THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
MICHAEL BRAMLETT
AUGUST 12, 2021 PLSB CASE NO. 21-107

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on August 12, 2021, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(Board) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittée (Ethics Subcommittee) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Michael Bramlett (Educator Bramlett). Based upon Educator Bramlett’s failure to respond to the
Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
L Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Bramlett a standard five-year
teaching license on January 1, 2017 valid until December 31, 2021.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Bramlett violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
¢. OnMay 7, 2021, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Bramlett violated Standard 2: an educator maintains
competence regarding his or her professional practice, inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior, skills, knowledge, dispositions, and responsibilities relatingr to his or

her organizational position; Standard 4: an educator entrusted with public funds and
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property, including school sponsored activity funds, honors that trust with honest,
responsible stewardship.
. Educator Bramiett was notified on May 7, 2021, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.
After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on June 2, 2021, the Ethics
Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate a violation of Standards 2 and 4 in that Educator Bramlett:

e Exhibited an inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional

and ethical behavior
e Failed to follow district, state, or federal policies or law

e Engaged in dishonest stewardship in his position

The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following
actions:

1. 1 Year Probation;
2. Assess a $200 fine (due within 90 days of State Board Order)
3. Recommended training, coursework or rehab treatment, with monitored
progress:
a. ERC20059: Professional Licensure Standards Board Code of Ethics
for Arkansas Educators: Ethical Scenarios in Education (2020) Credit
Hours: |
b. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees
Success — No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindo

ISBN 10: ISBN 13: 9780470500163
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¢. Educator to provide individual written reflections of the trainings to
explain how his actions created student impact and how he will utilize
it in his interactions in the future.

d. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.

g. On June 2, 2021, Educator Bramlett, was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s initial
determination and recommendation by secure server. Educator Bramlett failed to
respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving his right to
any further notice, hearing, or any other rights he may have under the Administrative
Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and
25-15-212.

h. At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Michael Bramlett for his
violation of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Bramlett is cautioned that his non-payment of the assessed fine of $200 will

result in the suspension of his license until the fine is paid in full.
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c. Educator Bramlett is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure
to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Bramlett’s professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

(O/UJ./IMM»

Ouida Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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