Federal Programs

The DESE Office of Federal Programs was established in July 2023 by consolidating the Federal Programs Unit from the Office of Public School Accountability and the Special Education Unit from the Office of Learning Services.

The Federal Programs is dedicated to supporting Arkansas schools and districts in their mission to enhance student achievement. Our goal is to ensure that Arkansas students not only meet state standards but are also well-prepared for a prosperous future. We are passionate about fostering an environment where every student has the opportunity to succeed.

The Division of Federal Programs is comprised of two offices: the Office of Special Education and the Office of Federal Programs. The Office of Special Education and Federal Programs collaborates with local school districts, educational service cooperatives, and other state agencies to ensure that all children with disabilities (ages 3 to 21) in Arkansas receive a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) as outlined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). The Office of Special Education is committed to improving educational results for students with disabilities through statewide leadership, support, and service to schools, educators, students, families, and other stakeholders.





For more information, please contact:

Matt Sewell, Assistant Commissioner
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Federal Programs
1401 West Capitol Avenue, Suite 430
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-4221

No events found.

 News Releases

 See More News

No news found.