THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OI:
ROBERT PRUITT
NOVEMBER 10, 2022 PLSB CASE NO. 23-009

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on November 10, 2022, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(Board) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (Ethics Subcommittee) for disciplinary action against the licensure eligibility of
Robert Pruitt (Educator Pruitt). Based upon Educator Pruitt’s acceptance of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
L. Findings of Fact
a. Educator Pruitt was employed at the North Little Rock School District under an
alternate licensure pathway approved by the Arkansas Department of Education.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Pruitt violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
c. OnlJuly 8, 2022, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into allegations
that Educator Pruitt violated Standard [: an educator maintains a professional
relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom; Standard 2: an

educator maintains competence regavding his or her professional practice, inclusive
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of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge, dispositions, and
responsibilities relating to his or her organizational position.

d. Educator Pruitt was notified on July 11, 22, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

¢. After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on October 7, 2022, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standard 1 and 2 in that Educator Pruitt:

e Engaged in inappropriate interactions with a student(s).

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

f. The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Level 2 Public Notification of ethics violation for | year.
2. Assess a $200 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order).

3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

a. Codc of Ethics training as provided by the PLSB staft.

b. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability
Guarantees Success -- No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p)
Author; Linda Galindo ISBN 10: ISBN 13: 9780470500163

G. The Power Paradox: How We Gain and Lose Influence (208p)
Author: Dacher Keltner ISBN 10: 0143110292 ISBN 13: 978-
0143110293.

4. Require Educator to prepare written reflection on each individual training
to show how he will incorporate those trainings in his professional
practices and in his classroom. (due within 90 days ot the State Board
Order); and

5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.
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h.

On October 7, 2022, Educator Pruitt was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s initial
determination and recommendation by secure server. Educator Pruitt accepted the
Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving his right to any further
notice, hearing, or any other rights he may have under the Administrative Procedure
Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.
At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting

documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

d.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 ct seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Pruitt for his violation of
the Code of Ethics.

Educator Pruitt is cautioned that his non-payment of the assessed fine of $200 may
result in the suspension of his licensure eligibility until the fine is paid in full.
Educator Pruitt is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure to
pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of his licensure eligibility.

This order shall remain permanently in Educator Pruitt’s professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

ITIS SO ORDERED.
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O Nt

Otida Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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