanced months, pursuant to A.C.A.

Tale

IVI0S]

Departure Reason Mitigating # or Aggravating # (For Agg 116, Mit 110 or departure from guidelines, explain)

Sentence will run [ consecutive [] Concurrent to Offense f# 2 or to Case ##

ADE EXHIBIT 2
Page 1 of 4



A8ulelbuls]

Defendant's Full Name:

Pennington, John Wayne

A.C.A. # [/ Name of Offense

A.C.A. #Orig. Charge

5-64-443(a){2) - DRUG PARAPHERNALIA

Case # 2017-0284

I_‘ Offensewas  [Nolle Prossed  (IDismissed (] Acquitted

Offense Date 9/20/2016 | Appeal from District Court L1 ves No I Probation/SIS Revocation [ Yes No
Criminal History o | Serlousness 3 | Off : ; : Offense Classification

enseis fFelony [J Misd. [ violation
Score Level 4 Ay Oa0es0cMo(Ju
Presumptive Sentence (3 prison Sentence of 0 months Community Corrections Center Alternative Sanction
Number of Counts 1 Defendant

[ attempted [ solicited

[ Conspired to Commit the Offense

Defendant Sentence

3 apc [ Jud Trans (] Cnty Jait

If probation or SIS accompanled by period of confinement, state time:

days mths

Sentence was enhanced

months, pursuant to A.C.A.

Imposed 0 months
Probation 36 months Enhancement(s) is to run [J Concurrent [ Consecutive
SIS 0 months Defendant was sentenced as a habitual offender, pursuant to A.C.A. 5-4-501, subsection
other [ tife [ twop [ Death Oy Om Ow O
Victim Information N/A Age Sex Mala Race & Ethnicity White [[] Black [2] Aslan Native Amerlcan
[Multiple Victims [ Yes(v] No) Female | [} PacificIslander Other [2] Unknown 1 Hispanic
Defendant voluntarily, Intelligently and Defendant 16-93-301 et seq.
knowingly entereda [#] was sentenced pursuant to [ other
negotiated plea of guilty [[] entered a plea and was sentenced by alury.
] nolo contendere [T] was found gullty by the court & sentenced by 0 court £ Jury
[ plea directly to the court of guilty [ was found guilty at a jury trial & sentenced by O court L jury
nolo contendere [ was found guilty of lesser offense by [0 court [ Jury

Sentence Is 2 Departure

Sentence Departure

(] burational (] pispositional (] Both

[ ves Mo [ n/A

If Durational, state how many months above/below the Presumptive Sentence

Departure Reason  Miti

gating # or Aggravating #

{For Agg #16, Mit #10 or departure from guidelines, explain)

Sentence will run

[] consecutive

Concurrent

to Offense #

1

orto Case ff

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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Defendant's Full Name:

Pennington, John Wayne

Sex Offenses
Defendant has been adjudicated guilty of an offense requiring sex offender

registration and must complete the Sex Offender Registration Form.
] Yes No

Domestic Violence Offenses
Defendant has been adjudicated guilty of a

domestic-violence related offense.
[ ves No

Defendant has committed an aggravated sex offense as defined in A.C.A. 12-12-903
[ Yes No

Defendant Is alleged to be a sexually violent predator and is ordered to undergo an evaluation
at a facility designated by A.D.C. pursuant to A.C.A. 12-12-918,
[ ves No

Defendant was originally charged with a
domestic-violence related offense.

3 ves No
If Yes, state the A.C.A. # of the Offense

Defendant has been adjudicated guilty of an offense requiring registration and has previously
been adjudicated guilty of a prior sex offense under a separate case number. Ifyes, list prior
case numbers,

[ ves No  Case Numberls)

If Yes to either question, identify the
relationship of the victim to the Defendant.

DNA Sample / Qualifying Offenses
i Defendant has been adjudicated guilty of a qualifying offense or repeat offense as defined in
A.C.A. 12-12-1103, Yes [ No

il Defendant is ordered to have a DNA sample drawn at
[Jap.cc facility [JtheAD.C. (4 Other PROBATION

Drug Crime
Defendant has been adjudicated guilty of a drug
crime as defined in A.C.A, 12-17-101,

Yes [ No

Court Costs YES Restitution
Fines $1,000,00 Payable to [If multiple beneficiaries, give names and payment priority]

&)l Booking/Admin Fees ($20) $20.00

=j| Drug Crime Assessment Fee ($125) $125.00

f" DNA Sample Fee ($250) $250.00 Terms (] Due Immediately

o [J Installments of:
Mandatory Sex Offender Fee ($250)

"4l Public Defender User Fee ($25) $100.00 [ payments must be made within days of release from A.D.C,

O Upon release from confinement, Defendant must return to court to
i Public Defender Attorney Fee establish payment of restitution,
. Other {explain below) [] Restitution Is jolnt and several with co-defendant(s) who was found
plat guilty. List name(s) and case number(s).

Defendant was convicted of a target offense(s) and Is sentenced pursuant to provisions of the Community Extended Juvenile
Punishment Act. Yes [ No Jurisdiction Applied
The Court hereby orders a judicial transfer to the Department of Community Correction, [ Yes No
Pursuant to Community Punishment Act, the defendant shall be eligible to have his/her records sealed, Mves[(Ino | [ ves [¥] Mo

< JAIL TIME CREDIT TOTAL TIME TO BE SERVED FOR ALL OFFENSES Death Penalty If Yes, State Execution Date

5 Indays: 69 Inmonths: 0 [ ufe [J Lwop [ Yes [ No

- DEFENDANT IS ASSIGNED TO: (J anc [:] Cccc (1 counTy JAIL PROBATION O sis [] speCIAL CONDITIONS

= Conditions of disposition or probation are attached. [ ves (7] no [[] Defendant has praviously failed

. a drug court program

=3 A copy of the Pre-sentence investigation on sentencing information is attached Yes No

# A copy of the Prosecutor's Short Report is attached Yes No
DEFENDANT WAS INFORMED OF APPELLATE RIGHTS [ ves [no Appeal Bond $

The County Sheriffis hereby ordered to:  [[] transport the defendant to county jail

[] take custody for referral toccc [ transport to ADC

Defendant shall report to DCC probation officer for report date to CCC (] Yes No
wil Prosecuting Attarney/Deputy Date: 8}}’”7
Signature: ﬂu ﬁﬂm Print Name: BenBarham
4 . [
Circuit Judge Date:
¥ Signature: Print Name: LEON JOHNSON
Additional Info

SUSPENDED.

ACT 346 GRANTED OVER STATE'S OBJIECTION. DEFENDANT MUST SUBMIT TO DRUG SCREENS; COMPLETE DRUG TREATMENT; DRIVER'S LICENSE

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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Arkansas Judiciary

Case Title: STATE V JOHN WAYNE PENNINGTON

Case Number: 60CR-17-284

Type: SENTENCING ORDER
So Ordered
- oy S
D CES

Electronically signed by TABLEE on 2017-03-G2 15:08:50 paged4 of4
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Arkansas Department of Educatlon :

Trunsforming Avkamsas to lecd the nasion [ stitdlentfoct secleducition

AELS CID— _

07/2012018

PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL

John W, Pennington

- :VIA FIRST CLASS AND CERTIFIED MAIL

Re: Criminal Background Check
‘Dear Mr. Pennington:

‘The Arkansas Department of B ducahon has reviewed your background checks rcquucd under
Ark. Code Ann, § 6-17-410 and § 6-17-411 as a condition of your hcensuw or employment w1th :

~an educahoml entity,

Your background check revealed the disqualifying off§11s<_: identified below,

Date: = 09/20/2016 28

Offensc: POSSESS CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE SCHED I I (F)
Offense: POSSESS DRUG PARAPIIERNALIA METH COCAINE (F)
Agency: NORTH LITTLE ROCK POLICE

‘Therefore, the Department will rccommend that the State Board of Education deny your
cligibility for licensure and employment in a local education agency or school district.

You have the right to challenge or complete the accuracy of the information in the record. .
You must contact this office within fourteen (14) days of the date of this letter if you intend to
challenge a record, or wish to provide this office with additional information about llu.
dwpoqluon of the chsquahfymg offense(s).

Tailure to contact us or provide this information within fourteen (14) days of the date of this
letter may resultin duml of your licensure and (IIS(]ll'ﬂl[V you for cmployment in an cducatmnal
entity.

Ynu are entitled to a hearing in front of the State Board of Education ug.nduu, duudl of
your license, Ark. Code Ann, § 6-17-410(f) authorizes the State Board to grant waivers of the -
licensure cligibility provisions of § 6-17-410(c) upon request of an affected applicant for

ADE EXHIBIT 3
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8/9/2018

. 'lxccnsurc 10 request a hearing for a waiver of the dlsquahfymg offense, you must submit: your .-

written request to this office, by ma11 or by email, within thirty (30) dgx_ of the datc of thls
lettcr

State Board of Educatlon meetings occur once a month and are avallahle to the puhhc through

- live vxdeo-streammg A request to be placed-on the agenda must be received not less than three- -
" weeks before the meeting date. The Board meets in the Auditorium of the Arkansas. Dcpartment

of Education —~Arch Ford Education Building, Four Capitol Mall, Little Rock. Meeting dates -

may be found at: http //www arkansased.or events/event cate ones/statc-board-of-educano

The clrcumstanws that the State Board may consxder includes, but is not hmlted to ' .'

. The age at which the crime or incident was committed

The circumstances surrounding the criine or incident ’

The length of time sincc the crime or incident

Subsequent work history

Employment references

Character references '

Other evidence demonstratmg that the applicant does not pose a threat to the health or
safety of school chlldrcn or school personnel

“If you request.a heanng, you w:ll be asked to provide o this ofﬁce a wntten statement and any
. supporting documents that at a minimum address those considerations, mcludmg (he names and

phone numbers of persons who may verify i mformatton contamed in your statement or .
documentation. :

You may obtam information concerning the disqualifying offense or schedulc a hcarmg to
request a waiver from the State Board of Education by contacting Simoné Blagg, Arkansas

- Deparlment of Education, Four Capitol Mall, thtle Rock, AR 72201, (501) 682- 572‘) or by

emall af; 'mone B]agg@’lrkansas gov.

. SIIILCIC[}', '

. Is/ Simonc"B!agg

Simoné Blagg, Attomey
Educator Fifecuveness & Licensure

Enclosures: How to Obtain Further Information or Correct a Record
Noncriminal Justice Applicant’s Privacy Rights
8 CFR § 16.34-
Requesting a Waiver

cc: Cheryl Reinbart; Dircctor of Educator Licensure

ADE EXHIBIT 3
Page 2 of 2
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Tazlor Dugan (ADE)

From: John Pennington <JPenningto
Sent: Tuesday, October 23, 2018 4:41 PM
To: Taylor Dugan (ADE)

Subject: Re: Follow Up

Hi Mr Dugan,

Sorry for not contacting you sooner but I am currently in the Baptist Hospital following back surgery.
Postponing my hearing until January would be a Godsend as [ am recovering from a spinal fusion and it is quite
a daunting task. 1 will contact your office this week to make arrangements. Thank you again for your patience
and help in this matter.

Sincerely

John W. Pennington

From: Taylor Dugan {ADE) <Taylor.Dugan®@arkansas.gov>
Sent: Tuesday, October 16, 2018 3:40:03 PM

To: John Pennington

Subject: Follow Up

Mr. Pennington,

Good afternoon! | tried calling but the line was busy. | was seeing if you were wanting to have your hearing in November
or January for the waiver on your teaching license. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Have a great day,
Taylor Dugan

Taylor Dugan

Attorney

Arkansas Department of Education
Four Capitol Mall, 301-A

Little Rock, AR 72201

(501) 682-1958

ADE EXHIBIT 4
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Arkansas Department of Education

Transforming Arkansas to lead the neation in student-focused echcation

e eta—

December 3, 2018

PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL

John Pennington

VIA FIRST-CLASS & CERTIFIED MAIL

RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED NO.: _

RE:  John Pennington - Revocation Hearing

Dear Mr. Pennington:

A hearing will be held on January 10th, 2018 to determine whether your license will be revoked
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(c). The State Board meets at 10:00 a.m. in the
Auditorium of the Arkansas Department of Education — Avch Ford Education Building,
Four Capitol Mall, in Little Rock. The time at which agenda items are heard is within the
State Board’s discretion, therefore I cannot provide a specific time. However, you will be able to
view the agenda on the ADLE website once it is published.

[f you have any questions, please feel free to contact Mr. Taylor Dugan at (501) 682-1958, or
by email at Taylor.Duganfarkansas.gov,

Sincerely,
/s/ Taylor Dugan

Taylor Dugan, Attorney

Legal Services

ADE EXHIBIT 5

Four Capitol Mall Box 20, Little Rock, AR 72201
(301) 682-5729 main office; (301) 682-4898 fux



Arkansas Code of 1987 Annotated Official Edition
© 2018 by the State of Arkansas All rights reserved.

