
2023-2024 
NOTICE OF INTENT TO HOME SCHOOL INFORMATION 

Arkansas Department of Education - Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Home School Office: (501) 682-1874 

 
Arkansas law requires parents who wish to home school their children to file a Notice of Intent (NOI) to home school with their local school superintendent by 
August 15th of each year. After this deadline, unless waived by the superintendent or local school district board, the public school may require a 5-day waiting 
period before releasing a student to be homeschooled. 

Beginning June 15, 2023, parents will be able to submit a Notice of Intent for the 2023-2024 school year. Parents have two options for submission: 

1. Paper forms may be completed and turned in at your resident school district.  Forms are available at your resident school district or may be printed from the 
DESE website: https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/Offices/learning-services/home-school. Click on “Notice of Intent” on the left-hand side. It is recommended that 
you make a copy for your records prior to submitting it. If you need assistance with a paper form, please contact the superintendent’s office of your resident 
school district and ask to speak with the home school coordinator. 

2. Electronic forms may be submitted through our online system: https://noihs.ade.arkansas.gov. If you submitted an electronic form last school year, you can log 
into your existing account and submit an updated form for this year. If you need assistance with the electronic system, please contact the state Home School 
Office at (501) 682-1874. 

Changes During the School Year: Notify your resident school district’s superintendent if your address changes and/or if you stop homeschooling. If you move and your 
new residence is in a different school district, you shall provide written notice to the superintendent of the new district within 30 days. 

Optional Notary Section: It is NOT necessary to have this form notarized for submission to the resident school district. This section is provided in case a notarized copy 
of this form is needed by the parents or student(s) for another purpose, such as seeking the GED. 

Driver’s License: Guidelines for receiving an Arkansas driver’s license changed in 2020. Home school students no longer have to present a notarized copy of their 
current-year NOI to take the driver’s test. Please consult the websites for the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) – Office of Driver Services or the 
Arkansas State Police for current requirements. You may also contact your local DFA Revenue Office. 

College & Career Readiness Testing: Home school students may participate in the one-time, state-funded PSAT (10th grade only) or ACT (11th grade only) test. Advanced 
Placement (AP) exams are also available, but please note that a fee may apply. Participation is optional. By selecting a test on the form, you are consenting to allow your 
student’s name, grade level, and testing choice to be shared to process this specific request only. 

 

  
 

https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/Offices/learning-services/home-school
https://noihs.ade.arkansas.gov/


2023-2024 NOTICE OF INTENT TO HOME SCHOOL FORM 
Arkansas Department of Education – Division of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Home School Office | (501)682-1874 
https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/Offices/learning-services/home-school  

Please print legibly. 

I hereby give notice to the Superintendent at my resident school district of my intent to provide home school instruction for my child(ren). 

School District: ____________________________________________________________ County: ________________________________ Start Date: ____________________________ 

Name of Parent or Legal Guardian: _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address: _______________________________________________________________________ City: _______________________________ State: __________ ZIP Code: ___________ 

Telephone Number: _____________________________________________ Email (optional):__________________________________________________________________________ 

Student’s Legal Name Date of Birth 
(mm/dd/yyyy) 

Gender 

(M/F) 

23-24 Grade 
Level 
(K-12) 

Name and Address of Last School Attended 

First Middle Last 

       

       

       

       

       

       

 
Arkansas state law provides ways for home school students to participate voluntarily in various activities through the public schools, including sports and other interscholastic activities and certain tests.  If you would 
like your child(ren) to participate in any of the following activities during the 2023-24 school year, please write their names on the corresponding lines below.  By selecting a test on this form, you are consenting to 
allow your student’s information to be shared for the purpose of registering for the test with the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) staff, the local education agency, and the selected testing 
company.  Information will not be shared for any purpose other than the processing of the specific test requested on this NOI. 

Public School Interscholastic Activities: ________________________________________________________________________________________ GED: ____________________________________________________ 

One-Time, State-Funded PSAT for 10th Graders: _________________________________________ One-Time, State-Funded ACT for 11th Graders: ___________________________________________________________ 

Advanced Placement (AP) Exams: _______________________________________________________________________________________ NOTE: Parent may be responsible for fee(s) associated with the AP exam(s). 

I agree that as the parent or legal guardian, I am responsible for the education of my children during the time for which home school instruction is provided. 

Signature of Parent or Legal Guardian: ______________________________________________________________ Date: _______________________________ 

OPTIONAL: It is NOT necessary to have this form notarized for submission to the resident school district.  This section is provided solely for the benefit of the parent/guardian in case a notarized copy of this form is 
needed for another purpose. 

Notary Seal         _________________________________________________________ 
          Student Name (printed) 

_____________________________________________________    _________________________________________________________ 
Signature of Notary    Date     Parent/Guardian Signature in Presence of Notary  Date 

https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/Offices/learning-services/home-school

