Distinguished School Awards

Each year, Title I schools are recognized by the Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) and the National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators (NAESPA), formerly the National Association of State Title I Directorsthrough a joint project with the United States Department of Education as Title I Distinguished Schools. Schools are selected by a state peer review team, the following schools represent examples of superior Title I programs in one of two categories:

  •  Category 1: A school that has exceeded Annual Measurable Objectives (AMOs) for two or more years with ESEA flexibility state standards set under Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Act (ESEA).
  •  Category 2: A school that has significantly closed the achievement gap between subgroups of students with ESEA flexibility state standards set under Title I of ESEA.

More information about all National ESEA Distinguished Schools is available on the NAESPA website: https://www.eseanetwork.org/ds.


(recognition at 2022 hybrid conference in New Orleans, LA)

Category 1
Genoa Central Elementary School
12018 State Highway 196
Texarkana, AR 71854
Category 2 
Weiner Elementary School
313 N. Garfield Street
Weiner, AR 72479


(recognition at 2021 virtual conference)

Category 1
Pottsville Elementary School
87 S. B Street
Pottsville, AR 72858
Category 2 
Nashville Primary School
1201 N. 8th Street 
Nashville, AR 71852


(recognition at 2020 conference in Atlanta, GA)

Category 1
Greenbrier Wooster Elementary School
9 Church Circle 
Greenbrier, AR 72058
Category 2 
Bismarck Elementary School
11636 Highway 84
Bismarck, AR 71929


(recognition at 2019 conference in Kansas City, MO)

Category 1
Greenbrier Springhill Elementary School
91 Elliott Road
Greenbrier, AR 72058
Category 2
Lavaca Middle School
603 S. Division 
Lavaca, AR 72941



(recognition at 2018 conference in Philadelphia, PA)
Category 1
Gillett Elementary School
313 N. 6th Street
Gillett, AR 72055
Category 2 
DeQueen Elementary School
233 Treating Plant Road
DeQueen, AR 71832



(recognition at 2016 conference in Houston, TX)

Catogory 1
Mount Pleasant, AR
1 Bluebird Lane
Mount Pleasant, AR 72561
Category 2
Euper Lane Elementary School
6601 Euper Lane
Fort Smith, AR, 72903



(recognition at 2015 conference in Salt Lake City, Utah)

Category 1
Des Arc Elementary
600 Main Street
Des Arc, Arkansas 72040
Category 2
Seventh Street Elementary School
1200 Bishop Lindsey Ave
North Little Rock, AR



(recognition at 2014 conference in San Diego, CA)

Category 1
Brookland Elementary School
220 North Oak Street
Brookland, AR 72417 
Category 2
Helen Tyson Middle School
3304 South 40th Street
Springdale, AR 72762



(recognition at 2013 conference in Nashville, TN)

Category 1
Mount Pleasant, AR
1 Bluebird Lane
Mount Pleasant, AR 72561



(recognition at 2010 conference in Seattle, WA)

Category 2 
Fouke Elementary 
P.O. Box 20
Fouke, AR 71837



(recognition at 2011 conference inTampa, FL)

Category 1
Eastside Elementary School 
505 East New Hope Rd

Rogers, AR 72756
Category 2 
Gibbs Albright Elementary School 
407 Wilkerson Drive
Newport, AR 72112



 (recognition at 2010 conference in Washington, DC)

Category 1 
Cedar Park Elementary School
1200 Cedar Street
Trumann, AR 72472
Category 2 
Lonoke Middle School
1100 W. Palm Street
Lonoke, AR 72086



(recognition at 2009 conference in San Antonio, TX)

Category 1
Arnold Drive Elementary
4150 Arnold Drive
Jacksonville, AR 72076
Category 2 
Warren Dupree Elementary
700 Gregory Street
Jacksonville, AR 72076

For more information, please contact:

Chante'le' Williams, Program Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Special Education and Federal Programs
Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot #26
Little Rock,  AR  72201
Phone: 501-682-1699
Fax: 501-682-5136
Email: Chante’le.Williams@ade.arkansas.gov