**Current through all laws of the 2017 Regular Session and 2017 First Extraordinary
Session, including changes and corrections by the Arkansas Code Revision
Commission.***

Title 6 Education
Subtitle 2. Elementary And Secondary Education Generally
Chapter 17 Personnel
Subchapter 4-- Licensure Generally

A.C.A.§6-17-410

A.C.A §6-17-410 (Lexis Advance through all laws of the 2017 Reqular Session and 2017 First

Extraordlinary Session, Including changes and_cgrrections by the Arkansas Code Revislon
Cominission)

a6 17-4105Teacherhpensure - Apphcatlon renewal apphcatlon revocatson sus;pensmn,)
{and probation finitions.)

v rd shalt not |ssue a flrst-t:me llcense nor renew an exlstmg Ilcense and)
shall revoke‘any exustmg tlcense not up for réneval of any person who has & true reportl
in the ‘Child: Maltreatment Central Reglstry or has pled gutlty or. nolo contendere to or}
‘has' been found gulity of any of the follow:ng offenses by any. court in the State oft

Arkansas of of any similar offense by a courtin another. state or of any srmllar offense,
by a federal court y

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

(2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and murder in the
second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;

(3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;

(4) Batiery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201 and battery in the
second degree as prohibited in § 5-13-202;

(5) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;

(6) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-301;

ADE EXHIBIT 6
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(7) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;
(8) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

(9) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third degree, and fourth
degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 -- 5-14-127:

(10) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

(11) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in visual or print
media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual conduct, employing or
consenting to the use of a child in a sexual performance, or producing, directing,
or promoting a sexual performarnice by a child as prohibited in §8§ 5-27-303, 5-27-
305, 5-27-402, and 5-27-403;

(12) Distribution to minors. as prohibited in § 5-64-406;

(@

(14) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;

(15) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-
27-205;

(16) Pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually explicit
conduct involving a child as prohibited by § 5-27-304;

(17) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-11-103;
(18) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-106:

(19) Permitting abuse of a child as prohibited in § 5-27-221(a);

(20) Negligent homicide as prohibited by § 5-10-1 05(a);

(21) Assault in the first degree as prohivbited by § 5-13-205;

(22) Coercion as prohibited by § 5-13-208;

(23) Public sexualindecency as prohibited by § 5-14-111:

(24) Indecent exposure as prohibited by § 5-14-112;

ADE EXHIBIT 6
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(25) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the second degree as prohibited by §
5-27-206;

(26) Criminal attempt, criminal solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in
§§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed
in this subsection;

(27) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603:

(28) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-
605;

(29) Felony theft as prohibited in §§ 5-36-103 -- 5-36-106 and 5-36-202:
(30) Robbery as prohibited by §§ 5-12-102 and 5-12-103:
(31) Breaking or entering as prohibited by § 5-39-202;

(32) Burglary as prohibited by § 5-39-201 and aggravated residential hurglary as
prohibited by § 5-39-204;

(33) Forgery as prohibited by § 5-37-201;

(34) Video voyeurism as prohibited by § 5-16-101;

(35) Domestic battering in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-26-303;
(36) Domestic battering in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-26-304;
(37) Felony violation of an order of protection as prohibited by § 5-53-134;

(38) Prostitution as prohibited by § 5-70-102;

(39) Sexual solicitation as prohibited by § 5-70-103;

(40) Promoting prostitution in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-70-104;

(41) Promoting prostitution in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-’(0—105;
(42) Stalking as prohibited by § 5-71-229;

(43) Failure to notify by a mandated reporter in the first degree as prohibited by

§ 12-18-201;

ADE EXHIBIT 6
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(44) Any felony not listed in this subsection and involving physical or sexual
injury, mistreatment, or abuse against anather;

(45) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an employee of a
correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony;

(46) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; and

(47) Failure to comply with the registration and reporting requirements of § 12-
12-904.

ADE EXHIBIT 6
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A-6: JOSHUA CAMERON
EXHIBIT ONE (1)

SHARON K. HILL, CCR
(501) 680-0888




REVOCATION HEARING FOR JOSHUA CAMERON

EXHIBIT LIST

EXHIBITS DESCRIPTION OF DPOCUMENTS
ADE — 1 Educator’s License, valid to 12/31/2017

ADE -2 | Notice of Disqualifying Offense, dated 7/17/2018
ADE -3 | Notice of Hearing, dated 12/3/2018

ADE -4 | Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-17-410 (2017)

PENGAD 800-631-5989
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|

Ale



ARKANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

EDUCATOR'S LICENSE
JOSHUA WAYNE CAMERON BACHELORS
CODE AREA TYPE GRADE LEVEL VALIDFROM  VALIDTO
166 Eng Lang Arls Standard 7-12 1172013 123172017
= Invelld Below this [Ina -
'
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) Arkansas Department of Education

Treunyforming Arkanss to lead the nation in student-focused education

AELS CID: I

July 17, 2018

PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL

Joshua Cameron

BY FIRST CLASS & CERTIFIED MAIL

RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED NoO.: [

RE: Child Maltreatment Central Registry; Licensure Action Case No. LA 18-017

Dear Mr. Cameron:

The Arkansas Department of Education has received information that a finding of a true report
against you on the Child Maltreatment Central Registry.

Therefore, the Department will recommend that the State Board of Education deny your
cligibility for licensure and employment in an Arkansas education agency or school district.

You are entitled to a hearing in front of the State Board of Education regarding denial of
your license. Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(f) authorizes the State Board to grant waivers of the
licensure eligibility provisions of § 6-17-410(c) upon request of an affected applicant for

licensure. To request a hearing for a waiver of the disqualifying offense, you must submit your

written request to this office, by mail or by email, within thirty (30) days of the date of this
lefter.

State Board of Education meetings occur once a month and are available to the public through
live video-streaming. A request to be placed on the agenda must be received not less than three
weeks before the meeting date. The Board meets in the Auditorium of the Arkansas Department
of Education —Arch Ford Education Building, Four Capitol Mall, Little Rock. Meeting dates
may be found at: http://www.arkansased.org/events/event categories/state-board-ol-education

The circumstances that the State Board may consider includes, but is not limited to:

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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* The age at which the crime or incident was committed

* The circumstances surrounding the crime or incident

* The length of time since the crime or incident

= Subsequent work history

» Employment references

®  Character references

= Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does not pose a threat to the health or
safety of school children or school personnel.

If you request a hearing, you will be asked to provide to this office a written statement and any
supporting documents that at a minimum address those considerations, including the names and
phone numbers of persons who may verify information contained in your statement or
documentation. See the enclosure for more instructions.

If you wish to voluntarily surrender your Arkansas educator’s license you may do so by
completing the attached document titled, Consent to the Permanent Revocation of Arkansas
Educator’s License, and returning it to our office.

You may obtain information concerning the disqualifying offense or schedule a hearing to
request a waiver from the State Board of Education by contacting Simoné Blagg, Arkansas
Department of Education, Four Capitol Mall, Little Rock, AR 72201, (501) 682-5729; or by

email at: Simone.Blagg@Arkansas.gov.

Sincerely,
/sf Simoné Blagg

Simoné Blagg, Attorney
Educator Effectiveness & Licensure

Enclosures:  How to Obtain Further Information or Cotrect a Record
Requesting a Waiver
Consent to the Permanent Revocation of Arkansas Educator’s License

cc:  Cheryl Reinhart, Director of Educator Licensure
Clara Toney, Educator Licensure

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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HOW TO OBTAIN FURTHER INFORMATION OR CORRECT A RECORD

S R S e e XN Vo ey

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410
Provides that the Department of Education shall not issue a first-time license nor renew
an existing license and shall revoke any existing license not up for renewal of any
person who has a true report in the Child Maltreatment Central Registry or has pled
guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found guilty of any of [certain listed] offenses,
including offenses which have been expunged or pardoned.

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-411
Requires a background check for initial employment with an entity that is identified by
the Department of Education as a local education agency, except that for a public
school operated by a school district the school district is the educational entity

To challenge a recoxrd with the Federal Burcau To challenge a record with the

of Investigation contact: Arkansas State Police contact:
FBI1 CJIS Division Arkansas State Police Identification
Attention: Criminal History Analysis Team 1 Bureau

1000 Custer Hollow Road 1 State Police Plaza Drive
Clarksburg, WV 26306 Little Rock, AR 72209

(or go to www.fbi.gov, and enter in the seatch box
Challenge of a Criminal History Summary)

For Child Maltreatment Central Registry name removal or other DHS information,
contact the Department of Human Services, Child Maltreatment Central Registry:

Dennis Robins FForms and instructions are available on the DHS website:
Manager, Central Registry httg://humanscrviccs.arkansas.gov/dcfs/l’ages/default.asgx
501-682-0405 CLICK ON DCFS FORMS in the left side menu to find these

dennis.robins@arkansas.gov ~ forms:
CFS-0328-A Request for Name Removal From the Central
Registry
CFS-0328-A Instructions

ADE EXHIBIT 2
Page 3 of 5
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You have been notified that, as a result of the background check reviewed by the Arkansas
Department of Education, you are disqualified for licensure and for employment with a charter
school, school district, or education service cooperative, and that you are entitled to request a waiver

of that disqualification from the State Board of Education. Below are the steps to follow to seek a
waiver,

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410
Provides that the Department of Education shall not issue a first-time license nor renew
an existing license and shall revoke any existing license not up for renewal of any person

who has a true report In the Child Maltreatment Central Registry or has pled gullty or
nolo contendere to or has been found guilty of any of [certain listed) offenses, including
offenses which have been expunged or pardoned,

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-411,
Requires a background check for initial employment with a charter school,
school district, or education service cooperative.

I S S S T A A T I AT YT

1 Requesta Hearin

R R R e e N o mre s er ey

To request a hearing for a waiver of the disqualifying offense, you must submit your written request

to the Department by mail, fax, or email, within thirty (30) days of the date you are notified of the
disqualification,

You may, but are not required to b, represented by an attorney at any stage of this process.

2 Provide Documentation

The Department will confirm your request for a waiver and ask you to provide a written statement
and any supporting documents that at a minimum address the circumstances that the Board will
consider (sec STEP 3), including the names and phone numbers of persons who may verify
information contained in your statement or decumentation. You must also provide a signed and
notarized form providing authorization for the release of criminal records from coutts and law
enforcement. Ifyour documentation is received less than six (6) weeks before the scheduled State

Board meeting the matter may be postponed until after all documentation is received and reviewed
by the Department.

3 Accept or Reject the Department’s Recommendation

Alfter reviewing the documentation received from you or from other agencics, the Department will
advise you of its decision to:

®  Recommend a waiver to the State Board, including any conditions for licensure, such as:

ADE EXHIBIT 2
Page 4 of 5



Probation or suspension for a specific period of time;
Counseling, rehabilitation, or training;
Background check at end of probation or suspension;
No other disqualifying offenses or ethics violations during the probation or
suspension period,;

Recommend that the State Board not issue, not renew, or revoke the license as applicable; or
® Decline to make a recommendation.

O 00 O0

You will be given the opportunity to accept or reject the recommendation.

o Ifyou accept the recommendation, the matter will be placed on the State Board’s consent
agenda. The consent agenda is voted on at that public meeting, and therefore, any documents
presented to the State Board are public. If the matter is submitted on the consent agenda, you
do not have to appear at the meeling. However, sometimes the State Board members have
questions, and you may want to be there to respond to those questions. The State Board has
the final decision and may accept a recommendation on the consent agenda or reject the
recommendation and afford the educator the opportunity for a hearing at a later date.

° Ifyou reject the recommendation, you will proceed to a hearing,

4 state Board Hearing

If you request a hearing, you should appear at the meeting and be prepared to present your case and
answer questions from the State Board members. [f you request a hearing and do not appear, the
State Board may decide the matter without you being present. Hearings are conducted at a public
meeting of the State Board that is videoed by live streaming and archived. All documents provided
to the State Board are public record. You should consult the Rules Governing Background Checks
and Licensure Revocation for information on the hearing process (Section 8). The rules are online at
http://www.arkansased.org/ under Rules — Current.

The circumstances that the State Board may consider includes, but is not limited to:

® The age at which the crime or incident was committed
= The circumstances surrounding the crime or incident
" The length of time since the crime or incident

" Subsequent work history

»  Employment references

@ Character references

®  Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does not pose a threat to the health or safety
of school children or school personnel.

The State Board typically makes a decision at the time of the State Board meeting at which the
consent agenda or hearing is considered.

