Arkansas School Safety Commission

 Read the Arkansas School Safety Commission's 2022 Final Report.


On June 10, 2022, Governor Asa Hutchinson reconvened the Arkansas School Safety Commission.  Pursuant to Executive Order 22-09, the Commission shall: Review the Final Report of the 2018 Commission, Provide an update on the status of school safety across Arkansas, Update the analysis of the safety of K-12 schools throughout the state, Determine progress toward the findings of the previous report, and Identify new recommendations of best practice.  An Initial Report is due to the Governor on August 1, 2022, with the Final Report due by October 1, 2022.

Meetings were held on Tuesdays at 1:00 pm at the State Capitol in Room 151


On March 1, 2018, Gov. Asa Hutchinson announced that he issued an executive order that creates the Arkansas School Safety Commission. The Governor has also committed $300,000 to the Criminal Justice Institute for additional training for school resource officers and security assessments for schools. The commissioners evaluated school designs, safety and security policies, emergency plans and policies, school counseling, and mental health issues. They also evaluated school-security data, including issues such as single-point entry, electronic access badges, and school resource officers.

Click here to view the 2018 School Safety Commission's FINAL REPORT. (PDF)

Click here to view the 2018 School Safety Commission Minutes.

Arkansas Center for School Safety

The Arkansas Center for School Safety (ACSS) provides education, training, resources, and technical assistance to Arkansas educators and law enforcement professionals to assist them in providing children with a safe environment to reach their academic potential. Learn more at

Arkansas Safe Schools Association

The Arkansas Safe Schools Association is a statewide, non-profit organization consisting of school resource officers, school safety personnel, school administrators, and others dedicated to protecting Arkansas children and helping schools maintain a safe and orderly climate, thereby creating a positive learning environment. For more information, visit


For more information, please contact:

Jerry Keefer, Director Safe Schools Unit
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Four Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-683-5266
mail: jerry