Inclusive Practices Project

Students and teacher sitting in a circle in classChildren reading a bookTeacher assisting a student in the classroom


The Arkansas Department of Education, Division of Elementary and Secondary Education’s Office of Special Education (DESE-OSE) and a nationally recognized vendor are continuing a partnership to develop and expand the Professional Learning Communities (PLC) at Work® process within select schools. These sites will serve as working laboratory schools for the PLC at Work® process, conducting action research and sharing best inclusive practices for students with disabilities with other schools throughout the state.

This project will have an intentional focus on inclusive practices ensuring students who are IEP eligible, as well as other groups of struggling learners, have meaningful access to core instruction and established systems of intervention. Participating schools will be part of a collaborative evaluation process that gathers data regarding student achievement, teacher practices, and effective professional learning as part of the State Systemic Improvement Plan (SSIP). By submitting an application, the school agrees to be part of any evaluation that is established between DESE and the contracted vendor.

Inclusive Practices Project Webinar

The webinar originally scheduled for Friday, February 23, 2024 has been postponed. Please check this website for the rescheduled date of the webinar.

Projected Timeline

Letters of Intent Due to ADETBD
Application Emailed to Point of ContactTBD
Applications DueTBD
Evaluation PeriodTBD
Finalist InterviewsTBD
Notification of AwardTBD
Tentative Project Start TBD


2023-2024 Cohort: 

  • Bayyari Elementary School (Springdale School District)
  • Bearden Elementary School (Bearden School District)
  • East End Middle School (Sheridan School District)
  • Jacksonville Middle School (Jacksonville North Pulaski School District)
  • J.F. Wahl Elementary School (Helena-West Helena School District)
  • Osage Creek Elementary School (Bentonville School District)
  • Palestine Wheatley High School (Palestine Wheatley School District)
  • Sidney Deener Elementary School (Searcy School District)

2022-2023 Cohort:

  • Cutter Morning Star Elementary School (Cutter Morning Star School District)
  • East Pointe Elementary School (Greenwood School District)
  • Magnet Cove Elementary School (Magnet Cove School District)
  • Main Street Visual and Performing Arts Magnet School (Hot Springs School District)
  • Northside Elementary School (Rogers School District)
  • Ridge Road Elementary School (North Little Rock School District)
  • Warren Middle School (Warren School District)
  • West Side Elementary School (West Side School District)

2021-2022 Cohort:

  • Carroll Smith Elementary School (Osceola School District)
  • Waldron Elementary School (Waldron School District)
  • Caldwell Elementary School (Benton School District)
  • McNair Middle School (Fayetteville School District)
  • Rivercrest Elementary School (Rivercrest School District)
  • Lakeside Junior High School (Lakeside School District – Hot Springs)
  • East Hills Middle School (Greenwood School District)

2020-2021 Pilot Cohort:

  • Prescott Elementary School (Prescott School District)
  • Angie Grant Elementary School (Benton School District)
  • Grace Hill Elementary School (Rogers School District)
  • Orr Elementary School (Fort Smith School District)

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Jeff Adams, Director of Special Education
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Office of Special Education
1401 West Capitol, Suite 450
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501.682.4221
Fax: 501.682.5159