ADE EXHIBIT 2
Page 5 of 5



o\&)) Arkansas Department of Education

Transforming Aifeansas 10 lead the nation in student-focused ecucation
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AELS cm:__-

December 3, 2018

PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL

Joshua Cameron

VIA FIRST-CLASS & CERTIFIED MAIL
RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED NO.:

RE:  Joshua Cameron - Revocation Hearing
Dear Mr. Cameron;

A hearing will be held on January 10th, 2018 to determine whether your license will be revoked
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(c). The State Board meets at 10:00 a.m. in the
Auditorium of the Avkansas Department of Education — Areh Ford Education Building,
Four Capitol Mall, in Little Rock. The time at which agenda items are heard is within the
State Board’s discretion, therefore I cannot provide a specific time. However, you will be able to

view the agenda on the ADI website once it is published.

[F'you have any questions, please [eel frece 1o contact Mr. Taylor Dugan at (501) 682-1938. or
by email at Taylor.Dugan@arkansas. gov,

Sincerely,
/s/ Taylor Dugan

Taylor Dugan. Attorney
legal Services

ADE EXHIBIT 3
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Arkansas Code of 1987 Annotated Official Edition
© 2018 by the State of Arkansas Al rights reserved.

***Current through all laws of the 2017 Regular Session and 2017 First Extraordinary
Session, including changes and corrections by the Arkansas Code Revision
Commission.***

Title 6 Education
Subtitle 2. Elementary And Secondary Education Generally
Chapter 17 Personnel
Subchapter 4-- Licensure Generally

A.C.A.§6-17-410

6-17+ oxl nece thro | laws of the ular

§6 17-410 Teacher Ilcensure\-- Application, renewal application, revocation, suspension,
and probatlon - Definitions.

(c).The state board shall notlissue a first-time license nor{fenew an existing licensejand
shall revoke any existing license not up for renewal, of any. person who ha},,,  true report!
‘in the: Chlld Maltreatment Central Reglstry or has pled guilty or nolo contendere to or
has been found guilty of any of the following offenses by any court in the State of
Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in another state or of any similar offense

by a federal court:

ADE EXHIBIT 4
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EXHIBIT ONE (1)

SHARON K. HILL, CCR
(501) 680-0888




WAIVER HEARING FOR MARK SMITH
EXHIBIT LIST

EXHIBITS DESCRIPTION OF DOCUMENTS
ADE — | Educator’s License, valid to 12/31/2022
ADE -2 | Amended Sentencing Order, filed 8/28/2018
ADE -3 | Notice of Disqualifying Oftfense, dated 9/26/2018 |
ADE -4 | Notice of Hearing, dated 12/03/2018
ADE -5 | Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-17-410 (2017)

PENGAD 800-831-6969

EXHIBIT

A1



ARKANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

1
EDUCATOR'S LICENSE
MARK AARGON SMITH BACHELORS

CODE AREA TYPE QRADE LEVEL VALIDFROM  VALIDTO
003 Spanish Standard PK-8 1112018 12/31/2022
004 Spanish Standard 7-12 1112018 12/31/2022
081 Health Education Standard 7-12 11112018 123112022
083 Physleal Education Standard K-12 11112018 12/31/2022
087 Coaching Standerd 7-12 11/2018 12/31/2022
114 Speech Standerd 7-12 11112018 12/131/2022
167 Saclal Studles Standard 7-12 11/2018 1213112022
21 Coaching Slandard K-12 11/2018 1213112022
307 ESL Slandard PK-8 11/2018 12/31/2022
308 ESL Standard 7-12 1112018 12/31/2022

Q@Q«w\ ; Mo‘-\ (hote 3( Wmf‘

COMM

SSIONER cUznuc/m@" =

DIREJTOR - EDUCATOR LICENSURE
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2018-08-23 09:29 Barham Law Office PA 4799632209 >>  pacorded in th
| Court Drdars
SENTENCING ORDER  Wmi) oot

Circuit Dlerk

INTHE CIRCUIT COURT OF SOBAN. oy, ARKANSps, Fl3ine Rotert o it

an founty, A
18TH__ JUDICIAL DISTRICT FIRST DIVISION Logan

|

|
on AUGUSTI17, 2018 the Defendant appearcd before te Court, was advised of the nature
of the chargels), of Constitutionsl and legal rights, of the cffoct of a guilty plea vpon these rights, and
of the vight t0 make a statement before santencing.

Defendant ! boB SexBllMale | Total Numbe
Last. Fiest M SMITH, MARK, AARON 05291978 | Fitsmste. | ofcomir
:m : R Race & Ethaicty B White [T Black [T Asion [ Native Americanl] Paclie Lalandes
. I : i

w8 . . (] unknown [ Qthor {] Hispanic
Supervislonl$tatus at Time of Offense

| offender

Judge jerRy DON RAMEY Fle @01 590

! Recarded in the 4bove

{[Pr

| oot b e R vLeR BARHAM Judanents % Fage

| Defendant’s Atwrmey " Merivite UJPublicDefender|  L3~28-2015 309110

: ERNIE WITT (I Prose [ Appolriced tlaing Roberiser-ircuit Clebk

| Change of Verue[ ] Ves [l No - Lozan County. 3% Southern Dikt
: Ifyes, from:
— ;

D Pur.\:uar:at to A.C.A.I:]§§15-93-301 ctseq, wm LE) thls Court, without making a finding of gulle o¢

entaring a Judgment of gullt and with the consent of the Dofondant defors further praceedings and places the Defendant on probation,
here béing noflegal cause shown by the Defendant, as requested, why judgment should nat ba pronounced, a Judgment:
fs hereby entared against the Defendant on each charge enumerated, fings levied, and court ¢osts assessed, Dofendant was advised of the
D condl:lo’it\s ofthe sentance andfor placement on probation and undersrnds the censequences of vialating these condidans, The Court
- retalng Jurisdiction durlng the perlod ol probatlon/suspeaslon and may change ar sct aslde the condltions of probation/suspenslan for
violatlons ar fallyre to satisty Department of Communlty Correctlan (0,6,C) rules and regulations.

m " of eonvicrion Is hereby entered agalnstthe Dofendant of cach charge cnumerated, fines leviod, and court costs assessed. The Defendant is

sentenced to the Arkansas Deparmment of Correction (A.D.C.) for the term specifled on cach offerse shown below, N
efendant made a voluntary, knowlng, and Intelllgent walver of the rightto counsal, | [¥es ﬁ No
. 1 ) " k]
: N:r:n 3:;35&“;"" 5-27-602 Possessing Sexually Explicit Conduct Involving a Child Caso # 42B0R-17-107
4 ACAH of Orlginal - ATN Offenso was [[[Nolle Prossed |.) Disilssed (] Acquitted

d wo  5-27-602
Charge Oﬂcnfe Appeal from District Court  [Yes @ Ne¢ | Probation/SIs Revocations | Jyes @ No
Offense Dare08-30-2017 | Olense ks [ Felony (] Misd. (IViol. | Offenso Classifleation (Y (JAD e @ c o Du
Number l; Celmtnal History Scriousness Defendant ] Astompted [ Sollcieed
of Counts; 1 t Scorg 0 Lovel 4 [ Conspired to commit the offense
]

tive Sentence [ Prison Sentenct of . to ~.months (] Communlzy Correetions Center ] Aleernative Sanction
Defendant Sentence” (see Page 2) d "
(raposed FIADC [T jud. Tran. Cleounty Jal [fprobation orS1S accompanled by perlod of confinernent, stote Bines ays o months,

48 . e Sentenée was enhanced months, pursuant te

i ACASS, ... &
Probatlon o MONLIS Brhanceruent(s) Isto run: | [Concurrent] . | Cansocutive,
SIS 72 i months Defendant was seatenced ay o habiveal offender, pursuant to ACA, §8+4-501, subsoction
Ocher CALife (1) twor [ Death L e 0 9 O gd
Victim Infok (S¢e page Age Sex (] Mala Race & Ethnlclty [1White [ Biack ) Astan [] Natve Ameriean
Multlple Victims e Female [l pacificlstander [ other (7] Unknown [J Hispanic
{ Defendant:

EI? :tf:‘f: : ‘ VOIUII\mrin, (ntelligently, and Inawlagly t] was Sentenced pursuant to Ej§§16‘93~34}1 etseq, or Dothcr §§—-..__....~.._ =
: ! d 2 plea and was sentenced by a Jury,

BInegotiared pida of Hlguitty or [CInolo contendere. eaterc ‘

Oplea directly ¢ the court of lguilty or [nolo was found gullty by the court & sentenced by

E court Djury.

[) was found guilty ata fury trial & sentenced by [] court Ly,
il (. was found ottty of lesser Includod offense by [ court [jury.
ntence s aDeparture | Sentonce Departyre [s | Durationalor] | Dispasitional,
AYes L. INo i If duratlonal, state how many months above/below the prasumptive sentence;

Departure Reasoh (See page & forailat of roasons)
Aggravating p 14 &15 ox Mitlgating # «For Agg, #17 or M. 9,
orif departing fbom guldelines, pleasc explaln:_____/ l.i_ra

Sentence will run: [} Gonsecutive [ Concurrent
to Offense # 2 or
Case d|

ADE EXHIBIT2 Page1 of4
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Recorded in trz Showe
Gourk drders Zogx & Pass

2018-08-23 09:29 Barham Law Office PA 4799632209 >> 03-28-201% 57 P 34
i Defendant’s Full Name;MARK AARON SMITH
Reasons for Depatture
{Please see complete list of departure criteria found at A.CA, §1690-804)
. Aggravating Mitigating
1. Offender’s condilet manlfested dolfberato crug) to the vietim 1V
during commlssiont of current offomse, v wlmfgmg: gﬂagygn? uesresve ol o provoked the Tocduntor was o
a3 e? gmf ,m::‘:'lﬁc:xtln V'\tlnc'rablc %61 exmms youch advanced 2, Offendor played a minor or passive rale In commisslon of the offense.
3. Offense was mo%or ccanomle offense establishod by ong of the 3. Offender compensated/made 2n effort to compensate for damage or
following criteria: {a) multiple victims/lacldents, {b) monetary toss Injury before detection,
substantally greater than typleal, (¢) degrec of sophistcation ortime, | 4, Offender was lesser participant skowing caution/cGneern for safety or
d) misusc of ndudla duty, or () othor stmilar conduct. well-helng ofvietim,
: 8. Offender ov offender's children acted In response Lo ¢ontinulng
4. Curvent Offonse wag major controlled substanec offense If two or
more of the following are pjrcsc:m {3) Threo or moro soparate | Bhysieal/sexual abuso by viedm,
Gransactions invalvi: sale, transfor or possession with purpase; (b) 6, Policy on multiple offenses In single coursc of conduet In offender's
Amount substandz}ly targer than the statutory mintmums which prior eeiminal history resuhs in seatence which Is excessive for the
define the offense; &:} Offense Involved a high degree of planningor  |-0ffense,
lengthy perlad or boad geographle arca; (d) Offender accupleda high | 7-Offender voluntarily admitted sexaal offonse and soughtand
position [n the drug distribution hierarchy: (¢) Offender misused ﬂ%‘m@mmm detection,
position of trust or stacus or Aductary duty ta facilitate commission; (0) | 8. Offender mada offart to provide assistance in Investigation or
Offender has receivied substantial Incono or resourees from drug prosccution of anathor as Indieated by mation of state (¢an welgh
wafficking, : timeliness ofnssistanco, nature and extent of assistance, and truthfulness,
i completeness, and demonstrable reliabllity of fnfo or testimony).
§, Current offensejis a folony and the offender cmplaycd a firearm
n furtheranen ae flight unless such uso is element ofoffense,
6 Current offenseras sexwdl offensc and pait of pattern with 9, Other
samg or different ilctims under eighteen manifested by multiple .
Incidents overa nged period of time,
7, Pollcy on multigle offonses In a single course of conduct in
offendes’s prior cnqminal history rcsufts lna sentence that s clearly
toa lentent, I
~~ 8. hotfensc was committed In mannor thit exposed risk of tnjury to
others. i
9. Offense was 2 vloicnt or sexual offense committed In victim's zone of
privacy. :
10. Offender attempied to esvar or conceal the offense by Intimidadon
of witngsses. tampesing of evidenco, or mislaading autharitics,
11 Ofgense committied to avold arrest or effecting an escape from
tastody,
12, Olfender lacks gjﬁinlmum Insuranee In a vehleular homiclde,
13, Statwtory minimiim sentenge overrides the presumptive sentence, ADE EXHBIT 2 Page 2 of 4
14. Multlple coneurrent sentences belng entered at this time require a
ligheesentence. |
15. Sentence ls hlghc%r asarosult of other charges belng dropped or
merged, i
16, Sentenea ls oucside the presumptive rangebut G not a departure
due to statutory ovetride or beeause the offender/offense s Ineligible
for 3 Cormunity Correction Center.
17, Other, :
NOTE: i
1
“Defendant Séntcnm. “Imposcd ADC' means incirceration In an Arkansas Department of Carrection facility. “Imposed
Judicial Transfer” means fncarceration in a Department of Community Correction Center. “Imposed County Jail” means
Incarceration ixi a county Jall facillty. Indcate In months the total time the Defendant was sentenced to 3 term of incargeration.
DO NOT lNCLUlI)B TIME FOR SIS,
# Victim Iufo. For more than one victim, please use the “Additional Vietim Information” page to disclose additional victim
demographies, fthere {s no victim, check not applicable,
+ACA.# ofoﬁcnse/Name of Offense & Probation/SIS Revocation, If an offender Is being sentenced 25 a result of a
/-, ravocation of pr:obation or SIS, check the box indicating this is a “Probation/SIS Revocation", and enter the A.CA. number and
name of the offcnse for which the defendant was originally convicted. Do not enter the code protilsgbrg Tvocatl’ggpithe

rauseofthe rev?canm Judsgents Baox 4 Pase
' 85:90  8102i82/80
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1
F:e-:m_fded in the ;'—'c.-c:v;
2018-08-23 09:30 Barham Law Office PA 4799632209 > aeoms SokE fage
e #omxnm/ e VOWEUF“sl),:fendant's Full Name: MARK AARON SMITH =
Name of Offense+ 428CR-17-107
ACA,  of Orlginal ATN

