THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
SHIRLEY MARIE CARR
JANUARY 11, 2024 PLSB CASE NO. 23-153

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on January 11, 2024, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(“Board”) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Hearing Subcommittee (“Ethics Hearing Subcommittee™) for disciplinary action against the
teaching license of Shirley Marie Carr (“Educator Carr”). Based upon Educator Carr’s failure to
respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board
hereby states as follows:
L Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Carr a standard five-year
teaching license on August 22, 2022 valid until December 31, 2026.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Carr violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
c¢. OnJune 2, 2023, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Carr violated Standard 2: an educator maintains
competence regarding his or her professional practice, inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior, skills, knowledge, dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or
her organizational position, and Standard 8: an educator, while on school premises
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or at school-sponsored activities involving students, refrains from: a) using,
possessing and/or being under the influence of alcohol or unauthorized
drugs/substances, and/or possessing items prohibited by law, b} possessing or using
tobacco or tobacco-related products, e-cigarettes, e-liquid, or vapor products, or c)
abusing/misusing prescription medications or other authorized substances as
evidenced by impairment.

d. Educator Carr was notified on June 5, 2023, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

e. After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on September 1, 2023, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standards 2 and 8 of the Code of Ethics. Educator Carr
rejected the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and requested an evidentiary
hearing.

f.  On November 8, 2023, Educator Carr appeared for her evidentiary hearing before the
Hearing Subcommittee. After consideration of the testimony, evidence, and
arguments presented at the evidentiary hearing, the Hearing Subcommittee found that
a preponderance of evidence existed to substantiate violation of Standards 2 and 8 in
that Educator Carr:

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

e Using unauthorized drugs/substances prohibited by law without a

prescription card.

g. The Hearing Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:
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1. Suspension of License for 6 months followed by a Probation of License
for 2 years;

2. Assess a $300 fine (due within 90 days of State Board Order),

3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

a. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees
Success -- No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda
Galindo ISBN 10: ISBN 13: 9780470500163

4. Written Reflection due to the PLSB for approval within 30 days prior to
the end of their suspension for suspension removal;

5. Educator shall provide proof of continued attendance at a drug addiction
management, recovery, and support program quarterly to the Ethics
Subcommittee during suspension and lprobation;

6. 30 days prior to the end of suspension, the educator shall provide proof of
completion of a drug treatment program and a letter from a licensed
medical professional stating the educator is ready to return to the
classroom; and

7. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.

On November 9, 2023, Educator Carr’s attomey was notified of the Hearing
Subcommittee’s final determination and recommendation by secure email. Educator
Carr failed to respond to the Hearing Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby
waiving her right to any further notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have
under the Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code

Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.
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IL

1.

At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting

documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

Conclusions of Law

a.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Shirley Carr for her
violation of the Code of Ethics.

Educator Carr is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of $300 will
result in the continued suspension of her license until the fine is paid in full.

Educator Carr is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure to
pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.

This ofder shall remain permanently in Educator Carr’s professional licensure file and

the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

Savn Ve

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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