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Arkansas Birth through Prekindergarten Teaching Credential 

In 2009, Act 187 was passed to lay the foundation for the Arkansas Birth through Prekindergarten 
Teaching Credential. This credential creates an additional professional pathway for individuals seeking 
a more advanced level of knowledge and skills in working with young children and their families.  

The DHS Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education recognizes the importance and need for 
having highly educated professionals to work with children from birth through age five, including children 
with special needs. This credential supports this need by providing a route for individuals to obtain higher 
level learning courses that align with the National Association for the Education of Young Children 
(NAEYC) core competencies. Although the credential does not replace the Arkansas Early 
Childhood/Special Education Birth through Kindergarten teaching license, it can be added to an 
associate’s or bachelor’s degree to designate specialized knowledge in the early education field. 

The Arkansas Birth through Prekindergarten Teaching Credential shall become effective upon 
the date of issue and shall be valid for five (5) years. The credential shall expire five (5) years from 
the effective date.  

An individual holding the Arkansas Birth through Prekindergarten Teaching Credential shall complete a 
minimum of thirty (30) hours of professional development annually in early childhood development OR 
early childhood education. At least 10 of the 30 hours should be in the areas of Special Populations, 
English as a Second Language, Nutrition, Health and Safety or Infants and Toddlers. This professional 
development shall be approved and documented by the Arkansas Department of Education or 
the Arkansas Professional Development Registry (PDR). 

Individuals are not required to pay a fee for the credential. 
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Arkansas Birth through Prekindergarten Teaching Credential 

Renewal Application 

To apply, mail this completed application and all required documents to the address below.  

Name:   __________________________________________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

City: ___________________________ State: ___________ Zip: _____________________ 

Date of Birth: ____/____/_____      PDR#: ____________________________________ 

Phone#: ____-____-_____        E-mail: ____________________________________

Applications that do not include all required documentation will be denied. 

Required documents to include with your application: 

   Cover letter including your name, what you are applying for and your signature 

   Copy of valid Arkansas Birth through Prekindergarten Teaching Credential 

   Documentation which verifies the annual 30 hours of required professional development 
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Mail completed application form and all required documents to: 
DHS Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education 

Arkansas Birth through Prekindergarten Teaching Credential 
P.O. Box 1437, Slot S-160 

Little Rock, AR  72203-1437 
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