THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
JENECE MARIE CLARK
JANUARY 11, 2024 | PLSB CASE NO. 24-076

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER

At its regular meeting on January 11, 2024, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(“Board™) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee™) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Jenece Marie Clark (“Educator Clark™). Based upon Educator Clark’s acceptance of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the anrd hereby states as
follows: |

L. Findings of Fact

a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator Clark a standard five-year
tcaching license on January 1, 2022, valid until December 31, 2026.

b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Clark violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Goveming the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.

¢.  On October 6, 2023, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Clark violated Standard 1: an educator maintains a
professional relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom; and

Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional
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practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge,
dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her organizational position.

. Educator Clark was notified on October 9, 2023, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on November 30, 2023, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to

substantiate violation of Standards 1 and 2 in that Educator Clark:

e Inappropriate communication with student(s).

e Inappropriate interactions with student(s).

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.

» Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Suspension of License for 2 years followed by a Probation of License for

1 year; -

[

. Assess a $500 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);

. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

(U8

a. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees
Success -- No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindo
[SBN 10: ISBN 13: 9780470500163
b. Title: Flipping the Switch: Unleash the Power of Personal
Accountability Using the QBQ! (144 p) Author: John G. Miller ISBN
10: 0399152334 ISBN 13:978-0399152337
¢. Code of Ethics Training Provided by the PLSB (1.5 Hours)
4. Educator to provide written reflections regarding how each training will
influence the educator in her interactions with students in the future. Due to
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the PLSB for approval 30 days prior to the end of suspension for suspension
removal.; and

5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.

g. On December 1, 2023, Educator Clark, was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
initial determination and recommendation by secure server. Educator Clark accepted
the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving her right to any further
notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have under the Administrative Procedure
Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.

h. At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

IL. Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-1053, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accbrd ingly. The Board admonishes Educator Jenece Marie Clark for
her violation of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Clark is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of $500 may
result in the continued suspension of her license until the fine is paid in full.

c. Educator Clark is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure to
pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license. |

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Clark’s professional licensure file
and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.
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ITIS SO ORDERED.

M Ve

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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