THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
DAVID CLARK
APRIL 13, 2023 PLSB CASE NO. 22-126

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on April 13, 2023, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(“Board”) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee™) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
David Clark (“Educator Clark™). Based upon Educator Clark’s acceptance of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
L Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Clark a standard five-year
teaching license on January 13, 2023, valid until December 31, 2027.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Clark violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethies for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
c¢. On May 6, 2022, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Clark violated Standard 1. an educator maintains a
professional relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom;
Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional
practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge,

dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her organizational position;
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d. Educator Clark was notified on May 11, 2022, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on March 3, 2023, the Ethics

1

Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standard 2 in that Educator Clark:

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

f. The Ethics Subcommittce recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Written reprimand.
2. Assess a $100 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);
3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:
a. Code of Ethics Training Provided by the PLSB (1.5 Hours);
b. LAGI17029 Success Favors Well-Prepared Adults: Unpacking
your Personality Package (1 Credit Hour); and
c. Title: I Notice: A Step-by-Step Guide to Transform Student Potential
Through Building Intentional Relationships Author: Claire E. Hallinan
[SBN-10: 1733035613 ISBN-13: 978-1733035613.
4. Educator to provide written reflections on how each of these trainings will
impact his interactions with students in the future and how he will
utilize these strategies going forward (due within 90 days of the State
Board order); and
5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.
g. On March 3, 2023, Educator Clark’s attomey, was notified of the Ethics

Subcommittee’s initial determination and recommendation by secure server. Educator
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Clark accepted the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving his right
to any further notice, hearing, or any other rights he may have under the
Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§
25-15-211 and 25-15-212.

At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting

documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

a.

CJ

ITIS SO ORDERED.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Clark for his violation of
the Code of Ethics.

Educator Clark is cautioned that his non-payment of the assessed fine of $100 may
result in the suspension of his license until the fine is paid in full.

Educator Clark is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure to
pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of his license.

This order shall remain permanently in Educator Clark’s professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.
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Ouida Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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