THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
STEVEN LITTLE
APRIL 14, 2022 PLSB CASE NO. 22-075

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on April 14, 2022, the Arkansas State Board of Education (Board)
accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (Ethics Subcommittee) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Steven Little (Educator Little). Based upon Educator Little’s failure to respond to the Ethics
Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
I Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Little a standard five-year
teaching license on January 1, 2022, valid until December 31, 2026.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Little violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
¢. On December 10, 2021, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Little violated Standard 2: an educator maintains
competence regarding his or her professional practice, inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior, skills, knowledge, dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or

her organizational position.
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Educator Little was notified on December 13, 2021, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.
After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on March 4, 2022, the Ethics
Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standard 2 in that Educator Little:
¢ Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Probation of license for 2 years.
2. Assess a $250 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order).
3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:
a) Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees
Success -- No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p)
Author: Linda Galindo ISBN 10:ISBN 13: 9780470500163.
b) Capturing Minds by Capturing Hearts: 40 Ways in 40 Days to be a
Better Teacher (174p) Author: Kay J. Mahne ISBN 10: 1483667251
ISBN 13: 978-1483667256.
¢) ERC20059: Professional Licensure Standards Board Code of Ethics
for Arkansas Educators: Ethical Scenarios in Education (2020)
Credit Hours: |
d) Title: You've Gotta Connect: Building Relationships that Lead to

Engaged Students, Productive Classrooms, and Higher
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Achievement (280 Pages) Author: James Alan Sturtevant ISBN-10:
1629500046 ISBN-13: 978-1629500046.
4. Educator to provide written reflections on each individual training to
explain how he will incorporate the trainings into his practices (due to the
PLSB for approval within 90 days of the State Board Order).
5. All costs paid by Educator.
On March 4, 2022, Educator Little, was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s initial
determination and recommendation by secure server. Educator Little failed to respond
to the Ethics Subcommiittee’s recommendation in writing thereby waiving his right to
any further notice, hearing, or any other rights he may have under the Administrative
Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and
25-15-212.
At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting

documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

d.

b.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Little for his violation of
the Code of Ethics.

Educator Little is cautioned that his non-payment of the assessed fine of $250 will

result in the suspension of his license until the fine is paid in full.
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¢. Educator Little is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure to
pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of his license.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Little’s professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.
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Ouida Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED.
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