THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:

SUSAN FAYE BROCK
NOVEMBER 9, 2023 PLSB CASE NO. 24-019

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

At its regular meeting on November 9, 2023, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(“Board™) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee™) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Susan Faye Brock (“Educator Brock™). Based upon Educator Brock’s acceptance of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
L. Findings of Fact

a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Brock a standard five-year
teaching license on January 1, 2022, valid until December 31, 2026.

b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Brock violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.

c. On July 14, 2023, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Brock violated Standard 1: an educator maintains a
professional relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom,; and
Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional
practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge,
dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her organizational position.

Page 1 of 4
Susan Faye Brock - PLSB Case No. 24-019



d. Educator Brock was notified on July 17, 2023, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authonization to investigate this allegation.

e. After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on October 6, 2023, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to

substantiate violation of Standards | and 2 in that Educator Brock:

¢ Inappropriate communication with student(s).

¢ Inappropriate interactions with student(s).

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

f.  The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Written Reprimand;

8]

Assess a $100 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);

(8}

Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:
a. Code of Ethics Training Provided by the PLSB (1.5 Hours)

b. Title: Classroom Management Success in 7 days or less: The Ultra-
Effective Classroom Management System for Teachers (77p) Author: Rob
Plevin ISBN-13: 978-1522001461 ISBN-10: 1522001468

c. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees Success -
No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindo ISBN 10:
ISBN 13: 9780470500163

d. Title: I Notice: A Step-by-Step Guide to Transform Student Potential
Through Building Intentional Relationships Author: Claire E. Hallinan
ISBN-10: 1733035613 ISBN-13: 978-1733035613

4. Educator to provide written reflections for each training/reading on how it
will impact the educator’s future interactions and communication with

students. Duc to the PLSB for approval within 90 days of the State Board

Order; and
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o

o

5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.
On October 12, 2023, Educator Brock, was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
initial determination and recommendation by certified. Educator Brock accepted the
Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving her right to any further
notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have under the Administrative Procedure
Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.
At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting

documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

IL. Conclusions of Law

a.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Govemning the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctioné accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Susan Brock for her
violation of the Code of Ethics.

Educator Brock is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of $100 may
result in the suspension of her license until the fine is paid in full.

Educator Brock is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure to
pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.

This order shall remain permanently in Educator Brock’s professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

ITIS SO ORDERED.
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LMy, Vi

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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