THE ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

IN RE THE MATTER OF:
EMILY SUSANNE MCDOWELL
NOVEMBER 9, 2023 PLSB CASE NO. 23-158

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, AND ORDER
At its regular meeting on November 9, 2023, the Arkansas State Board of Education
(“Board™) accepted the recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board Ethics
Subcommittee (“Ethics Subcommittee”) for disciplinary action against the teaching license of
Educator’s Emily Susanne McDowell (“Educator McDowell”). Based upon Educator
McDowell’s failure to respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and the evidence
presented, in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 25-15-101 et
seq., the Board hereby states as follows:
I Findings of Fact
a. The Arkansas Department of Education issued Educator McDowell a standard five-
year tecaching license on September 21, 2022, valid until December 31, 2026.
b. The Ethics Subcommittee received an allegation that Educator McDowell violated the
Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators promulgated pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § § 6-17-422 and 6-17-428.
¢. On June 2, 2023, the Ethics Subcommittee authorized an investigation into
allegations that Educator McDowell violated Standard 1: an educator maintains a
professional relatioﬁslzlp with each student, both in and outside the classroom,; and

Standard 2: an educator maintains competence regarding his or her professional
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practice, inclusive of professional and ethical behavior, skills, knowledge,
dispositions, and responsibilities relating to his or her organizational position.

d. Educator McDowell was notified on June 6, 2023, of the Ethics Subcommittee’s
authorization to investigate this allegation.

e. After considering the investigator’s report and evidence on October 6, 2023, the
Ethics Subcommittee unanimously found that a preponderance of evidence existed to

substantiate violation of Standards | and 2 in that Educator McDowell:

e [Inappropriate interactions with student(s).
e [napproprate physical contact with student(s).
e Inappropriate communication with a student(s).
e Exhibited inappropriate disposition inclusive of professional and
ethical behavior.
e Violated district, state or federal policies or law.
f. The Ethics Subcommittee recommended that the State Board take the following

actions:

1. Probation of License for 2 years.
2. Assess a $250 fine (due within 90 days of the State Board Order);
3. Require Educator to complete the following coursework/readings:

a. Code of Ethics Training Provided by the PLSB (1.5 Hours)

b. Title: The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees
Success -- No Nonsense, No Excuses (256p) Author: Linda Galindo ISBN
10:ISBN 13: 9780470500163

4. Educator to provide Written reflection on how the trainings/readings will
impact the educator’s future interactions and communication with students.
Due to the PLSB for approval within 90 days of the State Board Order.

5. Require Educator to pay all associated costs.
g. On October 6, 2023, Educator McDowell’s attorney, was notitied of the Ethics

Subcommittee’s initial determination and recommendation by secure email. Educator

McDowell failed to respond to the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation thereby
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h.

waiving her right to any further notice, hearing, or any other rights she may have
under the Administrative Procedure Act, including those rights set forth in Ark. Code
Ann. §§ 25-15-211 and 25-15-212.

At today’s meeting, the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendation and supporting

documentation were presented to the Board as part of its consent agenda.

II. Conclusions of Law

a.

Upon consideration of the evidence presented at the meeting, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-
11-105, 6-17-401, 6-17-422, 6-17-428 and 25-15-201 ct seq., and the Arkansas
Department of Education Rules Governing the Code of Ethics for Arkansas
Educators, the Board adopts the Ethics Subcommittee’s recommendations, and enacts
the sanctions accordingly. The Board admonishes Educator Emily Susanne
McDowell for her violation of the Code of Ethics.

Educator McDowell is cautioned that her non-payment of the assessed fine of $250
may result in the suspension of her license until the fine is paid in full.

Educator McDowell is cautioned that further violations of the Code of Ethics or
failure to pay the fine within ninety (90) days from the date of this order may result in
more severe discipline including permanent revocation of her license.

This order shall remain permanently in Educator McDowell’s professional licensure

file and the confidential files of the Professional Licensure Standards Board.

ITIS SO ORDERED.

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair
Arkansas State Board of Education
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