THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
CASANDRA LYANN WELCH
JANUARY 11, 2024 PLSB CASE NO. 23-077

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on January 11, 2024, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(“Board”) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee™) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Casandra Lyann Welch (“Educator Welch™). Based upon Educator Welch’s failure to respond to
the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
I. Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Welch a standard five-year
teaching license on January 1, 2021, valid until December 31, 2025.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Welch violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rulés Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
c.  On January 6, 2023, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Welch violated Standard I: an educator maintains a
professional relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom; and

Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional
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practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge,
dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her organizational position.
Educator Welch was notified on January 9, 2023, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.
After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on November 30, 2023, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standards 1 and 2 in that Educator Welch:

e Inappropriate interactions with a student(s).

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and

ethical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Probation of License for | year.
2. Assess a $200 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);
3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

a. Title: Flipping the Switch: Unleash the Power of Personal Accountability
Using the QBQ! (144 p) Author: John G. Miller ISBN 10: 0399152334
ISBN 13: 978-0399152337

b. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees
Success -- No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindeo ISBN
10: ISBN 13: 9780470500163

¢. Code of Ethics Training Provided by the PLSB (1.5 Hours)
4. Educator to provide written reflections on cach book/training on the
educator’s accountability and the influence it has on the school/classroom

environment and working relationships with colleagues. Due to the PLSB
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Ethics Subcommittee for approval within 90 days of the State Board

Order.

5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.

On December 1, 2023, Educator Welch, was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s

as

initial determination and recommendation by secure email. Educator Welch failed to
respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving her right to
any further notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have under the Administrative
Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and
25-15-212.

h. At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

IL Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented. at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Casandra Welch for her
violation of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Welch is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of $200 may
result in the suspension of her license until the fine is paid in full.

c. Educator Welch is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure to
pay the fine within nincty (90) days from the date of this order may result in more

severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.
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d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Welch’s professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

CM, Pt

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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