THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:

MARTIKA ROBERTS
JULY 11,2024 PLSB CASE NO. 24-155

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on July 11, 2024, the Arkansas State Board of Education (“Board”)
accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee™) for disciplinary action against the licensure eligibility of
Martika Roberts (“Educator Roberts”). Based upon Educator Roberts” acceptance of the Ethics
Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence presented, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et seq., the Board hereby states as
follows:
I.  Findings of Fact
a. Educator Roberts was employed under a charter licensure waiver approved by the
Arkansas Department of Education.
b.The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator Roberts violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
¢.On February 2, 2024, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator Roberts violated Standard 1. an educator maintains a
professional relationship with each student, both in and outside the classroom;

Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional
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practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge,
dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her organizational position.

d. Educator Roberts was notified on February 5, 2024, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

e. After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on June 7, 2024, the Ethics
Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to

substantiate violation of Standard | and 2 in that Educator Roberts:

e [nappropriate physical contact with student(s).

e [napproprate interactions with student(s).

e [nappropriate communication with student(s).

e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
cthical behavior.

e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.

f.  The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Level 2 Public Notification of ethics violation for 2 years.
2. Assess a $250 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order).

Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

L

a. Code of Ethics Training Provided by the PLSB (1.5 Hours)

b. Title: What Great Teachers Do Differently: 17 Things that Matter
Most 2nd Edition Author: Todd Whitaker ISBN 10: 9781596671997
ISBN 13: 978-1596671997

c. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees
Success -- No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindo

ISBN 10: ISBN 13: 9780470500163
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4. Require Educator to prepare written reflection on each book/training
regarding how they will impact the educator’s future interactions with
students (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);

5. During the probation, quarterly reports from the educator’s supervisor
regarding how her interactions are progressing; and

6. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.

g. OnJune 7, 2024, Educator Roberts was notified of the Ethics Subcommittee’s initial
determination and recommendation by secure email. Educator Roberts accepted the
Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby waiving her right to any further
notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have under the Administrative Procedure
Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.

h. At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting
documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

IL Conclusions of Law

a. Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 et seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and cnacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Roberts for her violation
of the Code of Ethics.

b. Educator Roberts is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of $250.00

may result in the suspension of her licensure eligibility until the fine is paid in full.
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c. Educator Roberts is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or failure
to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in more
severe discipline including permanent revocation of her licensure eligibility.

d. This order shall remain permanently in Educator Roberts professional licensure file

and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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