Charged Offense  5-16-101 Offense was [_INolle Prossed [IDismissod (] Acquiteed

Appeal from District Court [_J¥es fi[Ra_| Probatlon/sis Revocation+[_[Yes|ll No

Offense Daté 08-30-2017 | Offense Is [ Fetony [ Misd, [JViol. l Offense Classificatton Dy A s DclMop Ju
Number i Celminal Bistory Serlousness efo I

roJ | Defendant|_JAttempted [ [Sollcired
of Counts: Score 0 Lovel 3 Consplred to commlt the offense
Presumptlvé Sentence [ JPrison Sentonce of ___ to_ monthe L) Community Corrections Centar ] Alternative Sanction
Dcl’cndanm‘_entencc‘ (see Page?) ¥ probation o SIS
trposed FABC [ jud. Tean. [JCounty Jai Tebation or 5k5 accompanied by period of confinement, state time:, days or jnonths,

49! B Sentence was enhanced months, putsuant to
i ACA. 88,

Probatlon 24{ months Enhancement(s) Is to run: []Concurrantl | Consocutive.
Sis ! months Defendant was seatenced nsa habltual offender, puysuant to ACA §5-4-501. subsection
other L_Juire [ Tuwo cath Q000
Vietm Infotti(See page 2) [_[N/A | Age Sex ] Male Race & Ethnlelty [ White [l Black [ Aslan ) Nadve American
[Multiple Yictima Sm No] ] Female O padific tstander O] othor [J Unkaiown L] Hispanlc

Defendant:

(7 was sentenced pursuant to 551693301 ¢t s0q. or [Jother §§

[ entered a plea and was sentenced by a Jury.

18 was found gullty by the court & sentenced by I court [Jjury.
was found gullty at a Jury trial & sentonced by [ court Cyury.

was found gulity of lesser Included offense b

Sentence ls o Departure | Sentence Departure Is ] Durational or (] Dlspositional

@ ves CIneg If durational, state how many months abave/bolow the presumptive sentences

Departove Reason (See puge 2 for alist of reasons)
Aggravating iJ 14415 or Mitlgating

ucfundan!vélunmdly, intelligently, and
knowlngly entered a

Elnegotiated|plea of Mgulity ar [Inolo contendere,
Clplea directly to the court of Cgulty or Cnolo
contendere, }

Seatence will run: [ Consecutive
«For Agg. #17 or Mit. #9, Concurrent

orif dep:mlrig from guldelines, please explain; w Offense ! or

i Casa it

N — -
e aiense/ 5.16.101 VIDEO VOVEURISM _ CASC B paBoRAT107
ACAR olOrlglaal_ | - ATN | Offense was [ENolle Prassed LT Dismissed [] Acquitted
Charged Offense Appeal from Distelet Court | fYes|_[No | Probatlon/SI1S Revocatlont] Jves| | No
2 I

Offense Date! I Oftense Is (7 Petony (T Misd, [Iviol, | Offense Classifteatlon DY ClA e Qo Qu
Number : Criminal History Serlousness ' Defendant [} Attempred [ Sollclted
of Gounts: 10: Score Level (] Conspleed to commit the offense

I
Presumptive Sentence| | Prison Sentence of e 10 _tHONLHS ["lCommunity Correctlons Center [0 Alcernatlve Sanedan
Defendant Sencence® (see Page 2)

| 0 Sl th days ths,
mposed (] AD:C 0 fud. Tran. [lCount Jal | Ifprobatien or SIS accompanted by paried of conflnement, state time: Maysoe, fnon

i Sentenee was enhanced months, pursuant to

R | 1
B : " ACA 8§ e

Probation.__: months Enhancement(s) Is to run: [ Concurrent["] Consecutive,
SIS — months Defendant was sentenced as a habltual offender, pursnant to A.CA. §5-4-501, subsection
Other [ Life i LWOP [ Heath H@OmC @0 @ ]
Victlm Info# (Seepage2) CIN/A | Age Sex () Male Race & Ethnlelyy [ white [ Black (] Astan [] Natlve American
[Multlple Viedims Clyes [ Mol (] Fenale (] pactfie Istander O 0thar (7 Unlmown (] Hispanie

: Defendant:

Defendant voluntarily, Intelligently, and
Imowingly entered a

[Clnegortated piea of [gullty or [Inolo contendere,
[Clplea mmmg to the court of CJguitty or CInole

contendere.

(7] was sentenced pursuant to [1§§16.93-301 et seq., or [Jother §§
[[] entered a plea and was sentenced by a jury.

was found gullty by the court & sentenced by ] court Jjury.
[} was found gully ata Jury trial & sentenced by [l court CJjury.
(L] was found pullty of tesser Included offense by I ] court [Jjury,

Sentence Isa Departare | Sentence Departure Is || Duradonal or [] Dispositional,

[Clves [CINo i 1f durational, state how many manths above/below the presumptlve sentease: _

Departure Reason (See page Z for a st of reasons) sentence will run: [ Consceutive

Apgravating i or Mitlgating # ForAgg. #17orMit. #19, | Concurveat[]

orlf dcpart]ué from guldeliues, please explaln: to Offease # or
| _ s Case # et . A—

] B o)
i Juizments Bosi § Paze

ADE EXHIBIT 2 Page 3 of 4
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Elaine Robarisan~Cirmuit Elgrk

! Defendant’s Full Name;MARK AAR 30 T i

Sex Offenses Domestic Vlolence Offenses

 Defendant has been adjudicated gullty of an offense vequiring sex offender registration and  [Defendant has been adjudicazed gullty of a

j must complete the Sex Offendor Registration Form and pay the Mandatory Sex Offender | domestic-violence related offense and must pay

{Fec 0f$250. | Mllves[] Mo additienal cows costs of $25 under Act 583 of
Defendant hds committed an aggravated scx offense a dafined In AC A §T2-12-903. 2017, es [ENo

Yes [l No
Clves W ! Defendantwas orlginally charged with a domestle-
Defendant Is plleged to be a sexually dangerous person and Is ordered to undergo an Ivialence related offense, ] Yes [l no

evaluation a:{a Facility designated by AD.C. pursuant to ACA, §12-12-918, Ifyes, state the ACA. # of the offense:
D Yes (£ No

Deteadant, who has been adjudicated gullty of an offense requlring reglstration, has boen
adjudicated gullty of'a prior sex offense under a separate ease number | ]Ves [Bna g-ﬁ : c}ljthet!;t};:lensg 0;‘ y l:enﬁfy lhf? relatlons: 'p
IFyes, st prior case numbers: e SRR b eliond e

v
=
Lo
=
B
£
)
(¥
3
(v
0]
e s
(1)

mrrueere

i DNA Sample/Qualifylng Offense Drug Crime
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September 26, 2018

PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL

Mark A. Smith

VIAFIRST CLASS AND CERTIFIED MAIL

RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED NO.: —

Re: Criminal Background Check

Dear Mr. Smith:

Arkansas law provides that the State Board of Education shall not issue, or renew, and shall
revoke the license of any person who pleads guilly or no contest to, or is convicted of certain
enumerated offenses in accordance with Ark. Code Ann, § 6-17-410(c). The Department of
Liclucation has received information that you pled guilty of the following disqualifying offense
pursuant to Ark. Code Anu. § 6-17-410(c):

Date: August 17, 2018
Offense(s):  Possessing Sexually Explicit Conduet Involving a Child
Jurisdiction: Circuit Court of Logan County

Date: August 17, 2018
Offense(s):  Video Voycurism
Jurisdiction: Circuit Court of Logan County

In addition, you are incligible for employment in any public school under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-
17-411. Therefore, the Department will recommend that the State Board of Iiducation revoke
your teaching license.

Youare entilled (o a hearing for a waiver of the disqualification, in [ront of the State Board of
Bducation regarding revocation of your license. Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(f) authorizes the
State Boaid to grani waivers of the licensure eligibility provisions of § 6-17-410(c) upon
request of an affected applicant for licensure. To request a hearing for a waiver of the
disqualilying offense, you must submit your written request to this office, by mail or by email,
within_thirty (30) days of the date of this letter.
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State Board of Education meetings occur once a month and are available to the public through
live video-streaming. A request to be placed on the agenda must be received not less than three
weeks before the meeting date. The Board meets in the Auditorium of the Arkansas Department
of Education — Arch Ford Education Building, Four Capitol Mall, in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Meeting dates may be found at: http://www.arkansased.org/events/event_categories/state-board-

of-education

The circumstances that the State Board may consider include, but are not limited to:

The age at which the crime or incident was committed
The circumstances surrounding the crime or incident
The length of time since the crime or incident
Subsequent work history

Employment references

Character references

Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant docs not pose a threat to the health or
safety of school children or school personnel,

®© 0 © o © o ©°

If you request a hearing, you will be asked to provide a wrilten statement, and any supporting
documents that address those considerations. Examples of pertinent documents include: the
names and phone numbers of persons who may verify information contained in your statement or
~documentation, Alternatively, you may consent to the surrender of your license. (See enclosed
form). The consent to surrender your license would be placed on the State Board’s consent
agenda at the next possible meeting. You may obtain information concerning the disqualifying
offense or schedule a hearing to request a waiver from the State Board of Education by
conlacting the Arkansas Department of Education, Educator Licensure and Effectiveness,
Simoné Blagg, Arkansas Depattent of Education, Four Capitol Mall, Little Rock, AR 72201,

(501) 682-5729; or by cmail at: Simonc.Blage@arkansas.gov.

Sincercly,
/s/ Simoné Blagg

Simoné Blagg, Attorney
Lducator Effectivencss & Licensure

Enclosurcs:  Requesting a Waiver
Consent Form
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r & ARKANSAS
| (=s}) DEPARTMENT
@~/ OF EDUCATION

REQUESTING A WAIVER OF A DISQUALIFYING OFFENSE

You have been notified that, as a result of the background check reviewed by the Arkansas
Department of Education, you are disqualified for licensure and for employment with a charter
school, school district, or education service cooperative, and that you are entitled to request a waiver

of that disqualification from the State Board of Education. Below are the steps to follow to seck a
waiver.

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410
Provides that the Department of Education shall not issue a first-time license nor renew
an existing license and shall revoke any existing license not up for renewal of any person
who has a true report In the Child Maltreatment Central Registry or has pled guilty or
nolo contendere to or has been found guilty of any of [certain listed) offenses, including
offenses which have been expunged or pardoned.

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-411
Requires a background check for initial employment with a charter school,
school district, or education service cooperative.

N2 LYV IS P AR NI VI AL b9 M s Y ¥ s S\ Le W E0

1 equest a Hearing

To request a hearing for a waiver of the disqualifying offense, you must submit your written request

to the Department by mail, fax, or email, within thirty (30) days of the date you are notified of the
disqualification.

You may, but are not required to be, represented by an attorney at any stage of this process.

2 Provide Documentation

The Department will confirm your request for a waiver and ask you to provide a written statement
and any supporting documents that at a minimum address the circumstances that the Board will
consider (sce STLEP 3), including the names and phone numbers of persons who may verify
information contained in your statement or documentation. You must also provide a signed and
notarized form providing authorization for the releasc of criminal records from courts and law
enforcement. 1F your documentation is received less than six (6) weeks before the scheduled State

Board meeting the matter may be postponed until alter all documentation is received and reviewed
by the Department,

3  Accept or Reject the Department’'s Recommendation

Alter reviewing the documentation received from you or from other agencies, the Department will
advisc you of'its decision to:

" Recommend a waiver to the Statc Board, including any conditions for licensure, such as:
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Probation or suspension for a specific period of time;

Counseling, rehabilitation, or training;

Background check at end of probation or suspension;

No other disqualifying offenses or ethics violations during the probation or
suspension petiod;

= Recommend that the Statc Board not issue, not renew, or revoke the license as applicable; or
" Decline to make a recommendation.

