Professional Learning Communities in Arkansas

Since its launch in the 2017-2018 school year,  PLC at Work® has had a positive impact on achievement growth in Arkansas, particularly in math. To learn more, please read the  Arkansas PLC at Work Cohort 1 Year 2 Report

Register for Professional Learning Community 2021 Events

If you are interested in registering for events throughout the state or surrounding areas, please check out the  PLC Events 2021.

Project Collaboration

Does your team need help with the PLC Process? Meet with a statewide collaborative team for advice and problem solving. Learn more at Project Collaboration.

Webinar Series Recordings 

Webinar RecordingPresentationDate
The "Why" of Professional Learning Communities  7/20/20
Wondering About Back to School? 7/30/20
Social Emotional Needs 8/20/20
What is Your Mission and Vision?  9/23/20
Confronting the Brutal Facts: Assessment to Drive ChangePDF10/26/20
Creating and Leading a Guiding Coalition 11/11/20
Collaborative Teacher Teams PDF12/10/20
Ensuring a Strong Foundation in a Professional Learning Community Culture  12/14/20
PLC Overview - The Four Pillars/Guiding Questions 1/11/21
Guaranteed Viable Curriculum/Essential Skills 1/26/21
Unpacking the Standards 2/11/21
Unit Plans/SequencingPDF2/25/21
Developing S.M.A.R.T. GoalsPDF4/9/21

PLC at Work®

In partnership with Solution Tree, a leading provider in education professional development, the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) is committed to developing and expanding the Professional Learning Communities (PLC) at Work process into Arkansas schools. When the PLC at Work process is implemented with fidelity, schools experience dramatic improvement in learning results by both students and adults. Selected Arkansas schools will serve as working laboratories for the PLC at Work process, conducting action research and sharing best practices with other schools throughout the state.

Schedule a PLC School Visit

The first cohort of PLC pilot project schools will conclude its three-year implementation project as outlined in the 2017 guidelines. Although the PLC at Work is an ongoing process, we invite schools to visit these schools to experience best practices implemented since the journey began. If your school or district would like to visit one of these schools, please complete the  attached Google form. Be specific on the topic you would like to observe so the needs of your school are met. Once the form has been completed, you will be contacted or you may contact Director of Special Projects  Missy Walley.

Visit the Arkansas Page on the Solution Tree Website

To learn more about the PLC at Work process in schools and districts across the state, visit the  Arkansas page on the Solution Tree website.

Watch this video to learn about the Arkansas Project

Arkansas Project 

The following have received the Highly Effective Schools Accreditation:
Wynne Intermediate School
Spradling Elementary School
Lake Hamilton Junior High School
North Little Rock Center of Excellence
Cutter Morning Star Elementary School
Hampton Elementary School
S.C. Tucker Elementary School
Marked Tree Elementary School
Louise Durham Elementary School


The following have achieved the nationally recognized PLC Model School or District status:
Ballman Elementary School
Northside High School
Spradling Elementary School
Greenbrier Eastside Elementary School
East Pointe Elementary School
Monticello Middle School
Morrilton Intermediate School
Quitman School District
Rivercrest Elementary School

Participating Cohort Schools

The PLC effort is currently comprised of four cohorts. These school sites were selected through a rigorous application and evaluation process, and are representative of all five regions of the state. Each Arkansas PLC site is matched with a certified PLC at Work associate from Solution Tree and receive intensive on-site support as they implement, deepen, and sustain the PLC at Work process. Each school creates action plans that focus on increasing student achievement through aligned curriculum, formative assessment practices, and proven instructional strategies.

Cohort 4 (2020-2023)
Bayyari Elementary in the Springdale Public Schools
Camden Fairview High School in the Camden Fairview School District
Centerpoint School District
Clinton School District ( Clinton Elementary School and  Clinton Junior High School)
Crossett High School in the Crossett School District
Hot Springs Junior Academy in the Hot Springs School District
Lake Hamilton Junior High School in the Lake Hamilton School District
Northside High School in the Fort Smith School District
Rivercrest High School in the Rivercrest School District
Valley Springs Elementary School in the Valley Springs School District
Watson Elementary School in the Little Rock School District


Cohort 3 (2019-2022)
Buffalo Island Central School District
Camden Fairview Intermediate in the Camden Fairview School District
Darby Junior High in the Fort Smith School District
Eureka Springs Elementary in the Eureka Springs School District
Harrisburg Middle School in the Harrisburg School District
Lake Hamilton Intermediate in the Lake Hamilton School District
Lakeside High School in the Lakeside School District
Mabelvale Elementary in the Little Rock School District
Mills University Studies High School in the Pulaski County Special School District
Park Avenue Elementary in the Stuttgart School District
Pinewood Elementary in the Jacksonville North Pulaski School District
Wonderview Elementary in the Wonderview School District

Learn About Cohort 2 - Year 1  in Arkansas

Cohort 2-Year 1 short film

Cohort 2 (2018-2021)
Blytheville Primary School in the Blytheville School District
East Pointe Elementary School in the Greenwood School District
Greer Lingle Middle School in the Rogers School District
Gurdon School District
Hamburg High School in the Hamburg School District
Howard Perrin Elementary School in the Benton School District
Murrell Taylor Elementary School in the Jacksonville North Pulaski School District
Oaklawn Visual and Performing Arts Magnet in the Hot Springs School District
Quitman School District
Rivercrest Elementary School in the Rivercrest School District

Learn About  Cohort 1 - Year 2 in Arkansas

Cohort 1-Year 2 short film

Cohort 1 (2017-2020)
Ballman Elementary School  in the Fort Smith School District
Bragg Elementary School in the West Memphis School District
Douglas MacArthur Junior High School in the Jonesboro School District
Eastside Elementary School in the Greenbrier School District
Frank Mitchell Intermediate School in the Vilonia School District
Monticello Middle School in the Monticello School District
Morrilton Intermediate School in the South Conway County School District
Premier High School of Little Rock
Prescott School District
Rogers High School in the Rogers School District
Spradling Elementary School in the Fort Smith School District


For more information, please contact:

Missy Walley, Director of Special Projects
Arkansas Department  of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Four Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-4988