THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
ALEXIS KATHLEEN RHEINHARDT
FEBRUARY 8, 2024 PLSB CASE NO. 24-057

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on February 8, 2024, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(“Board™) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee”) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Alexis Kathleen Rheinhardt (“Educator Rheinhardt”). Based upon Educator Rheinhardt’s failure
to respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board
hereby states as follows:
I. Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Rheinhardt a standard five-
year teaching license on January 1, 2024, valid until December 31, 2028.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Rheinhardt violated
the Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for
Arkansas Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-
428.
¢. On September 1, 2023, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Rheinhardt violated Standard 1: an educator maintains a
professional relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom; and
Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional
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practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge,
dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her organizational position.
Educator Rheinhardt was notified on September 1, 2023, of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s authorization to investigate this allegation.
After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on January 5, 2024, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to
substantiate violation of Standards 1 and 2 in that Educator Rheinhardt:

e [nappropriate interaction with student(s).

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and

ethical behavior.

s Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Probation of license for 1 year;
2. Assess a $150 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);

Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

(U8

a. Code of Ethics Training Provided by the PLSB (1.5 Hours)

b. LAG17029 Success Favors Well-Prepared Adults: Unpacking your
Personality Package (1 Credit Hour)

c. Title: You’ve Gotta Connect: Building Relationships that Lead to Engaged
Students, Productive Classrooms, and Higher Achievement (280 Pages)
Author: James Alan Sturtevant ISBN-10: 1629500046 ISBN-13: 978-
1629500046

4. Educator to provide written reflection on each training’/book on how it will
impact the educator’s future interactions with students. Due to the PLSB for
approval within 90 days of the State Board Order;

5. Require Educator to attend an Anger Management class (as evidenced by
completion certificate); and
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6. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.
On January 5, 2024, Educator Rheinhardt was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
initial determination and recommendation by secure email. Educator Rheinhardt
failed to respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving her
right to any further notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have under the
Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§
25-15-211 and 25-15-212.
At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting

documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

a.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Alexis Rheinhardt for her
violation of the Code of Ethics.

Educator Rheinhardt is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of
$150.00 may result in the suspension of her license until the fine is paid in full.
Educator Rheinhardt is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or
failure to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in
more severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.

This order shall remain permanently in Educator Rheinhardt’s professional licensure

file and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.
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ITIS SO ORDERED.

g W

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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