0000

You will be given the oppottunity to accept or reject the recommendation,

o Ifyou accept the recommendation, the matter will be placed on the Statc Board’s consent
agenda. The consent agenda is voted on at that public meeting, and therefore, any documents
presented to the State Board arc public. If the matter is submitted on the consent agenda, you
do not have to appear at the meeting. However, sometimes the State Board members have
questions, and you may want to be there to respond to those questions. The State Board has
the final decision and may accept a recommendation on the consent agenda or reject the
recommendation and afford the educator the opportunity for a hearing at a later date.

o If you reject the recommendation, you will proceed to a hearing,

4  State Board Hearing

If you request a hearing, you should appear at the meeting and be prepared (o present your case and
answer questions from the State Board members. I you request a hearing and do not appear, the
State Board may decide the matter without you being present, 1lcarings arc conducted at a public
meeting of the State Board that is videoed by live strcaming and archived. All documents provided
to the State Board arc public record. You should consult the Rules Governing Background Checks
and Licensure Revocation for information on the hearing process (Scction 8). The rules arc online at
hitp://wwv.arkansased.org/ under Rules — Current.

The circumstances that the State Board may consider includes, but is not limited to;

o The age at which the crime or incident was commiltted

#  The circumstances surrouncling the crime or incident

@ The length of time since the crime or inciclent

" Subsequent work history

o Employment references

o Character refercnces

= Other cvidence demonstrating that the applicant does not pose a threat to the health or salety
of school children or school personncl.

The State Board typically makes a decision at the time of the State 1Board meeting at which the
consent agenda or hearing is considered.
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December 3, 2018

PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL

Mark Aaron Smith

VIA FIRST-CLASS & CERTIFIED MAIL

RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED NO.: —
RE:  Mark Smith - Revocation Hearing
Dear Mr. Smith:

A hearing will be held on January 10th, 2018 to determine whether your license will be revoked
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(c). The State Board meets at 10:00 a.m. in the
Auditorium of the Avkansas Department of Iducation - Avch IPord Kiducation Building,
Four Capitol Mall, in Little Rock. The time at which agenda items are heard is within the
State Board’s discretion, therefore 1 cannot provide a specilic time. However, you will be able to
view the agenda on the ADI website once il is published.

1€ you have any questions, please fecl free (o contact Mr. Taylor Dugan at (501) 682-1958, or
by email at "Iaylor.Dupan@arkansas.poy,

Sincerely,
Is/ Taylor Dugan

Taylor Dugan, Allorncy

. ADE EXHIBIT 4
Legal Services

Four Capitol Mall Box 20, Little Rock, AR 72201
(301) 682-5729 muin office; (301) 682-4898 fux



Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410 (West)

(c) The state board shall not issue a first-time license nor renew an existing license and shall
revoke any existing license not up for renewal of any person who has a true report in the Child
Maltreatment Central Registry or has pled guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found guilty
of any of the following offenses by any court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense
by a court in another state or of any similar offense by a federal court:

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

(2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and murder in the second degree as
prohibited in § 5-10-103;

(3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;

(4) Battery in the lirst degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201 and battery in the second degree as
prohibited in § 5-13-202;

(5) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204:

(6) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-301;
(7) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102:

(8) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

(9) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third degree, and fourth degree as prohibited
in §§ 5-14-124 -- 5-14-127;

(10) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

(11) Lngaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in visual or print media,
transportation of minors for prohibited sexual conduct, employing or consenting to the use ol a
child in a sexual performance, or producing, directing, or promoting a sexual performance by ¢
child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303, 5-27-303, 5-27-402, and 5-27-403:

(12) Distribution to minors as prohibited in § 3-64-406:

(13) Any felony in violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, § 5-64-101 ¢t SO
(14) Sexual indeceney with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;

(15) Endangering the wellare of'a minor in the fivst degree as prohibited in § 5-27-203;

(16) Pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually explicit conduct
involving a child as prohibited by § 5-27-304;

(17) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-11-103:

(18) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-106:
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(19) Permitting abuse of a child as prohibited in § 5-27-221(a);

(20) Negligent homicide as prohibited by § 5-10-105(a);

(21) Assault in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-13-205;

(22) Coercion as prohibited by § 5-13-208;

(23) Public sexual indecency as prohibited by § 5-14-111;

(24) Indecent exposure as prohibited by § 5-14-112;

(25) Endangering the wellare of a minor in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-27-206;

(26) Criminal attempt, criminal solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201,
5-3-202, 5-3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subscction;

(27) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;

(28) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-605;
(29) Ielony theft as prohibited in §§ 5-36-103 -- 5-36-106 and 5-36-202;

(30) Robbery as prohibited by §§ 5-12-102 and 5-12-103;

(31) Breaking or enlering as prohibited by § 5-39-202:

(32) Burglary as prohibited by § 5-39-201 and aggravated residential burglary as prohibited by §
5-39-204;

33) Forgery as prohibited by § 5-37-201;

(34) Video voyeurism as prohibited by § 5-16-101;

(35) Domestic battering in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-26-303;

(36) Domestic battering in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-26-304:
(37) Felony violation ol an order of protection as prohibited by § 5-53-134:
(38) Prostitution as prohibited by § 5-70-102;

(39) Sexual solicilation as prohibited by § 5-70-103:

(<0) Promoting prostitution in the lirst degree as prohibited by § 5-70-104:
(41) Promoting prostitution in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-70-103:
(42) Stalking as prohibited by § 5-71-229:

(43) Failure to notify by a mandated veporter in the (irst degree as prohibited by § 12-18-201:

(44) Any felony not listed in this subsection and involving physical or sexual injury,
mistreatment, or abuse agamst another;
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(45) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an employce of a correctional facility,
§ 5-13-211, ifa Class Y felony;

(46) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; and

(47) Failure to comply with the registration and reporting requirements of § 12-12-904.
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WAIVER HEARING FOR KYLE SMITH
EXHIBIT LIST

EXHIBITS DESCRIPTION OF DOCUMENTS
ADE — | Educator’s License, valid to 12/31/2018
ADE -2 Federal Sentencing Order, dated 11/17/2016
ADE — 3- Missouri Sentencing Order, filed 5/17/2018
ADE -4 | Notice of Disqualifying Offense, dated 9/28/2018
ADE -5 | Notice of Hearing, dated 12/03/18
ADE -0 Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-17-410(2017)

PENGAD 600-531-6389

EXHIBIT
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ARKANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
EDUCATOR'S LICENSE

KYLE LEE SMITH BACHELORS
CODE AREA TYPE GRADE LEVEL VALID FROM VALIDTO
262 Instrumental Music Standard K-12 1112014 12/31/2018
265 Vocal Muslc Standard K-12 1112014 12/31/2018

-- Invalid Below this line --

Tk foke Shgeunic

COMMISSIONfﬁ OF EDUCATION COORDINATOR - EDUCATOR LICENSURE
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AO 245C (Rev, 11/16)  Amended Judgment in a Criminal Case {NOTE:: Weatify Changes with Asierisks (*))
Sheet 1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Western District of Arkansas

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AMENDED JUDGMENT IN A CRIMINAL CASE
V.
KYLE LEE SMITH Case Number: 3:16CR30002-001

USM Number: 14232-010

James B. Pierce
Defendant's Attorney

Date of Original Judgment: November 17, 2016

{Or Date of Last Amended Judgment)

Reason for Amendment:
D Correction of Sentence an Remand (18 U.S.C. 37242(N)(1) and (2))
D Reduction of Sentence for Changed Circumstances (Fed R. Crim.

P. 35(k))
D Correciion of Sentence by Sentencing Court (Fed R, Crim. 1. 35(a))
D Correciion of Semence for Clerical Mistake (IFed. R. Crim. P. 36)

D Meodification of Supervision Conditions (18 U.S.C. §§ 3563(c) ur 3583(¢))
D Medification of inposcd Term of Imprisonment for Extraordinary and
Compelling Reasons (18 U.S.C § 3582(c) 1))

D Madification of Imposed Term of Imprisonment for Retroactive Amendmeni(s)
10 the Scntencing Guidelines (18 U.S.C. § 3582(c)(2))

D Direct Motion to District Court Pursuant to D 28U8.C.§2255 01
(s usc. §3s59e)7)

X Modification of Restinnion Order (18 U.S.C. § 3664)

N N Nt Nt N Nt Nt Nt Nt St et N N Nl N

THE DEFENDANT:
X pleaded guilty to count(s)  One (1) and Three (3) of the Indictment on May 12, 2016.
[J pleaded nolo contendere 1o count(s)

which was accepted by the court.

[ was found guilty on count(s)
after a plea of not guilty.

The defendant is adjudicated guilty of these offenses:

Title & Section Nature of Offense Offense Ended Count
18 U.S.C. § 2423(a) Transportation of a Minor with Intent to Engage in Criminal 07/19/2015 1
Sexual Activity
18 U.S.C. § 2422(a) Coercion and Enticement of a Minor 08/03/2015 3
The defendant is sentenced as provided in pages 2 . 7 of this judgment. The sentence is imposed pursuant to

the Sentencing Reform Act of 1984.
[ The defendant has been found not guilty on count(s) o
X Count(s) Two (2) and Four (4) (Jis X are dismissed on the motion of the United States.

Itis ordered that the defendant must notify the United States Attorney for this district swithin 30 days ol'any change of name, residence,
or mailing address until all fines, restitution, costs, and special assessnents imposed by this judgment are fully paid. If ordered to pay
restitution, the defendant must notify the court and United States attorney of material changes in cconomic circumstances.

January 10,2017
Date of Imposition of Judgment

fs/ P.K. Holmes, 111

Signature of Judge

Honorable I'.K. Holmes, [11, Chicf United States District Judge
Name and Title of Judge

January 12,2017

Date

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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AO 243C (Rev. 11/16)  Amended Judgment in a Criminal Case ) )
Steet 2 — Imprisonment {NOTE: Ideatify Changes with Asterisks (*))

Judgment — Page 2 of 7
DEFENDANT: KYLE LEE SMITH
CASE NUMBER: 3:16CR30002-001

IMPRISONMENT

The defendant is hereby committed to the custody of the Federal Burcau of Prisons to be imprisoned for a

total term of :  one-hundred cighty (180) months on Count One (1), and one-hundred eighty (180) months on Count
Three (3), terms to run concurrently.

0  The court makes the following recommendations to the Bureau of Prisons:

X The defendant is remanded to the custody of the United States Marshal.

O The defendant shall surrender to the United States Marshal for this district:

0O a O am O pm on

[ asnotified by the United States Marshal.

[0  The defendant shall surrender for service of sentence at the institution designated by the Bureau of Prisons:
[J before 2 pm. on _
[0 asnotified by the United States Marshal.

[  asnotified by the Probation or Pretrial Services Oftice.

RETURN
[ have executed this judgment as follows:
Defendant delivered on o
at with a centified copy of this judgment.
UNITED STATES NMARSHAL
By

DEPUTY UNITED STATES MARSIHAL

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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AQ245C (Rev. 11/16)  Amended Judgment in a Criminad Case
Sheet 3 — Supervised Release (NOTIE: Identily Changes with Asterisks (*))

Judemenm—Page 3 . of | _ 7

DEFENDANT: KYLE LEE SMITH
CASE NUMBER: 3:16CR30002-001

SUPERVISED RELEASE

Upon releasc from imprisonment, you will be on supervised release for aterm of @ five (5) years on Count One (1),
and five (5) years on Count Three (3), terms to run concurrently,

MANDATORY CONDITIONS

You must not commit another federal, state or local crime.

You must not unlawfully possess a controlled substance.

You must refrain from any unlawful use of a controlled substance. You must submit to one drug test within 13 days of release from

imprisonment and at least two periodic drug tests thereafler, as determined by the court.

[ The above drug testing condition is suspended, based on the court's determination that you pose a low risk of future
substance abuse. tcheck if applicable)

4. X Youmust cooperate in the collection of IDNA as directed by the probation officer. fheck if upplicabie)

5. X Youmust comply with the requirements of the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act (42 US.C. § 16901, ¢f seq.) as
directed by the probation ofticer, the Bureau of Prisons, or any state sex offender registration agency in the location where you
reside, work, are a student, or were convicted of a qualifving offense. (eheck o applicuble)

6. [ You must participate in an approved program for domestic violence. fcheck if applicatles

bl

You must comply with the standard conditions that have been adopted by this court as well as with any other conditions on the attached

page.

