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Act 237 of 2023 amended Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-428 to add language requiring that within 24 hours of a 
matter coming to the attention of a public school supervisor, an educator in supervisory role in an Arkansas 
school shall file an ethics complaint with the Professional Licensure Standards Board if he or she observes, has 
reasonable cause to suspect, or there is a substantiated allegation that an educator has violated Standard 1 of the 
Code of Ethics. 

Standard 1 of the DESE Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas Educators states:  An educator 
maintains a professional relationship with each student, both inside and outside of the classroom. 

The Code of Ethics provides the following guidance regarding Standard 1:  This standard goes to the core 
of a professional educator’s expected conduct and relationship with all students and transcends criminal behavior 
or other actions which violate law. The professional relationship with students is such behavior and action which 
promotes at all times the mental, emotional, and physical health and safety of students. An educator should show 
respect for and not demean, embarrass, or harass students. An educator should not participate in and should 
discourage bullying based on such characteristics as race, national origin, color, gender, sexual orientation or 
identity, age, disability, or religion. "Bullying" means the intentional harassment, intimidation, humiliation, 
ridicule, defamation, or threat or incitement of violence against a student by a written, verbal, electronic, or 
physical act that may address an attribute, as defined in Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-514, of the student and that causes 
or creates actual or reasonably foreseeable: (a) physical harm to a student or damage to the student's property; (b) 
substantial interference with a student's education; or (c) a hostile educational environment for one (1) or more 
students due to the severity, persistence, or pervasiveness of the act. Educators should maintain professional 
relationships with students while using social networking technology tools.  A professional relationship is one 
where the educator maintains a position of educator/student authority with students even while expressing 
concern, empathy, and encouragement for students. In that position of authority, an educator may nurture the 
student’s intellectual, physical, emotional, social and civic potential. An educator may display concern and 
compassion for a student’s personal problems and, when appropriate, refer the student for school counseling or 
other help. 

In completing and submitting the 24-Hour Standard 1 Reporting Form, you have taken the first step in the 
process.  The next page of this packet outlines the steps of the process. 

Following your investigation, should your district elect not to file an allegation form with our office, 
please complete and return the attached rationale form included with this packet.  Please note that even if you 
elect not to proceed with filing an allegation form, in certain circumstances, the PLSB may still present a case to 
the Ethics Subcommittee for authorization of investigation.



24 Hour Standard 1 Reporting Form 

1 Standard 1 
Report 2 Confirmation 3 District 

Investigation 4 Allegation 
Decision 5 Review 

Within 24 hours of a matter 
coming to the attention of a 
public school supervisor, 
an educator in a 
supervisory role in an 
Arkansas school shall file 
an ethics complaint with 
the Professional Licensure 
Standards Board if he or 
she observes, has 
reasonable cause to 
suspect, or there is a 
substantiated allegation that 
an educator has violated 
Standard 1 of the Code of 
Ethics. 

Standard 1: An educator 
maintains a professional 
relationship with each 
student, both in and 
outside the classroom. 

Upon receipt of the 24 - 
Hour Standard 1 Reporting 
Form, the PLSB will 
respond with a 
confirmation of the receipt 
of the form and provide 
additional instructions. 

The filing district will 
continue the investigation 
process by collecting the 
needed information to file 
an Allegation of Violation. 

The district will collect the 
needed evidence for the 
allegation. 
If the filing district 
determines an allegation 
does not need to be filed 
and no further action is 
needed, the district will 
provide rationale on the 
attached form for not filing 
an Allegation of Violation. 

The PLSB will: 
Validate the Allegation of 
Violation form; or 
Review the rationale for 
not filing the Allegation 
of Violation. 
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24-HOUR STANDARD 1 VIOLATION REPORTING FORM
Please use this form only for reporting violations of Standard 1 per Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-428(p)(2)(B), which requires that 

within 24 hours of a matter coming to the attention of a public school supervisor, an educator in a supervisory role in an 
Arkansas school shall file an ethics complaint if he or she observes, has reasonable cause to suspect, or there is a substantiated 

allegation that an educator has violated Standard 1 of the Code of Ethics. 
Confidential 

Name of Accused Educator: Educator’s Position: 
Educator’s Address: 
Work Phone: Cell Phone: Email: 
Educator’s School: Phone: 
School Address: 
School District Phone: 
District Address: 

Complainant Information
Complainant Name: Email 

Address: 

Daytime Phone: Cell Phone 

Details of Incident 
Date of Alleged Incident: Date Notified of Incident: 

Statement of Alleged Conduct (If needed, add additional pages) 

I have reviewed and understand the information in this form. 

I understand that I may not file this form anonymously. 

I hereby swear/affirm that the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge 
under penalty of perjury. 

Complainant Signature              Date 

Form: S1- 

Email a completed copy of this form to: ade.plsb24@ade.arkansas.gov 

________________________________

mailto:ade.plsb24@ade.arkansas.gov
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RATIONALE FOR DECLINING TO FILE ALLEGATION 
Please use this form after completing a 24-Hour Standard 1 Reporting Violation and following completion 

of an investigation of a Standard 1 violation only if your district has decided not to proceed with filing a 
formal allegation with the PLSB. 

Confidential 
Name of Accused Educator: Educator’s Position: 
Educator’s Address: 
Work Phone: Cell Phone: Email: 
Educator’s School: Phone: 
School Address: 
School District Phone: 
District Address: 

Complainant Information 
Name: Position: 
District Address: Email: 
Daytime Phone: Cell Phone: 

Details of Incident 
Date of Alleged Incident: Date Notified of Incident: 

Summary of Results of District Investigation, Including Rationale 
(Please include a detailed rationale for declining to file an allegation form with the PLSB. Please also attach copies of all 

documentation gathered during your investigation. If additional pages are needed, please attach.) 

Confirmation #:  



Witness Information 
(Please attach additional pages as needed.) 

Witness Name: Date of Interview: 
Association with District: Contact Information: (ex. phone number, email, etc.) 

Brief description of witness involvement or attach witness statement: 

Witness Name: Date of Interview: 
Association with District: Contact Information: (ex. phone number, email, etc.) 

Brief description of witness involvement or attach witness statement: 

Witness Name: Date of Interview: 
Association with District: Contact Information: (ex. phone number, email, etc.) 

Brief description of witness involvement or attach witness statement: 

Report of Suspected Child Maltreatment 
If you are a mandated reporter who believes suspected child maltreatment has occurred pursuant A.C.A. §12- 
12-501 et. seq., did you report it to the Arkansas State Police Child Abuse Hotline? 
     No Yes, Date:                                            Referral #: 

I have reviewed and understand the information in this form. 

I understand that I may not file this form anonymously. 

I hereby swear/affirm that the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge under penalty of perjury. 

Complainant Signature              Date 

Email a completed copy of this form to: ade.plsb24@ade.arkansas.gov 

________________________________

mailto:ade.plsb24@ade.arkansas.gov
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