THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RETHE MATTER OF:
KATHERINE WEAVER
JULY 14, 2022 PLSB CASE NO. 22-064

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on July 14, 2022, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(Board) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board
Ethics Subcommittee (Ethics Subcommittee) for disciplinary action against the licensure
eligibility of Katherine Weaver (Educator Weaver). Based upon Educator Weaver’s
acceptance of the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq.,
the Board hereby states as follows:
I. Findings of Fact
a. Educator Weaver was employed as an educator at the Beebe School District
and held a provisional license.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Weaver violated
the Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for
Arkansas Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and
6-17-428.
c. On December 10, 2021, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation
into allegations that Educator Weaver violated Standard 1: an educator
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maintains a professional relationship with each student, both in and outside
the classroom, Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his
or her professional practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior,
skills, knowledge, dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her
organizational position.

d. Educator Weaver was notified on December 13, 2021, of the Ethics

Subcommittee’s authorization to investigate this allegation.

(@]

After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on April 1, 2022, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence
existed to substantiate violation of Standard 1 and 2 in that Educator Weaver:

e Engaged in inappropriate interactions and communications
with a student.

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional
and ethical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

f.  The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the
following actions:

1. Level 2 Public Notification of ethics violation for 2 years.
2. Assess a $250 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order).
3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

a. Code of Ethics training as provided by the PLLSB staff
with written reflection on how she will utilize the code of
ethics in proactive practices in the future.

b. Quarterly reports from a mentor stating supports that are
in place for the educator and how she is progressing in her
practices.
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c. The Power Paradox: How We Gain and Lose Influence
(208p) Author: Dacher Keltner ISBN 10: 0143110292
ISBN 13: 978-0143110293 educator to provide written
reflection to the PLSB explaining how this training will be
incorporated in her daily practices as an educator.

d. Title: If You Can’t Manage Them, You Can’t Teach
Them (280p) Author: Kim Campbell, Dr. Kay Herting
Wahl ISBN-10: 0865305137 ISBN-13: 978-0865305137
educator to provide written reflection to the PLSB on how
she will utilize and incorporate this training into her
classroom management practices.

4. Require Educator to prepare written reflection on each individual
training to show how she will utilize the trainings in her professional
practices and interactions with students (due within 90 days of the
State Board Order); and

5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.

g. On April 1, 2022, Educator Weaver’s attorney was notified of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s initial determination and recommendation by secure server.
Educator Weaver accepted the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation
thereby waiving her right to any further notice, hearing, or any other rights she
may have under the Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set
forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.

h. At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and
supporting documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent
agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann.

§§ 6-11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the
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Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for
Arkansas Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s
recommendations, and enacts the sanctions accordingly. The Board
admonishes Educator Weaver for her violation of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Weaver is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of
$250 may result in the suspension of her licensure eligibility until the fine is
paid in full.

c¢. Educator Weaver is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethies or
failure to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may
result in more severe discipline including permanent revocation of her
licensure eligibility.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Weaver’s professional
licensure file and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards

Board.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

..t

Ouida Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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