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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AO 245C (Rev. 1 1/16)  Amended Judgment ina Criminal Case
Sheet 3A — Supervised Release

Judgment—Page 4 of 7
DEFENDANT: KYLE LEE SMITH

CASE NUMBER: 3:16CR30002-001

STANDARD CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION

As part of your supervised release, you must comply with the following standard conditions of supervision. These conditions are imposed
because they establish the basic expectations for your behavior while on supervision and identify the minimum tools necded by probation
officers to keep informed, report to the court about, and bring about improvements in your conduct and condition.

1. You must report to the probation office in the federal judicial district where you are authorized to reside within 72 hours of your
release from imprisonment, unless the probation officer instructs you to report to a different probation office or within a different time
frame.

2. After initially reporting to the probation office, you will receive instructions from the court or the probation ofticer about how and
when you must report to the probation ofticer, and you must report to the probation officer as instructed.

3. You must not knowingly leave the federal judicial district where you are authorized to reside without first getting permission from the
court or the probation ofTicer.

4. You must answer truthfully the questions asked by your probation officer.

5. You must live at a place approved by the probation officer. 1€ you plan to change where you live or anything about yaur living
arrangements (such as the people you live with), you must notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change. If notifying
the probation officer in advance is not possible due 10 unanticipated circumstances, you must rotify the probation officer within 72
kours of becoming aware of a change or expected change.

6. You must allow the probation officer to visit you at any time at your home or clsewhere, and you must permit the probation officer to
take any items prohibited by the conditions of your supervision that he or she abserves in plain view.

7. You must work full time (at least 30 hours per week) at a lawful type of employment, unless the probation ofticer excuses you from
doing so. Ifyou do not have full-time employment yon must try to find full-time employment, unless the probation officer excuses
you from doing so. If you plan to change where you work or anything about your work (such as your position or your job
responsibilities), you must notify the probation officer at least 10 days before the change. 1 notifying the probation officer at least 10
days in advance is not possible due to unanticipated circumstances, you must notify the probation ofticer within 72 hours of becoming
aware of a change or expected change.

8. You must not communicate or interact with someone you know is engaged in criminal activity. 1 you know someone has been
convicted of a felony, you must not knowingly communicate or interact with that person withaut first getting the permission of the
probation officer.

9. Ifyou are arrested or questioned by a law enforcement officer, you must notify the probation officer within 72 hours.

10. You must not own, possess, or have access (o a fircarm, ammunition, destructive device, or dangerous weapon (i.c., anything that was

designed, or was modified for, the specific purpose of causing bodily injury or death to another person such as nunchakus or tasers).

You must not act or make any agreement with a law enforcement agency to act as a confidential human source or informant without

first getting the permission of the court.

12. If the probation ofticer determines that you pose a risk to another person (including an organization), the prabation ofticer may
require you (o notify the person about the risk and you must comply with that instruction. The probation oflicer may contact the
person and confirm that you have notified the person about the risk.

13. You must follow the instructions of the probation officer related to the conditions of supervision.

U.S. Probation Office Use Only

A US. probation ofTicer has instructed me on the conditions specilicd by the court and has provided me with a written copy of this
judgment containing these conditions. For further information regarding these conditions, see OQverview of Probation and Supervised
Release Conditions, available at: www.uscourts.gov.

Defendant’s Signature Date

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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AO245C (Rev 11/16)  Ameaded Judgment in a Criminal Case
Sheet 31 — Supuervised Release (NOTE. Idemify Changes with Asterisks (*))

Judgmem—Page 5 of 7

DEFENDANT: KYLE LEE SMITH
CASE NUMBER:  3:16CR30002-001

SPECIAL CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION

1. The defendant shall submit his person, residence, place of business or employment, vehicle, papers, computer, other
electronic communication or data storage devices or media, and effects to a search conducted by the U.S. Probation Office
based upon reasonable suspicion of criminal activity or violation of any condition of supervised release.

2. If deemed necessary, the defendant shall submit 1o any means utilized by the probation office to track his whereabouts or
location at any time.

3. The defendant shall submit to inpatient or outpatient mental health evaluation, counseling, testing, and/or treatment, as
deemed necessary and directed by the U.S. Probation Office.

4, Except for purposes of employment, the defendant shall not possess, use, or have access to a computer or any other electronic
device that has Internct or photography capabilitics, without prior written approval of the U.S. Probation Office.

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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AO 245C (Rev. 11/16)  Amended Judgment in a Criminal Case
Sheet § — Criminal Monezary Penaliices (NOTE: Identify Changes with Asterisks (*))

Judymenmt — Page _ 6 .oof 7

DEFENDANT: KYLE LEE SMITH
CASE NUMBER:  3:16CR30002-001

CRIMINAL MONETARY PENALTIES

The defendant must pay the following total criminal monetary penalties under the schedule of payments on Sheet 6.

Assessiment JVTA Assessment*  Fine Restitution
TOTALS $ 200.00 $ 0.00 S 0.00 $ 9,040.00
[ The determination of restitution is deferved until - An dmended Judgment in a Criminal Case (AO 245C) will be

entered after such determination.
X The defendant shall make restitution (including community restitution) to the following payees in the amount listed belosv.

If the defendant makes a partial payment, each payee shall receive an approximately proportioned payment, unless specified otherwise in
the priority order or percentage payment column below, However, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 366-(i), all nonfederal victims must be paid
before the United States is paid.

Name of Pavee Total Loss** Restitution Ordered Priority or Percentage
Lamna Bullington (E.B.) $4.520.00

(address provided scparately

to the Clerk’s Office due 1o

the age of the victim)

Christine Rose (M.P.) $4.520.00
(address provided separately

to the Clerk’s Office due to

the age of the victim)

TOTALS $ 0.00 S 9,040.00

[ Restitution amount ordered pursuant to plea agreement S

[J 7he defendant must pay interest on restitution and a fine of more than $2.500, unless the restitution or fine is paid in full before the
fifteenth day aficr the date of the judgment. purseant ta 18 U.S.C. § 3612(F). All of the payment options on Sheet 6 may be subject
to penalties for delinquency and default, pursuant 1o 18 ULS.C. § 3612(g).

X The court determined that the defendant does not have the ability to pay interest, and it is ordered that:

X the interest requirement is waived for - [ fine X restitution.

J the interest requirement forthe 1] fine [ restitution is modified as follows:

* Justice for Victims of Trafticking Act of 2015, Pub. L. No. 11.1-22,
#* Findings for the total amount of losses are required under Chapters 109A, 110, | 1OA, and 113A of Title 18 for offenses committed on or
after September 13, 1994, but before April 23, 1996.

ADE EXHIBIT 2
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AO 245C (Rev 1116)  Amended Judgment in a Criminal Case
Sheet 6 — Schedule of Payments (NOTE: (dentily Changes with Asterisks (*))

Judgment — Page 7 of 7
DEFENDANT: KYLE LEE SMITH
CASE NUMBER:  3:16CR30002-001

SCHEDULE OF PAYMENTS

Having assessed the defendant’s ability to pay, payment of the total criminal monetary penalties shall be due as follows:

A X Lumpsumpaymentof$ 9,240.00  due immediately, balance due

] not later than ,or
X inaccordancewith [J C, [0 D, [0 E,or X Fbelow;or

] Payment to begin immediately (may be combined with  [[] C, [J D,or [ Fbelow); or

C [ Paymentinequal (eg., weekly, monthly, quarterly) installments of $ over a period of
{e.g.. months or years), to commence (e.g., 30 or 60 days) after the date of this judgment; or
D [ Paymentinequal  (eg,weekly, monthly, quarterly) installmentsof § ~ overa period of
______ Aeg.monthsor years), tocommence  {e.g., 30 or 60 days) after release from imprisonment to a

term of supervision; or

E [ Payment during the term of supervised release will commence within o {e.g., 30 or 60 days) after release from
imprisonment. The court will set the payment plan based on an assessment of the defendant’s ability to pay at that time; or
F X Special instructions regarding the payment of criminal monetary penalties:

If the defendant is unable to pay the full amount immediately, the balance is to be paid in quarterly installments at a rate of at Jeast
10% of the funds available to him during incarceration. After incarceration, any unpaid financial penalty will become a special
conditien of supervised release and may be paid in monthly installments of $100.00 or 10% of the defendant’s net monthly
houseltold income, whichever is greater, with the entire balance 1o be paid in full one month prior to the end of the periad of
supervised release.

Unless the court has expressly ordered otherwise, il this judgment imposes imprisonment, payment of criminal monetary penalties is due
during the period of imprisonment. All criminal monetary penalties, except those payments made through the Federal Bureau of Prisons
Inmate Financial Responsibility Program, are made to the clerk of the court,

The defendant shall receive credit for all payments previously made toward any criminal monetary penalties imposed.

[J Jointand Several

Defendant and Co-Detendant Names and Case Numbers finclucding defendant numbery, Total Amount, Joint and Several Amount,
and cerrespoiding payee, if appropriate.

[0 The defendant shall pay the cost of prosecution.
[C1 The defendant shall pay the following court cost(s):

The defendant shall forfeit the defendant’s interest in the following property to the United States:

Payments shall be applied in the following order: (1) assessment. {2) restitation principal, (3) restitution interest, (4) fine principal, ($) fine
interest. (6) communily restitution. (7) JVTA assessment. (8) penalties, and (9) costs. including cost ol prosecution and court costs.
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IN THE 46 TH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT, TANEY COUNTY, MISSOURI

Judge or Division:

Case Number: 16AF-CR00329-01

[ Change of Venue
County: Taney

FILED

Case Number: MAY 17 2018
Offense Cycle No.: 08014423 BETH WYMAN
- - - . CIRCUIT CLERK
State of Missouri Proseculing Attorney/MO Bar No.:
vs. | Jeffrey M. Merreli / #46206 TANEY COUNTY
Defendant:
KYLE L SMITH Defense Atlorney/MO Bar No.:

Branden Twibell/ 61477

DOB: 10/27/1987 SSN: 276-90-9402 SEX: M

Pre-Sentence Assessment Report Ordered
[ Pre-Sentence Assessment Reporl Waived

Appeal Bond Sel Date:

Amount.

(Date File Stamp)

Judgment

Count No. 1 Felony

Class C

Charge Description: Statutory Sodomy 2nd Degree
Charge Code: 566.064-001Y19951114.
Date of Offense: On or between April 1, 2015 and August 31, 2015

On this count, it is adjudged that the defendant has been:
{C1 Found guilty upon a plea of guilty

{7 Found guilty by a jury/court

Dismissed/Nolle pros/found not guilty

Count No. 2 Felony

Class C

Charge Description: Statutory Sodomy 2nd Degree
Charge Code: 566.064-001Y19851114.
Date of Offense; On or between April 1, 2015 and August 31, 2015

On this count, it is adjudged that the defendant has been:
] Fourd guilly upon a plea of guitty

[3 Found guilty by a jury/court

X Dismissed/Nolle prosffound not guilty

Count No. 3 Felony

Class C

Charge Description: Statutory Rape 2nd Degree
Charge Code: 566.034-001Y19951116.
Date of Offense: On or between April 1, 2015 and August 31, 2015

On this count, it is adjudged that the defendant has been:
(< Found guilty upon a plea of guilly

{0 Found guilty by a jury/court

[0 Dismissed/Nolle prosffound not guilty

Count No. 4 Felony

Class €

Charge Description: Statutory Rape 2nd Degree
Charge Code: 566.034-001Y19951116.
Date of Offense: On or between April 1, 2015 and August 31, 2015

On this count, it is adjudged thal the defendant has been:
(3 Found guilty upon a plea of guilty

(0 Found guity by a jury/court

D.smissed/Nolte pros/founc not guilty

Count No. § Felony

Class C

Charge Description: Statulory Sodomy 2nd Degree
Charge Code: 566.064-001Y19951114.
Dale of Offense: On or between August 1, 2015 and August 3, 2015

On this count, it is adjudged that the defenda‘r:n':vhas been:
{3 Found guilty upon a plea of guilty

[ Found guilty by a jury/court

Dismissed/Nolle pros/found not guilty

CountNo. 6 Felony

Class C

Charge Description: Statutory Rape 2nd Degree
Charge Code: 566.034-001Y19951116.
Date of Offense; On or between August 1, 2015 and August 3, 2015

On this count, it is adjudged that the defendanl has been’

Found guilty upon a plea of guilty
[l Found guilty by a jury/court

1 Dismissed/Nolle prostiound not guilty
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Count No. 7 Felony

Class C

Charge Description: Stalutory Sodomy 2nd Degree
Charge Code: 566.064-001Y19951114.
Date of Offense: On or between August 16, 2015 and August 17, 2015

On this count, it is adjudged that the defendant has been:
{1 Found guilty upon a plea of guilty

[ Found guilty by a jury/court

Dismissed/Nolle pros/found ot guilty

Count No. 8 Felony

Class C

Charge Description: Statutory Rape 2nd Degree
Charge Code: 566.034-001Y19951116.
Dale of Offense: On or between August 16, 2015 and August 17, 2015

On this count, it is adjudged that the defendant has been:
[0 Found guilty upon a plea of guilty

[ Found guilty by a jury/court

Dismissed/Nolle pros/found not guilty

WHEREUPON, THE COURT:
Finds that this defendant has been:
(] found guilty upon a plea of guilty 1o the above offense on

, and last placed on probation

[J found guilty by a jury afier lrial of the above offense on

, and last placed on probation

(J found guilty by the Court after trial of the above offense on

, and 1ast placed on probation

THEN:

[] After admission of violation or hearing, finds this defendant violated probation by:

0] Defendant's probation is revoked.  [J Defendant’s probation is not revoked.

