Professional Learning Communities Regional Networks

Professional learning community (PLC) is an ongoing process in which educators work collaboratively in recurring cycles of collective inquiry and action research to achieve better results for the students they serve. Professional learning communities operate under the assumption that the key to improved learning for students is continuous job-embedded learning for educators. - All Things PLC, 2006. 

The Arkansas Department of Education Division of Elementary and Secondary Education will support schools in becoming PLCS through professional development and partnerships with Arkansas practitioners. This three-year process, which includes seven days of network professional development each year, will guide schools in transforming their culture to improve student academic achievement.

Schools will receive individualized support from Arkansas practitioners who have demonstrated success in implementing the PLC Model in their local school districts. The specific professional development focus for each year of the process is as follows:

  • Year One: Building capacity by creating a guiding coalition to lead the work
  • Year Two: Utilizing data from rigorous assessments to guide instruction
  • Year Three: Creating a system of responding to student learning through intervention and enrichment

The following schools or districts are participating in the PLC Regional Network beginning in the 2021-2022 school year:

Network 1Network  2Network 3Network 4
Crossett Middle SchoolWest Side ElementaryBlytheville ElementaryPark Elementary
Bismarck Middle SchoolWest Side High SchoolBlytheville High School New TechCedarville Elementary
Hope High SchoolAlma High SchoolBlytheville Middle SchoolFairview Elementary
Kilpatrick ElementaryAlpena High SchoolMcCrory High SchoolGentry Primary
Lake Hamilton High SchoolAlpena Elementary
Brady Elementary Lincoln Elementary
Lake Hamilton PrimaryBerryville High School
Cabot Jr. High School SouthMorrison Elementary
Langston Elementary Leadership AcademyBerryville Middle School
Carlisle SchoolOld Wire Elementary
East End ElementaryBerryville Intermediate
Chicot Elementary Siloam Springs Intermediate
East End Intermediate Berryville Elementary
Stagecoach Elementary Southside High School
East End MiddleClinton High School
Warren Dupree ElementarySouthwest Jr. High
Sheridan ElementaryDwight Elementary
Western Hills ElementaryT.G. Smith Elementary
Sheridan High SchoolGuy-Perkins Elementary
Clarendon High SchoolWestwood Elementary
Sheridan IntermediateGuy-Perkins High School
Star City High SchoolJasper Elementary
Sheridan Middle SchoolLondon Elementary
Star City Middle School 
Fairview Elementary (Texarkana)Indian Hills ElementaryJimmy Brown Elementary 

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Missy Walley, Director of Special Projects
Arkansas Department  of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Four Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-4988