Student Support

Suicide Prevention

Every day someone in Arkansas dies by suicide.  Every fifth day that person is a youth between 10-24 years of age.  Suicide can often be prevented if we know what the warning signs are and how to intervene (Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-2004).
Maintaining a safe school environment is part of a school’s overall mission.  Subsequent to the passing of the Jason Flatt Act, licensed school personnel are required to obtain at least two hours of professional development every five years in the area of suicide awareness and prevention.  


The physical, social, and emotional well-being of students can be impacted by unwanted aggressive behavior or bullying.  
In accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-514, all public school students have the right to receive their education in an environment that is reasonably free from substantial intimidation, harassment, or harm or threat of harm by another student, in person or by electronic means.  

Current legislation: 

Act 190 – School Counseling Improvement Act of 2019 addresses the school counselor’s role in bullying prevention, training and protocols in schools (Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-2004). 
Act 1029 – This act amends previous anti-bullying legislation and addresses anti-bullying continuing education, notice procedures and reporting requirements (Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-514).
To support Arkansas schools and school districts, the ADE is providing links to a selection of resources available that are free to Arkansas educators.

Military Families

As part of the Interstate Compact on Education Opportunity for Military Children, the Arkansas Council on Military Children helps to ensure the uniform treatment of dependent children transferring between school districts and states.

For more information, please contact:

Rodney Ford, Program Advisor
Division of Elementary and Secondary Education
Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot 13
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-5144