The defendant has been found beyond a reasonable doubt to be a:

[0 Persistent Sexual Offender (566.125 RSMo)

] Persistent Drug Offender (579.170 RSMo)

{J Persistent Misdemeanor Offender (558.016 RSMo)
[ Persistent Offender (558.016 RSMo)

[ Persistent Assault Offender (565.079 RSMo)

] Persistent Offender (Intoxication-related Traffic Offense)
(577.001 RSMo)

[J Aggravated Offender (577.001 RSMo)
[ Chronic Offender (577.001 RSMo)

{71 Habitual Offender (577.001 RSMo)
Not Applicable

on (date).

The court;

informs the defendant of verdict/finding, asks the defendant whether he/she has anything to say why judgment
should not be pronounced, and finds that no sufficient cause to the contrary has been shown or appears to the

court.

ﬁ Defendant kas been advised of his/her rights to file a motion for post-conviction relief pursuant to Rule

24.035/29.15 and the court has found
{] Probable cause ] No probable cause

to believe that defendant has received ineffective assistance of counsel.

(O Finds the defendant has pied or been found guilty of a dangerous felony, as defined in section 556.061, RSMo,
and if committed to the Department of Corrections, must serve at least 85% of the sentence.

Finds the defendant has pled or been found guilty of an offense that is subject to lifetime supervision pursuant to
section 217.735 or 559.106, RSMo, and defendant must be supervised by Missouri Board of Probation and
Parole for the duration of natural life, unless terminated after offender reaches age 65 or older.

O Finds the defendant has pled or been found guilty of an offense that is subject to an extended term of

imprisonment.

(3 Predatory Sexual Offender (566.125 RSMo)
([ Prior Drug Offender (579.170 RSMo)

[[] Dangerous Offender (558.016 RSMo)

[ Prior Offender (558.016 RSMo)

[0 Prior Assautt Offender (565.079 RSMo)

) Prior Offender (Intoxication-related Traffic Offense)
(577.001 RSMo)

(0 Aggravated Boating Offender (577.001 RSMo)
(3 Chronic Boating Offender (577.001 RSMo)
[ Habitual Boating Offender {(577.001 RSMo)

OSCA (11-16) CR175 - MODIFIED 20f5
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On count 1, the court:

] Sentences and commits the defendant to the custody of the Missouri Department of Corrections for a period of
. Sentence to be served

[ Concurrent [] Consecutive with

Probation Time Credit:

a

[] Suspends execution of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the separate Order of Probation.

[] Suspends imposition of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the Order of Probation.

[] Fines the defendant $ . The court stays $ with the remainder due by (date).
On count 2, the court:

[C] Sentences and commits the defendant to the custody of the Missouri Department of Corrections for a period of
. Sentence to be served

[] Concurrent [C] Consecutive with .
[ Probation Time Credit: .

(] Suspends execution of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions sel forth in
the separate Order of Probation.

(] Suspends imposition of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the Order of Probation.

[] Fines the defendant $ . The court stays $ with the remainder due by (date).

On count 3, the court:

[ Sentences and commits the defendant to the custody of the Missouri Department of Corrections for a period of §
years. Sentence to be served

[] Concurrent Consecutive with Federal case: 3:16-cr-30002.
[] Probation Time Credit: .

[] Suspends execution of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the separate Order of Probation.

[] Suspends imposition of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the Order of Prabation.

[ Fines the defendant $ .Thecourtstays $ _____ with the remainder due by (date).
On count 4, the court:

[] Sentences and commits the defendant to the custody of the Missouri Department of Corrections for a period of
. Sentence to be served

[ concurrent [C] Consecutive with .
Probation Time Credit:

]

[C} Suspends execution of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the separate Order of Probation.

[] Suspends imposition of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the Order of Probation.

(] Fines the defendant$ . The court stays $ with the remainder due by _ (date).

ADE EXHIBIT 3 Page 3 of 5
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On count 5, the court:

[ Sentences and commits the defendant to the custody of the Missouri Department of Corrections for a period of
. Sentence to be served

(] Concurrent [0 consecutive with ;
Probation Time Credit:

O

[1 Suspends execution of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the separate Order of Probation.

[] Suspends imposition of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the Order of Probation.

[] Fines the defendant $ . The court stays $ with the remainder due by (date).
On count 6, the court:

¥ Sentences and commits the defendant to the custody of the Missouri Department of Corrections for a period of §
years. Sentence to be served

[0 Concurrent ] Consecutive with Federal case: 3:16-cr-30002.
[ Probation Time Credit: ____

[] Suspends execution of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the separate Order of Probation.

[} Suspends imposition of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the Order of Probation.

| [] Fines the defendant $ . The court stays §
On count 7, the court:

with the remainder due by (date).

B

[] Sentences and commits the defendant to the custody of the Missouri Department of Corrections for a period of
. Sentence to be served

[l Concurrent [0 Consecutive with .
[C] Probation Time Credit: :

[T} Suspends execulion of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the separate Order of Probation.

[C] Suspends imposition of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the Order of Probation.

[] Fines the defendant$ . The courtslays § _ with the remainder due by (date).
On count 8, the court’

[] Sentences and commits the defendant to the custody of the Missouri Department of Corrections for a period of
. Sentence to be served

[} Concurrent [[] Consecutive with .
[] Probation Time Credit:
[

Suspends execution of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the separate Order of Probation.

[] Suspends imposition of sentence. Defendant is placed on probation for a period of five (5) years under the
supervision of Missouri Division of Probation and Parole.. Defendant shall comply with the conditions set forth in
the Order of Probation.

[] Fines the defendant $ . The court stays $ ___

with the remainder due by (date).

ADE EXHIBIT 3 Page 4 of 5

OSCA (11-18) CR175 - MODIFIED 4of 5 217.305, 559.036, 559.115 and Chapter 558 RSMo




The court orders:

B3 The clerk to deliver a certified copy of the judgment
and commitment to the sheriff.

X Clerk to send certified copy of the judgment or
order to Children's Division and prosecuting
attorney. Children’s Division shall list the individual
as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect in the
central registry.

X} The sheriff to authorize one additional officer/guard
to transport defendant to the Department of
Corrections.

® That judgment is entered in favor of the state of
Missouri and against the defendant for the crime
victims compensation fund for the sum of
(] $10.00 R $46.00 [ s68.00.

O satisfied [¥ Unsatisfied

(J Judgment for the State of Missouri and against the
defendant for appointed counsel services in the
sum of $

O satisfied [ Unsatisfied
[J Judgment for restitution in the sum of $
[J satisfied [J Unsatisfied
Costs taxed against Defendant.
[0 Costs waived.
O $____ LabFee pursuant to §488.029 RSMo.

Defendant to report immediately to the Taney
County Sheriff's Department for fingerprinting. The

Defendant is ordered to submit to the fingerprinting,

and is further ordered to provide all information
necessary for the officer taking the fingerprints to
fully complete all identification and photograph
portions of the standard fingerprint cards.

[X] Defendant ‘o register as a sex offender with the
chief law enforcement official of the county or city
not within a county in which he/she resides within
three (3) days of conviction, release from
incarceration, or placement on probation.

The court further orders:

[ §217.362 RSMo Court Ordered Long-Term Substance
Abuse Program

[J §559.115.2 RSMo General Population
Department of Corrections shall provide a report and
recommendation whether probation should be
granted.

The court recommends placement into a Department of
Corrections 120-day program pursuant to §559.115:

(O Institutional Treatment Program (§559.115.3)
Department of Corrections shall provide a
report and may provide recommendations
whether probation should be granted 30 days
prior to the probationary release date.
{Statutory Discharge)

O Shock Incarceration Program (§559.115.3)
Department of Corrections shall provide a
report and may provide recommendations
whether probation should be granted 30 days
prior to the probationary release date.
(Statutory Discharge)

[ Sexual Offender Assessment (§559.115.5)
(Mandatory if the Defendant has pled guilty or been
found guilty of sexual abuse, class B felony.) Upon
completion of the assessment, Department of
Corrections shall provide a report and may provide
recommendations whether probation should be
granted.

[ The court recommends placement into a Department of

Corrections 120-day program pursuant to §559.036.4.

(] §217.785 RSMo Non-Institutional Post Conviction Drug
Treatment Program

{1 §217.785, RSMo Institutional Post Conviction Drug
Treatment Program

[] Other standard conditions as ordered by the Court
and/or the probation office.

So Or.&-éred:

S 17-1y

Date

Judge

| certify that the above is a true copy of the original Judgment and Sentence of the court in the above cause, as it

appears on record in my office.

COURT SEAL OF
Issued o
Dale
TANEY COUNTY
ADE EXHIBIT 3 Page 5 of 5
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| (e Arkansas Department of Education

Tramforming Arkansas w lead the narion in sudenr-focused education

September 28, 2018

PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL

Kyle Lee Smith

VIA FIRST CLASS AND CERTIFIED MAIL

RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED NO.:

Re: Employability Status and Licensure Revocation
Dear Mr. Smith:

Arkansas law provides that the State Board of Education shall not issue, or renew, and
shall revoke the license of any person who pleads guilty or no contest to, or is convicted of
certain enumerated olTenses in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(c). The Department
of Education has received information that you pled guilty of the following disqualifying offense
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(c):

Date: November 17, 2016

Offense(s):  Transportation of a Minor with Intent to Engage in Criminal Sexual
Activity and
Cocrcion and Enticement of a Minor

Jurisdiction: U.S. District Court, Western District of Arkansas

Date: May 17,2018
Offense(s):  Statutory Rape -2 Degree {Felony C RSMo: 566.034}
Jurisdiction: Supreme court of Missouri

In addition. you are ineligible for employment in any public school under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-
17-411. Therefore, the Department will recommend that the State Board of Education revoke
your teaching license.

You are entitled to a hearing [or a waiver ol the disqualification. in front of the State
Board of Education regarding revocation of vour license. Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(f)
authorizes the State Board to grant waivers of the licensure eligibility provisions of § 6-17-
410(c) upon request of an affected applicant for licensure. “T'o request a hearing for a waiver of
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the disqualifying offense, you must submit your written request to this office, by mail or by
email, within_thirty (30) days of the date of this letter.

State Board of Education meetings occur once a month and are available to the public
through live video-streaming. A request to be placed on the agenda must be received not less
than three weeks before the meeting date. The Board meets in the Auditorium of the Arkansas
Department of Education — Arch Ford Education Building, Four Capitol Mall, in Little Rock,
Arkansas.

Meeting dates may be found at: hitp://www.arkansased.org/events/event_categories/state-
board-of-cducation

The circumstances that the State Board may consider include, but are not limited to:

The age at which the crime or incident was committed

The circumstances surrounding the crime or incident

The length of time since the crime or incident

Subsequent work history

Employment references

Character references

Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does not pose a threat to the health or
safety of school children or school personnel.

I you request a hearing, you will be asked to provide a written statement, and any supporting
documents that address those considerations. Examples of pertinent documents include: the
names and phone numbers of persons who may verify information contained in your statement or
documentation. Alternatively, you may consent to the surrender of your license. (See enclosed
form). The consent to surrender your license would be placed on the State Board's consent
agenda at the next possible meeting.  You may obtain information concerning the disqualifying
offense or schedule a hearing to request a waiver from the State Board of Education by
contacting the Arkansas Department of Lducation, Educator Licensure and Effectiveness,
Simoné Blagg, Arkansas Department of Education, Four Capito! Mall, Little Rock, AR 72201,

(501) 682-5729; or by email at: Simone.Blagg@arkansas.gov.
Sincerely,

/s/ Simoné Blagg

¥
=

Simon¢ Blagg. Attorney
LEducator Effectiveness & Licensure

Enclosures:  Requesting a Waiver
Consent Form
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ARKANSAS
DEPARTMENT
OF EDUCATION

REQUESTING A WAIVER OF A DISQUALIFYING OFFENSE

You have been notified that, as a result of the background check reviewed by the Arkansas
Department of Education, you are disqualified for licensure and for employment with a charter
school, school district, or education service cooperative, and that you are entitled to request a waiver
of that disqualification from the State Board of Education. Below are the steps to follow to seck a
waiver.

