About Us

Beliefs, Vision and Mission


Nutritious, tasty, affordable school lunches and school breakfasts should be available for all students in Arkansas public schools.

School environments that make available only healthful food choices, provide adequate time for their selection and enjoyment and promote their consumption through pleasant surrounding and positive adult role modeling should be the norm for Arkansas public schools.

Nutrition education in the classroom and the cafeteria to promote critical thinking that will result in the development of healthful eating behaviors, improved learning readiness, health promotion, disease prevention and pleasure in eating should be a priority for all schools.

Local, state and federal commitment for child nutrition programs as integral components of education, evidenced by adequate financial resources effectively managed to provide quality services are necessary for a Healthy School.


Every Arkansas public school student and staff member will exhibit an understanding of nutrition concepts by selecting healthful meals at school and away from school.


To foster the service of nutritious meals and the development of school environments supportive of healthful eating behaviors of all students and staff.