THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
MATTHEW WILLIAMS
DECEMBER 9, 2021 PLSB CASE NO. 22-028

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

At its regular meeting on December 9, 2021, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(Board) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (Ethics Subcommittee) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Matthew Williams. Based upon Matthew William’s acceptance of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the Administrative Procedure
Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as follows:
I Findings of Fact

a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Matthew Williams a standard five-
year teaching license on January 1, 2018, valid until December 31, 2021,

b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Williams violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Anﬁ. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.

c. On September 3, 2021, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Williams violated Standard 1. an educator maintains a
professional relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom;
Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his professional practice,
inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge, dispositions, and

responsibilities relating to his organizational position.
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d. Educator Williams was notified on September 3, 2021, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

e. After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on November 5, 2021, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standards 1 and 2 in that Educator Matthew Williams:

¢ 1(A) Engaged in inappropriate interactions with a student(s).

e 2(A) Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional
and ethical behavior

e 2(B) Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

f. The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Probation of License for 1 year by State Board of Education, Fine of $200.

2. ERC20059: Professional Licensure Standards Board Code of Ethics for
Arkansas Educators: Ethical Scenarios in Education (2020) Credit Hours: 1

3. Written reflection on how the educator’s actions violated the Code of Ethics
and impacted student behavior.

4. Review AAA policies and procedures and provide written reflection as to how
the educator will insure compliance with those regulations in the future to
minimize negative student impact. To be completed by: (All costs paid by
Educator).

g. On November 5, 2021, Educator Matthew Williams, was notified of the Ethics

Subcommittee’s initial determination and recommendation by certified and regular

mail. Educator Matthew Williams accepted the Ethics Subcommittee’s

recommendation thereby waiving his right to any further notice, hearing, or any other
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rights he may have under the Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set
forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.

h. At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

IL. Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcomimittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Matthew Williams for his violation
of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Williams is cautioned that his non-payment of the assessed fine of $200
may result in the suspension of his license until the fine is paid in fuil.

¢. Educator Williams is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure
to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of his license.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Matthew Williams’ professional

licensure file and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dok p K

Ouida Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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