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410
Provides that the Department of Education shall not issue a first-time license nor renew
an existing license and shall revoke any existing license not up for renewal of any person
who has a true report in the Child Maltreatment Central Registry or has pled guilty or
nolo contendere to or has been found guilty of any of [certain listed] offenses, including

offenses which have been expunged or pardoned.

Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-411
Requires a background check for initial employment with a charter school,
school district, or education service cooperative.

1  Request a Hearing

To request a hearing for a waiver of the disqualifying offense, you must submit your written request
to the Department by mail, fax, or email, within thirty (30) days of the date you are notified of the
disqualification.

You may. but are not required to be, represented by an attorney at any stage of this process.

2  Provide Documentation

The Department will confirm your request for a waiver and ask you to provide a written statement
and any supporting documents that at a minimum address the circumstances that the Board will
consider (see STEP 3), including the names and phone numbers of persons who may verify
information contained in your statement or documentation. You must also provide a signed and
notarized form providing authorization for the release of eriminal records from courts and law
enforcement. 1€ your documentation is received less than six (6) weeks before the scheduled State
Board meeting the matter may be postponed until afier all documentation is received and reviewed
by the Department.

3 Accept or Reject the Department’s Recommendation

Alter reviewing the documentation received from you or from other agencies, the Department will
advise you of its decision to:
= Recommend a waiver to the State Board. including any conditions for licensure. such as:
ADE EXHIBIT 4
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Probation or suspension for a specific period of time;

Counseling, rehabilitation, or training;

Background check at end of probation or suspension;

No other disqualifying offenses or ethics violations during the probation or
suspension period;

Recommend that the State Board not issue, not renew, or revoke the license as applicable: or
Decline to make a recommendation.

(el e e Re}

You will be given the opportunity to accept or reject the recommendation.

4

Ifyou aceept the recommendation, the matter will be placed on the State Board’s consent
agenda. The consent agenda is voted on at that public meeting, and therefore, any documents
presented to the State Board are public. If the matter is submitted on the consent agenda, you
do not have to appear at the meeting. However, sometimes the State Board members have
questions, and you may want to be there to respond to those questions. The State Board has
the final decision and may accept a recommendation on the consent agenda or reject the
recommendation and afford the educator the opportunity for a hearing at a later date.

[fyou rejeet the recommendation, you will proceed to a hearing.

State Board Hearing

IT you request a hearing, you should appear at the meeting and be prepared to present your case and
answer questions from the State Board members. If you request a hearing and do not appear, the
State Board may decide the matter without you being present. Hearings are conducted at a public
mecting of the State Board that is videoed by live streaming and archived. All documents provided
to the State Board are public record. You should consult the Rules Governing Background Checks
and Licensure Revocation for information on the hearing process (Section 8). The rules are online at
hip//www.arkansased.org/ under Rules — Current.

The circumstances that the State Board may consider includes. but is not limited to:

The age at which the erime or incident was committed

The circumstances surrounding the crime or incident

The length of time since the crime or incident

Subsequent work history

Lmployment references

Character references

Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does not pose a threat to the health or safety
of school children or school personnel.

The State Board typically makes a decision at the time of the State Board meeting at which the
consent agenda or hearing is considered.,
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) Arkansas Department of Education

Tiansforming Arkansas to lead the nation in stucent-focused education

December 3, 2018

PERSONAL AND CONFIDENTIAL
LEGAL MAIL

Kyle Smith

VIA FIRST-CLASS & CERTIFIED MAIL

RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED N().:_
RE: Kyle Smith- Revocation Hearing
Dear Mr. Smith:

A hearing will be held on January 10th, 2018 to determine whether your license will be revoked
pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(c). The State Board meets at 10:00 a.m. in the
Auditorium of the Arkansas Department of Education — Arch Ford Education Building,
Four Capitol Mall, in Little Rock. The time at which agenda items are heard is within the

State Board’s discretion, therefore 1 cannot provide a specific time. However, you will be able to
view the agenda on the ADE website once it is published.

I you have any questions. please feel free to contact Mr. Taylor Dugan at (501) 682-1938. or
by email at Taylor.Dugan@arkansas.gov.

Sincerely.

/s! Taylor Dugan
ADE EXHIBIT 5
Taylor Dugan. Attorney '

[.egal Services

Arkansay Departinent of Education, Educator Effectiveness & Licensure
Four Capitol Mall Box 20, Little Rock, AR 72201
(301) 682-5729 main office; (301) 682-4898 fux



Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410 (West)

(¢) The state board shall not issue a first-time license nor renew an existing license and shall
revoke any existing license not up for renewal of any person who has a true report in the Child
Maltreatment Central Registry or has pled guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found guilty
of any of the following offenses by any court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense
by a court in another state or of any similar offense by a federal court:

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

(2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and murder in the second degree as
prohibited in § 5-10-103;

(3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;

(4) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201 and battery in the second degree as
prohibited in § 5-13-202;

(5) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;

(6) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-301;
(7) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;

(8) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

(9) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree. third degree, and fourth degree as prohibited
in §§ 5-14-124 -- 5-14-127;

(10) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202:

(11) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in visual or print media,
transportation of minors for prohibited sexual conduct, employing or consenting to the use ol a
child in a sexual performance, or producing. directing, or promoting a sexual performance by a
child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303. 5-27-305. 5-27-402, and 5-27-403:

(12) Distribution to minors as prohibited in § 5-64-4006:
(13) Any felony in violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act. § 5-64-101 et seq.:

(14) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110:

I

(15) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-20

(16) Pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually explicit conduct
involving a child as prohibited by § 5-27-304:

(17) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-11-103:

(18) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-1006:
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(19) Permitting abuse of a child as prohibited in § 5-27-221(a);

(20) Negligent homicide as prohibited by § 5-10-105(a);

(21) Assault in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-13-205;

(22) Coercion as prohibited by § 5-13-208;

(23) Public sexual indecency as prohibited by § 5-14-111;

(24) Indecent exposure as prohibited by § 5-14-112;

(25) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-27-2006:

(26) Criminal attempt, criminal solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201,
5-3-202, 5-3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subsection:

(27) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;

(28) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-605:
(29) Felony theft as prohibited in §§ 5-36-103 -- 5-36-106 and 5-36-202:

(30) Robbery as prohibited by §§ 5-12-102 and 5-12-103;

(31) Breaking or entering as prohibited by § 5-39-202:

(32) Burglary as prohibited by § 5-39-201 and aggravated residential burglary as prohibited by §
5-39-204:

(33) Forgery as prohibited by § 5-37-201:

(34) Video voyeurism as prohibited by § 5-16-101;

(35) Domestic battering in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-26-303:

(36) Domestic battering in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-26-304:
(37) FFelony violation ol an order of protection as prohibited by § 5-53-134:
(38) Prostitution as prohibited by § 5-70-102:

(39) Sexual solicitation as prohibited by § 5-70-103:

(40) Promoting prostitution in the first degree as prohibited by § 5-70-104;
(41) Promoting prostitution in the second degree as prohibited by § 5-70-103:
(42) Stalking as prohibited by § 5-71-229:

(43) Failure to notify by a mandated reporter in the [irst degree as prohibited by § 12-18-201:

(44) Any felony not listed in this subsection and involving physical or sexual injury,
mistreatment, or abuse against another;
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(45) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an employee of a correctional facility,
§ 5-13-211,ifa Class Y felony;

(46) Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; and

(47) Failure to comply with the registration and reporting requirements of § 12-12-904.
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PINE BLUFF LIGHTHOUSE ACADEMY
EXHIBIT ONE (1)
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(501) 680-0888




REPRESENTATIVE

Vivian Flowers
P. O. Box 3156
Pine BIH[[' Arkansas 71611-3156

870-329-8356 Busincss

vivian.Gowem@arl:ansas]muﬂe.r)rg

DISTRICT 17

Counties:

Part }c[fcrson

COMMITTEES:

Revenue and Taxalion
Cmnplninlﬁ and Remediation
P

ommittee

Aging, Children and Youth, ]-cgislnl.ivc
and MiliLnry Alfairs
Children and Youth Subcommittee

I.cgislalive Joint Audiling Committee

4b

STATE OF ARKANSAS

Dr. Jay Barth

Chairman

Arkansas State Board of Education
Four Capitol Mall

Little Rock. AR 72201

Dear Dr. Barth:

[ am writing in support of renewing Pine Bluff Lighthouse Academy's state
charter. [ believe closing Pine Bluff Lighthouse Academy would be premature.
Allowing the school to remain in operation will give them the time necessary to
expand on the progress they have already made. The students need stability, and
a premature closing would not only be an inconvenience but would hinder their
potential growth.

While Pine Bluff Lighthouse Academy received an F grade from the state, so did
all of the other elementary schools in the district. ~ While these grades point to
challenges, they are not indicative of student and teacher progress or success.
Moreover, this closure would amount to punishment during a critical transition to
anew testing model, which Arkansas schools were promised would not happen at
this time.

The school has experienced better attendance rates and behavior in students. It
has three years of improvements in academic performance, along with literacy
rates that have improved, with a higher number of students reading at grade level
in all grades except eighth.

Pine Bluff Lighthouse Academy has also gone out of their way to help their
students. They obtained a healthy lunch grant and have worked with the Jefferson
County Boys and Girls Club to offer after school and summer programs to better
serve their students.

For these reasons. I ask that the State Board of Education renew Pine Bluff
Lighthouse Academy's state charter. If | may offer additional testimony, please
do not hesitate to contact me.




01/10/2019
2

Sincerely,

Vivian Flowers
State Representative
District 17

cc: Mr. Johnny Key, Commissioner of Education (electronically)
Ms. Susan Chambers. Board Member, Arkansas State Board of Education
Ms. Charisse Dean, Board Member, Arkansas State Board of Education
Dr. O. Fitzgerald Hill, Board Member, Arkansas State Board of Education
Ms. Kathy McFetridge, Board Member, Arkansas State Board of Education
Dr. Sarah Moore, Board Member. Arkansas State Board of Education
Ms. Ouida Newton. Board Member. Arkansas State Board of Education
Mr. R. Brett Williamson. Board Member., Arkansas State Board of Education
Ms. Diane Zook. Board Member, Arkansas State Board of Education
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Pine Bluff Lighthouse Charter Iﬁfﬁ?&ﬁ?l

Y : * We provide a nurturing
| environment where we support
all of our scholars in developing
social-emotional and academic
skills.

* 270 scholars (74 families)

www.lighthouse-academies.org } Page 1

Lighthouse

3-year Cohort Data 1 ATl s
» 109 scholars have remained at Pine
saEaede Bluff Lighthouse over the current 3

5" Grade 5.1 year charter term.

6" Grade +5.4 * The average scholar has achieved a
7th Grade 25 3.8 scale score increase.

8h Grade +2.1

. » Pine BIuff Lighthouse has a
Overall +3.8 positive and significant impact on
scholar achievement.

**Per Arkansas Commissioner’ Memo LS-18-108 data analysis
should compare average scale score rather than percent ready.

www.lighthouse-academies.org ’ Page 2



Lighthouse
Whole School Data l Aga o miesl

Percent of Scholars Meeting  In 2018 there was 8% increase in the
2017 ELA Benchmark number of scholars that met the 2017
20 AT Benchmark.
24 ‘e@
22 N0
%20 Sl° )
e - » Pine Bluff Lighthouse Charter
£ 16

14
12
10

School scholars are increasing
their mastery of skill in ELA over

2016-2017

time.
2017-2018

www.lighthouse-academies.org

**2017 Benchmark cut scores were used to isolate the influence in the ) Page 3
change of Benchmark cut scores in 2018.

2019 Expected Outcomes 1 Iﬁfﬁ?ﬂiﬁ:l

600
500
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100

Lexile Growth * Qur scholars are exceeding expected

Fall 2018-Winter 2018

Lexile growth and are currently
pacing at 148% of the goal.
509

» Pine Bluff Lighthouse is on
track to significantly exceed
expected Lexile growth as
measured by NWEA MAP.

Expected

Observed

www.lighthouse-academies.org
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; : Lighthouse
School Culture: Restorative Approach l AgademieSI

# of Out of School Suspensions
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Out of School Suspension

88

10

- 1 1

* Scholars have learned to resolve
conflict in a positive and constructive
manner leading to increased learning
opportunities.

» School culture is safe, calm and
nurturing at Pine Bluff
Lighthouse.

2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018

www.lighthouse-academies.org
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Pine Bluff Lighthouse

Pine Bluff School District

Pine Bluff School District

Pine Bluff School District

Pine Bluff School District

Pine Bluff 5779
Lighthouse Lower
Academy

Southwood 57513
Elementary

W. T. Cheney 55.8
Elementary

34 Elementary 54.01

Broadmoor 51.36
Elementary



