THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
DEIDRE MATHIS CHANNING
FEBRUARY 8, 2024 PLSB CASE NO. 24-049

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on February 8, 2024, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(“Board”) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee™) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Deidre Mathis Channing (“Educator Channing”). Based upon Educator Channing’s failure to
respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the cvidence presented, in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board
hereby states as follows:
L. Findings of I'act
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Channing a standard five-
year teaching license on January 1, 2022, valid until December 31, 2026.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Channing violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
¢. On August 4, 2023, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Channing violated Standard 2: an educator maintains
competence regarding his or her professional practice, inclusive of professional and

ethical behavior, skills, knowledge, dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or
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her organizational position, and Standard 3: an educator honestly fulfills reporting
obligations associated with professional practices.

Educator Channing was notified on August 8, 2023, of the Ethics Subcommittec’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on January 5, 2024, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standards 2 and 3 in that Educator Channing:

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

e Forgery of signatures.

e Falsification of IEPs.

The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Suspension of License for 1 year followed by a Probation of License for 2
years.
2. Assess a $500 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);
3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:
a. Code of Ethics Training Provided by the PLSB (1.5 Hours)

b. SPC17008 Foundations in Special Education: Major Components of [DEA
(1 Credit Hour)

c. SPC17009 Foundations in Special Education: Legal and Ethical Issues (1
Credit Hour)

d. SPC17010 Foundations in Special Education: Roles and Responsibilities (1
Credit Hour)

e. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees Success --
No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindo ISBN 10:ISBN 13:

9780470500163
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4. Educator to provide written reflections regarding how each training will
impact the educator’s professional practices. Due to the PLSB for
approval within 30 days prior to the end of their suspension for suspension
removal;

5. After completion of suspension, quarterly report from supervisor that the

educator is meeting all IDEA timelines. Submitted to the PLSB quarterly

for approval; and

6. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.
On January 5, 2024, Educator Channing was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
initial determination and recommendation by secure email. Educator Channing failed
to respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving her right
to any further notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have under the
Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§
25-15-211 and 25-15-212.
At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting

documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

a.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas

Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and cnacts
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the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Deidre Channing for her
violation of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Channing is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed finc of $500.00
may result in the continued suspension of her license until the fine is paid in full.

¢. Educator Channing is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure
to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Channing’s professional licensure

file and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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