THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
JACOB SCHROEDER
JANUARY 13, 2022 PLSB CASE NO. 22-030

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on January 13, 2022, the Arkansas State Board of Education

(Board) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommiittee (Ethics Subcommittee) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Jacob Schroeder (Educator Schroeder). Based upon Educator Schroeder’s acceptance of the
Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:

L Findings of Fact

a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Schroeder a standard five-
year teaching license on January 1, 2019 valid until December 31, 2023,

b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Schroeder violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.

c. On September 3, 2021, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Schroeder violated Standard 2: an educator maintains
competence regarding his or her professional practice, inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior, skills, knowledge, dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or

her organizational position.
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d. Educator Schroeder was notified on September 7, 2021 of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

e. After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on November 5, 2021 the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standard 2 in that Educator Schroeder:

* Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

f. The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following
actions:

a. Probation of license for 1 year;

b. Assess a $200 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);

¢. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

1. ERC20059: Professional Licensure Standards Board Code of Ethics for
Arkansas Educators: Ethical Scenarios in Education (2020) Credit Hours:
1

2. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees
Success -- No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindo ISBN
10: ISBN 13: 9780470500163.

3. Title: Becoming an Emotionally Intelligent Teacher 1st Edition Author:
William Powell ISBN 10: 1620878798 ISBN 13: 978-1620878798.

4. Educator to provide written reflections on each individual training to show
how he will utilize the trainings in his professional practices and
interactions with students.

g. On November 5, 2021, Educator Schroeder, was notified of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s initial determination and recommendation by secure server. Educator
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Schroeder failed to respond thereby accepting the Ethics Subcommittee’s
recommendation and waiving his right to any further notice, hearing, or any other
rights he may have under the Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set
forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.

h. At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Schroeder for his
violation of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Schroeder is cautioned that his non-payment of the assessed fine of $200
may result in the suspension of his license until the fine is paid in full.

¢. Educator Schroeder is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or
failure to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in
more severe discipline including permanent revocation of his license.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Schroeder professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

IT IS SO ORDERED.
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Otida Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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