English Language Development Assessment (ELDA)

The English Language Development Assessment (ELDA) tests English Language Learners (ELL) or Limited English Proficient (LEP) students to determine their level of proficiency in the English Language.  

The ELDA tests only students’ proficiency with the English language; it does not assess prior academic knowledge. Students in kindergarten through twelfth grade are tested in four domains:  Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking.

The results of the assessment help schools determine what type of English language instruction is appropriate for each ELL or LEP student.

Based on his or her composite score (the average of the scores of the four domain tests), each student is assigned a proficiency level. Students at Level 5 are considered to have English language skills comparable to those of a native English speaker.  

The five proficiency levels are:

  1. Pre-functional
  2. Beginning
  3. Intermediate
  4. Advanced
  5. Fully English Proficient


Spring 2015 Ancillary Materials

Information for Educators and Parents


Effective Date: September 1, 2014
Revised Date: February 19, 2015

For more information, please contact:

Rachel Horn  
Public School Program Coordinator
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Office of Student Assessment
Four Capitol Mall, Room 301-B
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Phone: (501) 682-4559
Fax: (501) 682-4886