THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:

CLEVELAND GORDON JR.
AUGUST 10, 2023 PLSB CASE NO. 23-091

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

At its regular meeting on August 10, 2023, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(“Board™) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee”) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Cleveland Gordon Jr. (“Educator Gordon™). Based upon Educator Gordon’s acceptance of the
Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
L. Findings of Fact

a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Gordon a standard five-year
teaching license on January 1, 2021, valid until December 31, 2025.

b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Gordon violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.

¢. On March 3, 2023, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Gordon violated Standard 1: an educator maintains a
professional relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom;
Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional
practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge,
dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her organizational position.
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d. Educator Gordon was notified on March 6, 2023, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on July 14, 2023, the Ethics

&

Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to

substantiate violation of Standards 1 and 2 in that Educator Gordon:

e Inappropriate physical contact with a student(s).
e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

f. The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Written Reprimand;
2. Assess a $100 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);
3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

a. Title: I Notice: A Step-by-Step Guide to Transform Student Potential
Through Building Intentional Relationships Author: Claire E. Hallinan
[SBN-10: 1733035613 ISBN-13: 978-1733035613

b. Anger Management class (as evidenced by completion certificate).

4. Educator to provide written reflection on each training/book regarding
how the educator will improve his interactions with students in the future.

(due within 90 days of the state board order); and

5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.

g. OnlJuly 14, 2023, Educator Gordon’s attorney, was notified of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s initial determination and recommendation by secure server. Educator
Gordon accepted the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving his

right to any further notice, hearing, or any other rights he may have under the
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Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §3§
25-15-211 and 25-15-212.

h. At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

IL. Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Cleveland Gordon Jr. for his
violation of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Gordon is cautioned that his non-payment of the assessed fine of $100 may
result in the suspension of his license until the fine is paid in full.

¢. Educator Gordon is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure
to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of his license.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Gordon’s professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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