THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
REBA LYNNE HOLMES
JUNE 8, 2023 PLSB CASE NO. 23-081

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on June &, 2023, the Arkansas State Board of Education (“Board™)
accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee™) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Reba Lynne Holmes (“Educator Holmes). Based upon Educator Holmes failure to respond to
the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
I. Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Holmes a standard five-year
teaching license on January 1, 2021, valid until December 31, 2025.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Homes violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
¢. On January 6, 2023, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Holmes violated Standard 2: an educator maintains
competence regarding his or her professional practice, inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior, skills, fnowledge, dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or
her organizational position; Standard 7: an educator maintains the confidentialitv of

information about students and colleagues obtained in the course of the educator’s
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professional services that is protected under state law or regulations, federal law or
regulations or the written policies of the educator’s school district, unless disclosure
serves a professional purpose as allowed or required by law or regulations.
Educator Holmes was notified on January 6, 2023, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on May 5, 2023, the Ethics
Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standard 2 in that Educator Holmes:

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following
actions:

1. Probation of License for 2 years.

2. Assess a $250 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);

3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:
a. Title: The Power Paradox: How We Gain and Lose Influence (208p)
Author: Dacher Keltner ISBN 10: 0143110292 ISBN 13: 978-
0143110293

b.  Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees
Success - No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindo
ISBN 10:ISBN 13: 9780470500163

4. Educator to provide written reflection on each book regarding how this
will impact her future interactions with staff and her future leadership
decisions. Due to the PLSB Ethics Subcommittee for approval within 90

days of the State Board Order.

5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.
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g. On May 5, 2023, Educator Holmes, was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s initial

determination and recommendation by secure server. Educator Holmes failed to
respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving her right to
any further notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have under the Administrative
Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and
25-15-212.

At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting

documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

a.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Govemning the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Holmes for her violation
of the Code of Ethics.

Educator Holmes is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of $250 will
result in the continued suspension of her license until the fine is paid in full.
Educator Holmes is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure
to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.

This order shall remain permanently in Educator Holmes professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.
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ITIS SO ORDERED.

O de fouon

Ouida Newton, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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