Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics & Science Teaching

Recipients of the 2020 Presidential Awards for Excellence


Two Arkansas teachers were selected as recipients of the 2020 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching:

  • Lindsay Hall, Third grade, Bernice Young Elementary, Springdale School District (Math Award)
  • Lisa Taylor, Fifth grade, Willis D. Shaw Elementary, Springdale School District (Science Award)

Information About the PAEMST 

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K–12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of STEM education. Since 1983, more than 4,800 teachers have been recognized for their contributions to STEM education. Up to 108 teachers are recognized each year.

Award Details

This awards program is open to practicing public, private, and parochial school teachers with a minimum of five years teaching experience. State finalists are chosen on the basis of their teaching performance, experience, and leadership by a state selection committee. Applications for each finalist are then forwarded to the National Science Foundation for judging by a national committee. A teacher from each category can be selected as Arkansas Presidential Awardees. For more information, please visit the PAEMST website.

Presidential Awardees receive: 
  • A citation signed by the President of the United States 
  • A trip to Washington, D.C. to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities 
  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation 

Who Can Nominate?

Anyone—principals, teachers, parents, students, or members of the general public—may nominate exceptional science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers.


Who Can Apply?

STEM teachers (K–12) can apply. The competition alternates each year between teachers of grades K-6 and teachers of grades 7-12. 

To nominate or apply, visit  The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Arkansas State Finalists for PAEMST - 2013 to Present

There are up to three state-level math and science finalists chosen by the Arkansas state selection committees composed of teachers, administrators, supervisors, and college or university mathematics and science educators. These committees are directed by the State PAEMST Coordinators. In alternate years, the process focuses on K-6 or 7-12 teachers. Visit website for more information.

See the links provided for the state-level math and science finalists from 2013 to present:

National PAEMST Award Winners for Arkansas - 2000 to Present

The following educators have been selected by state and national committees as outstanding STEM teachers and serve as leaders in science, technology, mathematics, and/or computer science.





2019Melodie Murray, Secondary Math, Pocahontas High SchoolMary Hatch, Secondary Science, Harrison Middle School


Ana Shaw, Secondary Math, J.O. Kelly Middle School

Cheri DeSoto, Elementary Science, Holt Middle School 


Corey Boby, Secondary Math, Benton High School

Tiffany Taylor, Secondary Science, Rogers Heritage High School


Amy Sandy, Elementary Math, Sonora Elementary School

Justin Leflar, Elementary Science, Holt Middle School 


Daniel Moix, Secondary Math, Bryant High School

Diedre Young, Secondary Science, Ridgway Christian High School


Ashley Kasnicka, Elementary Math, Harvey Jones Elementary School

Cassie Kautzer, Elementary Science, Monitor Elementary School


Brian Leonard, Secondary Math, Lake Hamilton High School

Amanda Jones, Secondary Science, Poyen High School


Christi Schrauger, Elementary Math, Harp Elementary

Jennifer Richardson, Elementary Science, Wooster Elementary School


Stephanie Muckelberg, Secondary Math, Bald Knob Middle School

Vickie Logan, Secondary Science, Parkview Arts Science magnet High School


Stacey Dominguez, Elementary Math, Shaw Elementary

Eva Arrington, Elementary Science, Drew Central


Lorraine Marroulis, Secondary Math, Cabot High School

Karen Ladd, Secondary Science, Nettleton High School


Monica Norwood, Elementary Math, Romine Interdistrict Elementary School

No awardee selected 


No awardee selected

Jeffrey Mosby, Secondary Science, Ramsey Junior High School


Lisa Honey, Elementary Math, Gibbs Albright Elementary

Barbara Reng, Elementary Science, Sixth Grade Academic Center


Michelle Carr-Jackson, Secondary Mathematics, Hall High School

Charre Todd, Secondary Science, Norman Junior High School


Joy Wolfe, Elementary Math, Boone Park Elementary

Sandra Barnhill, Elementary Science, Southside Elementary


Anna Scanlon, Secondary Math, McNair Middle School

Alan Hays, Secondary Science, Genoa Central High School 


Joanne Smith, Secondary Math, West Memphis High School

Betty Wilson, Secondary Math, West Side School

James Miller, Elementary Science, Randall G. Lynch Middle School      Kathryn Lacey, Secondary Science, Southwest Junior High School   


Dickie Thomassan, Secondary Math, Jacksonville High School

Kathy Short, Elementary Science, Thurman G. Smith Elementary School                                    Melissa Miller, Secondary Science, Holt Middle School


Evelyn Cole, Elementary Math, Moody Elementary

Bradley Roberts, Secondary Math, Bald Knob High School

Karen Norton, Elementary Science   Kathy Prophet, Secondary Science, Helen Tyson Middle School



For more information, please contact:

Bobbie OllesStephanie Johnson-Carlton
Math Program AdvisorScience Program Advisor