Unsafe School Choice Option & Persistently Dangerous Schools

The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) requires each state that receives Title I funds to establish and implement a statewide policy which provides that a student who attends a persistently dangerous elementary or secondary school or who becomes a victim of a violent criminal offense while in school or on the school grounds, will be allowed to attend a safe public elementary or secondary school within the local education agency, including a public charter school, if the parent so desires.

Technical Assistance

The Division of Elementary and Secondary Education will provide technical assistance to LEAs through Commissioner's Memos, webinars, and upon request. General technical assistance will be posted on this webpage. Please send specific requests to Bobby.Lester@ade.arkansas.gov.

Memo #

Memo Title

Date Posted


Pilot Year for Persistently Dangerous Schools and the Unsafe School Choice Option 



For more information, please contact:

Bobby Lester, Coordinator of Federal Programs
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Public School Accountability
Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot #26
Little Rock, AR 72201 
Phone: 501-683-5423
Fax: 501-682-5136