Meaningful Access Project


Students and teacher sitting in a circle in classChildren reading a bookTeacher assisting a student in the classroom

Arkansas Meaningful Access Project (formerly known as the Inclusive Practices Project)

The Arkansas Department of Education, Division of Elementary and Secondary Education’s Office of Special Education (DESE-OSE) is partnering with LEAs and Education Service Cooperatives to assist selected project schools in building a collaborative culture through the implementation of sustainable systems, structures, and effective practices to ensure all students have meaningful access and engagement in all learning environments. Project schools will serve as working laboratories for the Meaningful Access Project, conducting action research and sharing best practices with other schools across the state. This Project provides training and coaching, with an emphasis on creating a unified and collaborative system where students with disabilities are fully included in the general education framework, with access to additional support as informed by data. 

Participating schools will be part of a collaborative evaluation process that gathers data regarding student achievement and growth, teacher practices, and effective professional development. By submitting an application, the school agrees to be part of any evaluation that is part of the DESE State Systemic Improvement Plan. 


             Arkansas Meaningful Access Project Presentation Slides


Projected Timeline

Informational RecordingApril 24, 2024
Request for ApplicationApril 24 - April 30, 2024
Applications Emailed to Point of ContactApril 24 - April 30, 2024
Application DueMay 3, 2024
Evaluation PeriodMay 6 - May 10, 2024
Finalist InterviewsMay 13 - May 17, 2024
Notification of AwardMay 21, 2024
Tentative Project Start August 2024


2023-2024 Cohort: 

  • Bayyari Elementary School (Springdale School District)
  • Bearden Elementary School (Bearden School District)
  • East End Middle School (Sheridan School District)
  • Jacksonville Middle School (Jacksonville North Pulaski School District)
  • J.F. Wahl Elementary School (Helena-West Helena School District)
  • Osage Creek Elementary School (Bentonville School District)
  • Palestine Wheatley High School (Palestine Wheatley School District)
  • Sidney Deener Elementary School (Searcy School District)

2022-2023 Cohort:

  • Cutter Morning Star Elementary School (Cutter Morning Star School District)
  • East Pointe Elementary School (Greenwood School District)
  • Magnet Cove Elementary School (Magnet Cove School District)
  • Main Street Visual and Performing Arts Magnet School (Hot Springs School District)
  • Northside Elementary School (Rogers School District)
  • Ridge Road Elementary School (North Little Rock School District)
  • Warren Middle School (Warren School District)
  • West Side Elementary School (West Side School District)

2021-2022 Cohort:

  • Carroll Smith Elementary School (Osceola School District)
  • Waldron Elementary School (Waldron School District)
  • Caldwell Elementary School (Benton School District)
  • McNair Middle School (Fayetteville School District)
  • Rivercrest Elementary School (Rivercrest School District)
  • Lakeside Junior High School (Lakeside School District – Hot Springs)
  • East Hills Middle School (Greenwood School District)

2020-2021 Pilot Cohort:

  • Prescott Elementary School (Prescott School District)
  • Angie Grant Elementary School (Benton School District)
  • Grace Hill Elementary School (Rogers School District)
  • Orr Elementary School (Fort Smith School District)

For more information, please contact:

Dr. Jeff Adams, Director of Special Education
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Office of Special Education
1401 West Capitol, Suite 450
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501.682.4221
Fax: 501.682.5159