THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
SHANNON PRATER
SEPTEMBER 8§, 2022 PLSB CASENO. 22-120

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

At its regular meeting on September 8, 2022, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(Board) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (Ethics Subcommittee) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Shannon Prater (Educator Prater). Based upon Educator Prater’s failure to respond to the Ethics
Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
I Findings of Fact

"a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Prater a standard five-year
teaching license on January 1, 2021, valid until December 31, 2025.

b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Prater violated the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas Educators
promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.

¢. On May 6, 2022, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Prater violated Standard 1: an educator maintains a
professional relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom;

Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional
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practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge,
dispositions, and responsibilities velating to his or her organizational position;
Educator Prater was notified on May 6, 2022, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.
After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on July 8, 2022, the Ethics
Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standards 1 and 2 in that Educator Prater:

e Engaged in inappropriate interactions with a student.

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and

ethical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:
1. Probation of license for 6 months.
2. Assess a $150 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);

3. Require Educatorto complete the following coursework/readings:

a. ERC20059: Professional Licensure Standards Board Code of
Ethics for Arkansas Educators: Ethical Scenarios in Education
(2020) Credit Hours: 1

b. Title: The Power Paradox: How We Gain and Lose Influence
(208p) Author: Dacher Keltner ISBN 10: 0143110292 ISBN 13:
78-0143110293

C. Title: Real Talk About Classroom Management: 50 Best Practices
That Work and Show You Believe in Your Students (296p)
Author: Serena Pariser ISBN-13: 978-1544317755 ISBN-10:
1544317751

4. Educator to provide written reflections on each training and how she plans

to incorporate what she has learned into her practices in the classroom due
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within 30 days of the State Board Order. Then, Educator to provide
written reflections once per grading period during probationary year to the
PLSB Ethics Subcommittee explaining how she is consistently
implementing what she has learned from the trainings in her classroom

and interactions with students; and

5. Require Educatorto pay all associated costs.

g. On July 14, 2022, Educator Prater, was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s initial
determination and recommendation by secure server. Educator Prater failed to
respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving her right to
any further notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have under the Administrative
Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and
25-15-212.

h. Attoday’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

IL Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Prater for her violation of
the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Prater is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of $150 will

result in the continued suspension of her license until the fine is paid in full.
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c. Educator Prater is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure to
pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Prater’s professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

/ //z%,/ /7/&52‘;

Ovuida Newton ‘Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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